We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendly staff.”
Review of Smuggler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Smuggler's Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Waterville B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff.”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Whatever the complaints are about the rooms, it has to be said that this is a B&B and not a hotel. For me, the fresh food and stunning views more than make up for the rooms' shortcomings. Where else do you know where you can sit eating a delicious breakfast and watch dolphins playing. I did on Friday morning and I will never forget it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bacchus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your review of The Smugglers Inn and recognising that we are a B&B and not a hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the views and fresh food we offer here. To see the dolphins playing outside is indeed something very special to remember.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    41
    16
    14
    9
See reviews for
26
71
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

There is no doubt that some of the rooms could do with a bit of an upgrade, the hot water pressure in our family room was very poor for example, but for a genuine warm welcome, friendly staff and great food this hotel can't be faulted. Our two young kids had a lovely time here and were treated exceptionally well, as was everyone in our party.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
We do not have power showers at The Smugglers Inn and are sorry the hot water pressure in the family room was not powerful enough for you. Its a pity you did not mention this during your stay as we could have moved you to a different room where the pressure may have been better for you. Despite this, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Just off the breathtaking Ring of Kerry is the Smugglers Inn, despite a mix up on our booking (not the fault of us or the Smugglers Inn) we were warmly received and looked after. Both dinner and breakfast were delicious and the view was fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NK_2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your review and for staying with us at Smugglers Inn. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come and visit us again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I stayed here alone while viewing property in the area, just stayed one night and found the whole experience perfect. The setting was great, room as you would expect from a B&B, clean and comfortable, but to be honest I would have been happy whatever the accommodation was like as the dining experience I had was the best. The chef is very competent and I had a fantastic fish meal looking out to the mountains and water (watching the fisherman) , it was very magical. I will be going back soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irelandchef, Manager at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we are delighted to hear that your visit was a memorable one. Being so close to the sea fish and seafood is our speciality which comes in fresh each day, and we are pleased to hear you had a great dining experience too. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I still don't understand why I am saying this Inn is very good. When we arrived we were told there was a disco going to be held there which would finish at midnight. It was also a surprise birthday party, so when we arrived in the bar there were about forty people squeezed in there all shushing awaiting the birthday girl then the music started which was so loud we really couldn't hear what the waiter was saying. The meal we ordered was quite pricey and the steak had to go back it was so tough. Then the room we had was far enough away from the disco not to be disturbed but was by the car park so when all the party goers were going they woke us up with all the shouting and car doors banging. So why was it so good? It is in a stunning location right by the sea, the room was large and very comfortable, the service was friendly and efficient and the sunset we enjoyed in the guest lounge was unforgettable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CleoPipeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you for your review and visiting The Smuggglers Inn.
Apologies for the disco and inconvenience it caused. We tell residents or customers if we have a party night with music or large group. It looks like you were not informed of this before your arrival though!
Also my sincere regrets about the steak being tough. We source only high quality produce and pay that little extra for it. We serve only prime Irish angus and local Kerry limousine and Hereford beef. Hope that you will come back to the Smugglers if around again. Sincere apoligies and all the best for the future!
Regards Henry Hunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Booked for 7 for a special birthday on July 8th the staff were wonderful, the view was spectacular and the food was fabulous, portions good taste superb and price no more than I would pay in any first class restaurant, having eaten in Harry's Bar in Florence there is no comparison I would return to The Smugglers everytime.
Even if you want simply a coffee or lunch you are made to feel special and nothing is too much trouble; the staff brought out my birthday cake and sang Happy Birthday to me along with my family and friends, then took the cake to package for me to take away little touches that make such a difference.
Fresh fish : if you want it fresher they will be cooking it on the bottom of the sea:.

If you are in Waterville this is a little gem that has to be tried again and again!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pedr0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you for this review and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your special birthday with your family and friends here with us at The Smugglers Inn. We look forward to welcoming you here again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I have ben keen to try the Smugglers inn for many years but the timeings have never been quite right. Booked for one night B&B (a reasonable Euro 60) and everything you imagine of an idyllic location is here. The waves do lap round the shore and can be heard from the windows! Room was large with a picture postcard view from the window. Everthing was spotless and of good, sound construction. The bathroom was just brilliantly white. Meal was fantastic - superb salmon and trout starter with follow on of sirloin steak, dessert and coffee - all for Euro 33 - cooked to perfection and so full of flavour.
Really couldnt fault any aspect and I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whittimere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Glad to hear you finally got to come and stay with us at The Smugglers Inn and that you enjoyed your stay with us , and also to see that you will be back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville
1.1 mi away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Waterville
262 reviews
13.8 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
12.6 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
253 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Cable Historic House
The Old Cable Historic House
#10 of 13 in Waterville
186 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brookhaven Guest House
Brookhaven Guest House
#2 of 13 in Waterville
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smuggler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smuggler's Inn

Property: Smuggler's Inn
Address: Cliff Road, Waterville, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Waterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Waterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Smuggler's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Smuggler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smuggler`s Hotel Waterville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing