We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't do it” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Huntsman Club

The Huntsman Club
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Huntsman Club
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't do it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

Stayed at waterville which was a delightful tiny village. The accommodation is well passed it's prime. The unit is very tired. Shower preasure is very low,walls are stained as is some of the furniture ,and the lower floor is dark and gloomy.
The accommodation spolied a beautiful setting, which is in a great position to travel the ring of Kerry. There seemed to be much better accommodation in the village and this is the first time I have said DON"T STAY HERE.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank tomche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

This property is run down - wallpaper peeling, Duvet Cover old, pillows like rocks, no soap in the bathrooms on arrival. After 2 days - no cleaning, certainly not the standard expected. No Satelite TV - advertised by RCI. Cleaning standards poor - old papers in the drawers of the lounge on arrival. First impression - on arrival Refuse Bins in the Courtyard leading to Reception. What else can I say?

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyrJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterville hotels

captdenis
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

WE STAYED AT THE HUNTSMAN CLUB LOCATED ON THE CROSSROAD OF CLIFF ROAD AND THE RING OF KERRY IN WATERVILLE iRELAND. THE TOWN ITSELF WAS A BEAUTIFUL LITTLE iRISH COASTAL VILLAGE THAT EXISTS ON TOURISM. CHARLIE CHAPLIN WAS THEIR MOST DISTINGUISHED GUEST. THE TOWN HAS EVEN ERECTED A BRONZE STATUE IN HIS HONOR RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF TOWN. IT IS VERY COOL! Our time there was spent at the Huntsman Club which was provided to us through RCI. The accomadations were outstanding. We had a fireplace, whirlpool and sauna right in our unit! In the morning I would fish at the break of light in the Ballenskellig Bay and then return to the apartment where me wife would have a bowl of porridge with fresh blackberries that she had picked herself. A spot of the "Irish:" in the coffee to warm me up and then a little lovin with me wife of 25years would just start the days out fine. We could not have asked for a better place. We read some reviews on trip advisor that had us worried but after staying there all I can say is those who wrote those reviews must have been very spoiled individuals. I thought maybe we just got lucky and got the good unit but David, the manager let me walk through all the units and they were all just as nice as the one we were in. One of the reviews the writer complained that he was going to have to pay extra for the electric so he didn't use the whirlpool or the sauna. Well it says right in the lterature that you would have to pay for electricity. We used the hotub 3 times and the sauna 4 timers and our electric bill at the end of the week was a whomping 13.5 euros. Another complaint we read was that there were water stains on the walls. Well yes there was evidence of some water stains and i believe that the original designer made a mistake in using wallpaper. The stains were not that bad in any of the units. And what is one supposed to expect from a resort that faces directly out to the Ballinskellig Bay and the North Atlantic???? We give The Huntsman Club a 12 on a scale of 10, we felt it was that good. Two steps from our unit was the restaurant aptly named The Huntsman Club Restaurant. It was superb. An interesting mix of Thai and traditional Irish dishes complimented the menu. My wife and I celebrated our twenty fifth wedding anniversary with dinner in the restaurant and were happy beyond words. All I can say about the food there is WOW. some of the best and I have eaten all over the world from Dutch Harbor in the Bering Sea to Mexico and across the ocean to Rome and I don't think I could put any other restaurant even in the same class with this place. I had a rack of lamb chops that came apart with the fork and my wife had the local organic salmon and both dinners were just fantastic. They had their own house fish chowder that was delectable. We finished dinner off with a classic chocolate cake thing that I don't even remeber exactly what it was because I was so filled with the amazing dinner that we had. It was a perfect setting for our anniversary dinner and we even had the local pastor of the catholic church redo our vows which really topped off the week. I would recommend the Huntsman Club to anyone that wants to enjoy a little piece of heaven on earth!

Helpful?
6 Thank captdennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

my experience was quite like dolingv wrote about. the best thing i can say about the place was that it had a wonderful view over the water and close to the mountains. the whole place had a musty smell and the furniture was all worn. the water pressure was very low. the unit has a sauna and a jacuzzi tub, but we did not use them because we had to pay for all of the electricity we used for the week.
There was no internet available to us. we could not find any laundry services around the area. the parking situation was very poor. we had to talk nicely to the toilets to get them to flush. it was a good thing that i did not need to use a phone because there was no phone or phone service in the unit.

the closest place to drive was cahersiveen, which had a little bit of action. all of the bigger sight-seeing places were quite a drive away.

it was close to the shops and pubs in waterville. it was no problem for us to be out all nite, and then walk 2 minutes to get to the unit. We went hiking through the hiking trails in the area and got a lot of great pictures.

waterville was a nice place to stay. but i would recommend staying at a bed and breakfast, or one of the other lodges in the area.

i am going to post a picture of the view from our unit, and another picture of the inside of the unit. I could not find any pictures of the place before going there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zugpyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

These units have seen better days. The Huntsman Lodge and Restuarant are now under separate ownership. Our unit was functional, but was really in need of some updated decor. The wallpaper was water-stained throughout the whole unit, upstairs and down. The carpets and funiture really could have used some cleaning. We re-arranged the furniture to give us better functionality, and I don't think anyone had cleaned under them in years! We found a bag of rotten potates in one of the kitchen cupboards. We were lucky to have 4 of everything for dishes and glasses and ended up purchasing a bowl to be able to make salads. Okay...so it's really only a place to lay your head at night. The patio doors front on the roadway which runs along the shore. The beach was nice to walk on and the sunsets were spectaular! Waterville is a very quite sea-side town. It you want to go on a holiday with more action, I would suggest staying in Dingle, on the Dingle Peninsula. I highly suggest an excursion to the Skellig Islands to climb to the 7'th century monastry. The Ring of Kerry is a lovely spot, and I would certainly visit again, but would definately choose different self-catering lodings.

Helpful?
1 Thank dolingv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville
0.0 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
0.0 mi away
The Old Cable Historic House
The Old Cable Historic House
#10 of 11 in Waterville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Waterville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Currane Lodge
Currane Lodge
#1 of 11 in Waterville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterville House
Waterville House
#8 of 11 in Waterville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brookhaven Guest House
Brookhaven Guest House
#2 of 11 in Waterville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Huntsman Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Huntsman Club

Property: The Huntsman Club
Address: Waterville, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Waterville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Waterville
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Huntsman Club Hotel Waterville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing