We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jill and Shannon F”
Review of Currane Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Currane Lodge
Ranked #1 of 13 Waterville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Townsend, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Jill and Shannon F”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Ann was a lovely hostess, and we enjoyed Shay and Finn as well! The homemade scones for breakfast were wonderful, and the property was very nice, with a beautiful view. We were only there very briefly, but we would certainly recommend it to anyone who would be in the area.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    25
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
87
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We only stayed one night at this Inn since we were traveling around Ireland but this was a delight. We stayed in the apartment and it was clean and welcoming (including a plate of fresh baked scones on our arrival). Ann was delightful. She was accomodating, a great cook and able to keep things running smoothly. The setting was beautiful and it was very peaceful. If you would prefer not driving into town, she offers a great dinner for her guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed for two nights as part of our Irish Roadtrip. The B&B is situated on a hill overlooking 'Lough Currane' which offers some amazing views (even though the weather was awful when we visited)

The room was nicely decorated and a good size, the breakfast choices were more than adequate. Ann was very welcoming and offered us recommendations for some local restaurants when we decided we would like to eat out.

The only negative experience we encountered whilst we where there was that one of Ann's small boys was unwell and was therefore quite noisy in the morning before breakfast. Credit to Ann though when we mentioned this to her she offered to move us to a self contained part of the property for our second night which was much quieter.

Overall, a nice B&B in very scenic surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a golfing vacation. Ann was a terriffic host making sure all was ok at all times. Prepared us a 3 course vening meal as we arrived late. Beautiful homemade cooking which was both tasty and fufilling. Family very friendly and courteous. breakfast superb also. If, and probably when, go golfing again in waterville will not lookm anywhere else. go straight to Currane Lodge and await Ann's warm welcome.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simondo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We arrived rather late (7pm), but Ann had the 3 course dinner ready and what a dinner it was!Upon arriving at the spot we were breathtaken by the stunning view of the lake and the mountains. Ann, I think, ilustrates Irish hospitality at its best; both she and the family are very wellcoming and friendly without being intrusive. The rooms are very nice and spotless. Ann, being a trained cook had a fantastic choice of breakfast alternatives. Personally I adored her newly baked, warmish scones! We can highly recommed this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catharina_Sweden_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labenne, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

If you go to Waterville that's the place to stay ! Warm welcome, clean and comfortable rooms, excellent food. As she is an "ex" chef, I recommend to have at least one dinner there and experiment Ann's "cuisine"
Back in France now I remember with delight the tremendous "Irish breakfasts" we've got there.
Ann, thanks again for your real Irish hospitality.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Park, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2012

After driving around Ireland for a week, my wife and I stayed 2 days at the Currane Lodge outside of Waterville, It was a great place to unwind and get a taste of life on an Irish farm.
Ann, our host, was most accomodating and she along with her family made us feel very welcome. The beautiful lake and hills added to the tranquility - if ever we get back to that area, yes we will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville
2.1 mi away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Waterville
263 reviews
11.2 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
10.0 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Brookhaven Guest House
Brookhaven Guest House
#2 of 13 in Waterville
144 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Old Cable Historic House
The Old Cable Historic House
#10 of 13 in Waterville
186 reviews
2.7 mi away
Smuggler's Inn
Smuggler's Inn
#6 of 13 in Waterville
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Currane Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Currane Lodge

Property: Currane Lodge
Address: Tarmons | Waterville, Waterville, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Waterville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Waterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Currane Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currane Lodge is a family run Bed and Breakfast in a beautiful unspoiled environment overlooking the lake (Lough Currane)Near the seaside village of Waterville peaceful,and tranquil. In the heart of the Ring of Kerry, serving our now famous breakfasts and home baking. We are the ideal base for your holiday whether you are into horseriding , walking , game angling , sea angling, heritage, birdwatching, golfing, watersports its all close by. We have free wifi ,private parking , drying room, power showers all rooms ensuite , tea/coffee making facilities and a genuine warm Irish welcome. We look forward to your visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Currane Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing