We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mini break”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Cuanbeg

Cuan beg 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cuan beg 1
View from Cuanbeg Patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Cuan beg 1
View from Cuanbeg
Patio
Dining Area
Kitchen
Bedroom I
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
living room View 1
Hot Tub - View 1
Hot Tub - View 2
living room view 2
Bedroom 1 (En Suite)
Living Room
Cuanbeg
Exterior
dining area
Waterville beach November 2011
view from front of house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Waterville, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
karen B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mini break”
Reviewed November 1, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you for alovely relaxing stay.
Hot tub in October, on a misty day on Kerry mountains, just what was required.
Kids settled in like at home.
Will recommend to others and hope to return again.
Would loved to stay another few days!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura N
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 30, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Absolutely stunning cottage.
It was the perfect place to go for our mini-moon.
Amazing location and so close to beautiful sights.
Many thanks for the lovely memories.

Laura & Danny

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarxien, Malta
Reviewed September 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2017
We are very happy that you ye enjoyed your stay in Cuanbeg. Star gazing from the hottub is one of my favourite occupations at the cottage, as well as the fabulous walks in the locality. We endeavour to make sure all our guests have a comfortable and a great stay at the cottage. Thank you for your kind and helpful comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SueX7
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Ideal Irish experience!”
Reviewed June 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This immaculate home was the perfect Irish retreat! For us, the stone exterior represented an authentic representation of Irish culture. The interior was beautifully decorated and was fully equipped with everything needed for a comfortable stay. After a session of horseback riding, we thoroughly enjoyed relaxing in the outdoor hot tub under the evening stars. The views of the surrounding countryside were amazing! We appreciated the tranquil, private location and yet could also easily access by car local restaurants and the boat docks for departure to the Skellig Michael island. Our group consisted of a large age range from 16 to 55 and we all would absolutely recommend this gorgeous home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! Gorgeous home, breathtaking scenery, relaxing hot tub!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma H
Randalstown, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect getaway in idealistic location”
Reviewed May 29, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We arrived after a long days travelling to a beautiful house which was absolutely spotless and very well equipped. On our first day the weather was beautiful which showed off the breathtaking views surrounding the property. The house had plenty of activities including board games, DVDs, playing cards and Cd's as well as an extensive collection of literature on activities in the surrounding area. We kept the fire in the kitchen lit during most of our stay as the owner very kindly left a large supply of turf in the outside shed. Unfortunately the fire in the living room, which is the one we would have made most use of was out of order. Apart from that, everything worked perfectly. I thought it was a bit odd that in this day and age there was no wifi in the property, it would have been a welcomed asset! I would definitely come back again if i was in the area, and would recomend it to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Fire out of order
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cubbish86
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A perfect getaway - well-appointed, luxurious and delightful”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a delightful week staying at the charming Cuanbeg cottage over the Easter holidays and could not be happier with the experience. We contacted the owner only one day before we wanted to book the place and were delighted to find that not only was there availability but there was an attentive, knowledgeable owner who was pleasant and efficient to deal with.

The location of the cottage is second to none - you really are remote, but not so far away from local amenities to be inconvenient, with the town of Cahersiveen only a ten minute drive away. We followed our sat-nav all the way from Newcastle, England without a hitch and only ran into trouble in the last mile when we forgot that the owner had sent us directions and we tried to find the cottage ourselves late at night! However, once we had remembered that we had directions saved from the owner, we found the cottage in no time at all. If you're driving, follow the owner's directions to the letter and have faith - it might feel like you're driving into the middle of nowhere but the directions are spot on. Note that the road is a single-lane road but in good condition, with only the lane up to the cottage being a bit bumpy - but that said, we managed it perfectly fine in a Citreon DS3 so there's no trouble at all.

The cottage itself was wonderful - spacious, well-appointed and spotlessly clean. I note that there is a review underneath commenting on how dusty and unclean the property was - I experienced none of that, and I'm a genuine stickler for dirt. There was plenty of fuel left for the peat-burner in the kitchen and the house was wonderfully warm and cosy despite the gale blowing around. The kitchen had everything you needed for a good meal and we actually ate in the cottage more than we did out and about - the sign of an excellent kitchen. The living room and the bedrooms were comfortable, large and warm and were perfect for relaxing in at the end of a busy day.

Finally, the property comes with a hot-tub which I note many people below have enjoyed - we certainly did, sharing a hot-tub under the stars on a warm spring evening was tremendous. We did get a bit of a fright when a horse appeared behind us but that's rural life!

We were there eight days and found plenty of things to do around the area - lots of walks, good eating, scenic drives and interesting shops.

One thing to note which we completely overlooked when booking is that the cottage does not offer wifi, which came as a bit of a shock to us but only because we hadn't checked beforehand. We forgot to arrange roaming for our mobiles so we were completely cut off from the outside world for seven days unless we used the wifi in the various villages we wandered into. That said, this is certainly no detriment to the cottage - in fact, I think we had a better time for not being chained to mobiles and ipads!

I'd heartily recommend this property if you're after somewhere that you can relax, enjoy life and have a perfect base for which to explore southern Ireland. I'd say it was suitable for both couples and families - it has the cosiness that a couple would enjoy but also the space for a family to enjoy. We were genuinely sad to leave the cottage at the end of our stay and I know we will be back at some point in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and cleanliness of the cottage
Liked least: Lack of wifi - but that's to be expected
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in cuanbeg,
It is a wonderful place to get a way from it all and take a moment for yourself. I appreciate your comment about the wifi. Yes what would we do without it, but as you said ye had more time to relax together without being buried in the mobiles or iPads. it is also available in the village nearby where you can check your email and enjoy a coffee. it is a question we need to consider for the future, but we need to be mindful of the dynamic and tranquility of the cottage. We look forward to your return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diarmuidl...
N.Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fell well below expectations”
Reviewed October 27, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

After a bit of searching we found the house, lovely and peaceful setting...
Then we got into to the house, it was late in the evening and we had a long drive behind us coming from county derry so just rested the first night and went to bed early. Got up the next morning and noticed my girlfriends sister cleaning and dusting the house, shelves, benches, tabletops...all layered in dust.
Ventured out to the hot tub and lifted the cover and the smell that hit me when i opened it left alot to be desired, a stale stench of old dirty water. Wasnt sure why this was, thought initially it was due to the cover being on for a period of time, this wasnt the case. Water was that dirty/cloudy you couldnt see your feet when sitting in it. One of the children came out in a body rash after his first time in the tub. When going to enter the pool we used the step to climb in and the rotten wood step broke when my girlfriends brother stepped in it causing him injury by going over on his ankle. We then removed the filters and they were the colour of an old rusty nail, orange, they shud be white. We cleaned them.
Now onto the back door....we were warned in an email before arrival the back door was damaged, we took this on board and wedged it open when kids were out side so it would bang or swing and was closed at all other times. On returning home we got an email to say we broke the back door and were being charged. Along with this we were told we broke the stoves front glass and a hole in a chair. This was most certainly not the case. We left the place in a better state than it was when we arrived in it.

Went to ring and sort these problems out and got through to the housekeeper(cant mind her name) and was told gillian had charged us and would not be returning the deposit and was demanding more money. We asked to speak to gillian and were told she was on holiday and was unable to talk. I asked how is she able to correspond with you and is very quick to demand money and refuse to return the deposit but is not able to speak to us about it. Very convenient I think. I was told she would return the call on return from 'holiday' but i have yet to receive this phonecall.

Very disappointed after spending alot of money to enjoy this fabulous area of our country.would not recommend this to a friend on any terms.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2014
Unfortunately this review was expected. The person involved had said he would ruin our reputation and character during a dispute regarding damage done to our cottage. Fortunately this is a very rare occurrence. We pride ourselves in providing a good service to all our guests as can be seen by the other reviews of our property. Our cottage is located in a beautiful part of the country and we endeavour to assist our guests to ensure they have a great holiday. I will end this by sharing our most recent review, which was posted on a different site, from a guest who stayed in October
Review #9524854 “AMAZING!!”
3 of my friends and I recently stayed at this cottage. It was beyond amazing! The cottage was spacious with comfortable beds and beautiful views. It's central location made commuting to nearby sights easy. You would definitely need a car to get you to and from the cottage. We enjoyed sitting in the hot tub after our long, busy days of sight seeing. Gillian is wonderful and is always very prompt in answering questions and assisting you with whatever needs you may have. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone and I am planning on going back with my family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing