We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms - Amazing view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Currane Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Currane Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Waterville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice rooms - Amazing view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed for two nights as part of our Irish Roadtrip. The B&B is situated on a hill overlooking 'Lough Currane' which offers some amazing views (even though the weather was awful when we visited)

The room was nicely decorated and a good size, the breakfast choices were more than adequate. Ann was very welcoming and offered us recommendations for some local restaurants when we decided we would like to eat out.

The only negative experience we encountered whilst we where there was that one of Ann's small boys was unwell and was therefore quite noisy in the morning before breakfast. Credit to Ann though when we mentioned this to her she offered to move us to a self contained part of the property for our second night which was much quieter.

Overall, a nice B&B in very scenic surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    24
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
78
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a golfing vacation. Ann was a terriffic host making sure all was ok at all times. Prepared us a 3 course vening meal as we arrived late. Beautiful homemade cooking which was both tasty and fufilling. Family very friendly and courteous. breakfast superb also. If, and probably when, go golfing again in waterville will not lookm anywhere else. go straight to Currane Lodge and await Ann's warm welcome.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simondo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We arrived rather late (7pm), but Ann had the 3 course dinner ready and what a dinner it was!Upon arriving at the spot we were breathtaken by the stunning view of the lake and the mountains. Ann, I think, ilustrates Irish hospitality at its best; both she and the family are very wellcoming and friendly without being intrusive. The rooms are very nice and spotless. Ann, being a trained cook had a fantastic choice of breakfast alternatives. Personally I adored her newly baked, warmish scones! We can highly recommed this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catharina_Sweden_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labenne, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

If you go to Waterville that's the place to stay ! Warm welcome, clean and comfortable rooms, excellent food. As she is an "ex" chef, I recommend to have at least one dinner there and experiment Ann's "cuisine"
Back in France now I remember with delight the tremendous "Irish breakfasts" we've got there.
Ann, thanks again for your real Irish hospitality.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

After driving around Ireland for a week, my wife and I stayed 2 days at the Currane Lodge outside of Waterville, It was a great place to unwind and get a taste of life on an Irish farm.
Ann, our host, was most accomodating and she along with her family made us feel very welcome. The beautiful lake and hills added to the tranquility - if ever we get back to that area, yes we will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Myself and my friend was on a photography shoot over in the west coast of Ireland and decided to stop with Ann and the family. It was a wonderful stay and the breakfast was big and hearty especially if your going to be out all day.
The warm welcome you get is home from home and Ann and Eamon's local knowledge is priceless when it comes to places off the beaten track to visit.

The rooms where acceptable but had certain functional and cosmetic fixes to be addressed but apart from that it was a wonderful stay.

Highly recommended B&B.

Thank you

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royst1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

On our arrival to Currane Lodge the first thing to strike us was the abundance of weeds, the patio door which was the entrance to the house was filthy. The hostess showed little interest in us when we declinced to have evening meal there. Our bedroom was very small with both a double and a single bed in it. The bedlinen was torn on the double bed. For breakfast you have to choose between frest fruit or a cooked breakfast, the crockery consisted of big mugs and no saucers. The homemade scones came out of the freezer and were reheated in the microwave. Our stay here ruined out trip to Waterville which is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gos90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nna1, Owner at Currane Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time to write a review , we appreciate constructive criticism, as it helps us improve our service. Currane Lodge above all is my home and I welcome every guest even if you do not wish to dine with us, evening meals are provided as an extra service for those who do not wish to go out in the evening and if a guest chooses to dine elsewhere we will recommend several good local establishments as I did for you. We use mugs instead of tiny cups which allows for a decent quantity of tea or coffee with refills available, Our breakfast menu is highly regarded and consists of orange juice and a choice of cereals to start with followed by a choice between
1 ..a full Irish
2.. fresh fruit and yougart platter
3..Pancakes with lemon and sugar
4. Pancakes with golden syrup
5..scrambled eggs on toast
6..baked beans on toast
All my scones and brown bread are freshly baked each morning by myself.
The bed linen was not torn. The evening you arrived was raining and the patio door may have been dirthy as I have a 3 year old toddler who likes to put his hands on it ! Unfortunately my garden was not looking its best as I lost many plants to the harsh winter and had to wait until last autum to replant. A rating of terrible is perhaps a bit harsh since you did not articulate any dissatisfaction during your stay even though you were asked at breakfast if everything was ok and again on departure . Yet you have waited approx 8 months to make your feelings known. I am sorry that your visit did not live up to your expectations as it is our wish that everyone enjoys their experience of a warm and genuine Irish welcome and comfortable stay with us. I wish you well. Kind regards Ann McCarthy owner Currane Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville
2.1 mi away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Waterville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
#1 of 3 in Waterville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Old Cable Historic House
The Old Cable Historic House
#10 of 11 in Waterville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.1 mi away
Brookhaven Guest House
Brookhaven Guest House
#2 of 11 in Waterville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lakelands Farm Guesthouse
Lakelands Farm Guesthouse
#3 of 11 in Waterville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Currane Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Currane Lodge

Property: Currane Lodge
Address: Tarmons | Waterville, Waterville, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Waterville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Waterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Currane Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currane Lodge is a family run Bed and Breakfast in a beautiful unspoiled environment overlooking the lake (Lough Currane)Near the seaside village of Waterville peaceful,and tranquil. In the heart of the Ring of Kerry, serving our now famous breakfasts and home baking. We are the ideal base for your holiday whether you are into horseriding , walking , game angling , sea angling, heritage, birdwatching, golfing, watersports its all close by. We have free wifi ,private parking , drying room, power showers all rooms ensuite , tea/coffee making facilities and a genuine warm Irish welcome. We look forward to your visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Currane Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing