We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and brilliant food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smuggler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smuggler's Inn
Ranked #9 of 11 Waterville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Mids
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great location and brilliant food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

I have ben keen to try the Smugglers inn for many years but the timeings have never been quite right. Booked for one night B&B (a reasonable Euro 60) and everything you imagine of an idyllic location is here. The waves do lap round the shore and can be heard from the windows! Room was large with a picture postcard view from the window. Everthing was spotless and of good, sound construction. The bathroom was just brilliantly white. Meal was fantastic - superb salmon and trout starter with follow on of sirloin steak, dessert and coffee - all for Euro 33 - cooked to perfection and so full of flavour.
Really couldnt fault any aspect and I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whittimere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Glad to hear you finally got to come and stay with us at The Smugglers Inn and that you enjoyed your stay with us , and also to see that you will be back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    34
    14
    13
    9
See reviews for
22
61
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

Stayed there on Saturday-they had just opened after Winter Break. Henry(Hope) the Chef and owner made us very welcome and showed us to our room which as well as 2 twin beds had easy cahirs ant table with a wonderful viwe of the sea(and passing hares). OK the accomodation is not 5 star but is very comfortable spotlessly clean and we paid 70 euros (nothing in my opinion)

The star of the show is the Restaurant and so what if it is a little pricey(what isn't in Ireland nowadays.?) The food was wonderful-strter of gravelax and smoked mackerel with parmesan crisp was simple but tasty. The rack of lamb was perfect served with spinach mornay carrot/parsnip mash and buttered new potatoes. Could not fault it.
The service was superb and the Maitre D was top class.Most of the tables have a wonderful view.

Breakfast also(included) was lovely and nothing was too much trouble for Henry who looked after us himself as season has just started.
Next to a Golf Course too.If the Smugglers si good enough for Ian Botham it is good enough for me.

I shall be return but be wraned Ireland is NOT cheap!.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mal Odorous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thanks for your review we were very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Remember the next day you asked me if it was a parmesan disc but I said it was hazelnut tuille, which it was!!! Thanks for the feed back it helps us alot. Hope you enjoy your travels this coming year and we look forward to having you back in the Smugglers in the near future.
Kind regards
Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

This hotel is in the most wonderful location looking out to sea in three directions to the distant mountains. There are walks up the beach in both directions and good fishing from the beach and nearby loch.
This is not really of hotel standard and it does advertise locally as a B&B however it also charges rates you would expect to pay at a 4 or 5 star hotel.
Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable and we were able to sleep with the window open listening to the waves breaking on the shore. The restaurant has advertised as a high quality fish speciality but we were disappointed with the quality which was good but not special. A glass of house white wine was delivered in a miniture bottle with screw top similar to what you would expect on a cheap airline. It would have been so easy to serve a glass of quality wine.
Overall I felt that we had been ripped off a bit but this is still worth visiting just for the scenery.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertybign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Smugglers Inn is a Guesthouse, not a Hotel, but we offer hotel facilities - fully licensed bar and top quality award winning restaurant serving only fresh fish - NEVER frozen. Also, we charge B&B rates if you should compare rates to other B&Bs without the services we offer. Regarding the wine, we offer 3 varieties in our 1/4 bottles. However, we do have a very extensive wine list with bottles and half bottles of varied prices - 46 on the standard list and 10 on our connoissuers list.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berri, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

The family room was basic, but clean & neat & value for money. The highlight was our meal for the night, overlooking the water. The service was excellent & the selection on the menu was extensive & the presentation and taste was of a five star restaurant. Breakfast the next morning was served by the owner/chef & was extensive also & included in the price of the stay. A well hidden treasure trove that needs to be discovered.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KGTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Happy you found us and enjoyed our hospitality. Hope you find us again soon!
All the best
Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

Arrived on time Checked in and went to our room. The room looked run down but was spacious so we decided we would take a look outside the B&B, the scenery and landscape and the location of this B&B is fantastic. I walked around for a little bit and started to feel hungry so time to try the food, we went to the restaurant and on our way in we were confronted by a girl who worked there telling us that we were not allowed in unless we made a booking, i explained that we were quests at this B&B great!! with that sorted out we got our seats and waited and waited for what seemed like an eternity, we watched as 4 American guys came and got tip top first class service while we were completely ignored by the girl member of staff whom was also serving the Amercians table, they had finished their 3 courses while we were still having our starters, we were furious and let them know this as well. The food was way overpriced and not anything different to what i could make myself at home, my advice to anyone staying at this place is bring a large wallet an American friend and have the manners of a goat because staying here they make you feel like one.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank criticom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Apoligies for your unsatisfactory time with us. We have revamped the rooms since your stay. We have said to our staff about the situation you mentioned about not being served fairly compared to Americans. If the they were booked there table would of been reserved for them and ready so they could go straight in. When the restuarant is busy bookings are recommended for this reason. Our policy is to look after all our valued customers equally.
We source only of highest quality local and regional prooduce, our prices are competitive and even more so since your last visit in 2010. We are a gourmet restuarant b&b and bar. We serve seasonal fresh produce with simple ideas. If your a good cook yes you may be able to cook some of the dish's at home, but if you get somebody in to cook for you there will be a price too!
The Smugglers is proud of its food, beverage and service offering and will continue to develope its menues and ideas, for the future.
Kind Regards
Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

Great location. Rooms have been decorated and updated so much nicer now. Food and service in restaurant excellent as always. Look forward to returning again very soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCC1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for visiting the Smugglers and acknowledging the work done to the rooms and excellent service you received. Hope to see you soon again.
Regards
Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

Went to the Smuggler's Inn over the Easter weekend. Arrived down from Dublin, and were immediately greeted by warm and friendly staff. The inn and restaurant were full with people already, and the atmosphere was warm, and friendly. The bedrooms were clean, tidy, and the bed was soft and comfortable (the TV was small, but I wasn't there to watch TV!).

Dinner on the first night was fantastic. I had Chicken Liver Pate, and the steak. Both were cooked and presented to a very high standard. My partner had the Monkfish starter, and asked the chef for a Mushroom risotto (it was Good Friday, and she didn't fancy a fish main as well). Both came out looking excellent, and my partner is now converted to monkfish. The second night I had the Caesar salad, and chicken, while my partner had the monkfish and steak. They were both fantastic, being cooked and served to perfection. For desert, we both had the steam chocolate pudding on the first night, and on the second night, I had the cheese board (mostly Irish cheeses, but at least one English cheese), and my partner had the banana and almond tart. Both were very good. Breakfast on both days consisted of a large choice of foods, including cereals, full Irish breakfasts, and everything in-between.

The staff were very friendly, and full of chat. They gave of advise and directions on going what to see and do in the area, how to get there, and where not to go. The chef came out to see us on the Friday night, and to see us off on the Sunday morning.

The view from the room was spectacular, with the surf crashing rythmically 20 meters from the widow. The Inn is situated beside a gorgeous long beach (about 2km), what has fishing on it. The local golf club is next door, and the dining room offers views of both the course and the beach. On one of the nights we were there, a number of hares scampered across in lawns of the Inn, while the sunsets looking out of the dining room are fabulous.

Overall, the trip was excellent, and I would highly recommend the Smuggler's Inn to anybody staying in Waterville.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clauricaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for making the time to review the Smugglers Inn. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We have added a couple of continental cheeses to the cheese plate now as well.
Kind regards
Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville
1.2 mi away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Waterville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Cable Historic House
The Old Cable Historic House
#10 of 11 in Waterville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.7 mi away
Currane Lodge
Currane Lodge
#1 of 11 in Waterville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tig an Rince
Tig an Rince
#1 of 5 in Ballinskelligs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brookhaven Guest House
Brookhaven Guest House
#2 of 11 in Waterville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Waterville House
Waterville House
#8 of 11 in Waterville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smuggler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smuggler's Inn

Property: Smuggler's Inn
Address: Cliff Road, Waterville, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Waterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Waterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smuggler's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Smuggler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smuggler`s Hotel Waterville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing