We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay with a wonderful host”
Review of Currane Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Currane Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Waterville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay with a wonderful host”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Could not have asked for a more scenic and hospitable place to stay. My partner and I stayed for two nights and will definately return. The room was spacious, clean and breakfast was excellent - especially the home cooked scones. We had to leave early on the last morning and Ann could not have been more helpful. Would recommend the accomodation to those people looking for a quite relaxing holiday. Thanks again Ann.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StezC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    24
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
84
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Visiting the Southwest of Ireland we found this great B&B by accident. We have fully enjoyed the relaxing environment. The view from this B&B is spectacular, looking out over the big lake and one of the mountains. We have been told this is a good spot for fisherman as well.
During our stay the hostess, Ann, take good care of both breakfast and supper. And she was also really kind in giving us advice about walking/ hiking routes and 'must-sees'. Visiting this place you really get value for money and much more. Just check it out yourself!

Regards, Richard van Cleeff and Roel van Toorn

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ries5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This has been my third visit to the Currane-Lodge and I could only make myself leave there with the firm promise of returning very soon. This time, again, we had booked the self-catering accomodation, which is fully equipped for up to 6 people with everything a person could want for their holiday (up to Espresso-making-facilities and Jacuzzi!).
Ann was as formidable a hostess as always, her family is friendly and very welcoming.
Not to forget: Currane Lodge is located very close to the Ring of Kerry and the Atlantic-coast, but still a paradise for those seeking peace and quiet.
Thank you so much! I'll be back :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SylviaMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Ann is a wonderful host and a great cook. We enjoyed a brilliant 3 course dinner (including fresh lobster!) at the end of a long walk on the Kerry Way. The breakfast was also superb. The setting is beautiful, tucked away out of town on the edge of the Loch. The room was very comfortable and nice. The only minor issue we had was the constant slamming of doors as family members came and went through the house. But, we were tired and needed to rest more than most, so this is just a minor quibble. I would highly recommend Currane Lodge and the warm hospitality of Ann and her family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VLJPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Currane Lodge is 3 kilometres outside Waterville, at the very end of the stunning Iveragh peninsula in Co. Kerry. It is a modern building situated all by itself in a wonderful position overlooking the beautiful Lough Currane, with 4 guest rooms. If you are looking for a secluded, high quality, extremely comfortable and very good value B&B in the most wonderful landscape, this is it. But even more so is the warm welcome and personal attention provided by the proprietor Ann McCarthy and her family. Ann is a marvellous hostess; amenities are very good and everything is spotlessly clean; her local knowledge and advice about the area is extensive and very helpful; the breakfast is first-class, and by prior arrangement she will provide a lovely 3-course evening meal as well. We were not surprised to discover that another couple of guests had returned every year since Ann had opened the B&B. We hope to return to this magical corner of Ireland before too long, and when we do Currane Lodge will be top of our list. Very highly rcommended indeed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldromantics66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Currance Lodge Annexe for a week and found it to be a very comfortable place, with a stunning view across the lake. Anne was very welcoming and lovely to talk to - she gave us some useful tips of where to visit.

This was our first time in County Kerry and found it to be a stunning part of the world and will certainly be returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveChilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed at Currane lodge for one night while we were travelling the ring of kerry. The lodge was comfortable and welcoming with a stunning view of the lake. The proprietor Ann was extremely helpful and went out of her way to ensure we had a comfortable stay. The lodge was slightly away from the town centre of waterville so if you want to go out and have a drink you will need to get a taxi. We would definitely recommend the lodge as a place to stop over of you are travelling the ring of kerry!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstula11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville
2.1 mi away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Waterville
245 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
#1 of 3 in Waterville
136 reviews
11.2 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,061 reviews
2.1 mi away
Brookhaven Guest House
Brookhaven Guest House
#2 of 12 in Waterville
138 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Old Cable Historic House
The Old Cable Historic House
#10 of 12 in Waterville
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Currane Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Currane Lodge

Property: Currane Lodge
Address: Tarmons | Waterville, Waterville, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Waterville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Waterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Currane Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currane Lodge is a family run Bed and Breakfast in a beautiful unspoiled environment overlooking the lake (Lough Currane)Near the seaside village of Waterville peaceful,and tranquil. In the heart of the Ring of Kerry, serving our now famous breakfasts and home baking. We are the ideal base for your holiday whether you are into horseriding , walking , game angling , sea angling, heritage, birdwatching, golfing, watersports its all close by. We have free wifi ,private parking , drying room, power showers all rooms ensuite , tea/coffee making facilities and a genuine warm Irish welcome. We look forward to your visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Currane Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing