We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely and comfortable in a beautiful location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Currane Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Currane Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Waterville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Homely and comfortable in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently during a fishing trip. This is without doubt the nicest b&b I have stayed in. Ann is a great hostess and is very welcoming making you feel right at home. The dining room and bedrooms are very clean and comfortable and the breakfast is good. The view of lough currane speaks for itself!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robmear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    24
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
77
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a lovely time in this out-of-the -way B & B. Ann was "over - the - top" in her hospitality and warm welcome. She is a professional chef and we added the delicious option of dinner to our stay. She made a wonderful fresh fish dinner, (and by "fresh" I mean, the catch was just a couple of hours earlier!) and the breakfast was delicious as well. (Her wonderful scones were unbelievable!) The room was clean and comfortable. WiFi was very sporadic and hard to connect, but was not a big deal for us. We would come back here in a heartbeat. Ann's knowledge of the area was extensive, and she gave recommendations for seeing the Skellig area. Highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bblosse3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doolin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Ann has created a lovely B&B in the heart of the countryside on Lough Currane. The welcome is really sincere and the family do a great job. Little Finbarr 5 year old son, is a great source of entertainment, chasing the rooster in the yard and ensuring we know who is in charge! you can guarantee your breakfast eggs are fresh as the hens are strutting in the garden outside, Well done to Ann and her lovely sons,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marypandula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were very happy while staying at the lodge with Ann. She was incredibly helpful and accommodating in planning around our foiled boat tour, pointing out great day trips, and being adjustable with our schedule. The hospitality and scenery cannot be matched. I plan to return someday. Thank you Ann!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhiannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This B&B is lovely in every way. Spent only one night but wish I could have spent a week. The view is stunning, the location off the over-beaten path but still very convenient, and the atmosphere peaceful and restorative. Ann McCarthy seems genuinely kind and interested in her guests. She works hard to ensure her guests are comfortable and well fed. The food she prepared was delicious. She and her family have lived on the same land for five generations, and her knowledge of the local history and sites is outstanding. At the last minute she arranged to have her brother take us out in his boat to a 10th century church on a tiny island in the middle of the lake in front of the B&B-you will not find this in any guide book, and being alone on the island was just so special, and perhaps my favorite memory from a wonderful trip. This B&B was hands down the best I've experienced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katherine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Ann is charming and her scones are delicious! The B&B is hidden away but once you find it, the view is wonderful. Ann gave us a great suggestion for where to dine - it was lovely, and we followed it up with a stroll on the beach! Her son Finbar is a sweetheart :)

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München, Deutschland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Ann is a very warmhearted landlady, her pancakes for breakfast are a delicious start into the day. Don't be bothered by the freerunning chicken and the cows next door, it is a perfect place for hiking and fishing. You will have an outstanding view of the lough from the combined breakfast and living room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja_und_Stephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville
2.1 mi away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Waterville
237 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
#1 of 3 in Waterville
127 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Old Cable Historic House
The Old Cable Historic House
#10 of 11 in Waterville
179 reviews
2.1 mi away
Brookhaven Guest House
Brookhaven Guest House
#2 of 11 in Waterville
131 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lakelands Farm Guesthouse
Lakelands Farm Guesthouse
#3 of 11 in Waterville
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Currane Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Currane Lodge

Property: Currane Lodge
Address: Tarmons | Waterville, Waterville, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Waterville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Waterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Currane Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currane Lodge is a family run Bed and Breakfast in a beautiful unspoiled environment overlooking the lake (Lough Currane)Near the seaside village of Waterville peaceful,and tranquil. In the heart of the Ring of Kerry, serving our now famous breakfasts and home baking. We are the ideal base for your holiday whether you are into horseriding , walking , game angling , sea angling, heritage, birdwatching, golfing, watersports its all close by. We have free wifi ,private parking , drying room, power showers all rooms ensuite , tea/coffee making facilities and a genuine warm Irish welcome. We look forward to your visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Currane Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing