We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pricey for what you get - over rated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Restaurant

The Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 97 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $59
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Irish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Blissfully located upon the shores of Lough Ree, The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Guests can enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team and with it, an innovative approach to modern and attentive hospitality. Famously delicious contemporary cuisine accompanied by an eclectic, carefully selected wine list is always on the menu, with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge is a truly memorable dining experience.
Ratoath, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very pricey for what you get - over rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Was staying in the lodge for the May bank holiday weekend and dined in the restaurant on both nights. It was a surprise weekend for my husband's birthday. He had always talked about wanting to try the food and wine here as he's a real fan of the tv show The Resturant". Well it certainly did not live up to his or my expectation at all.
Starters were lovely on both nights but the mains were a huge let down, over cooked, tasteless and servered with so 80's sides of veg.
Most starters were 10 euros and others were 14. Most mains were 25 and some others carried a supplement of 6euros so....31 euros for striplion or rib eye!!!! Very poor choice of wine by the glass, cheap and nasty. Was expecting so much more considering their name.
Very small menu with little choice, we assumed, small menu so they could get them perfect....how wrong were we.
What was described on the menu is not what you get e.g chocolate mousse was a brownie with chocolate sauce/ganache poured over it.....this is just one example.
Better restaurants in glasson village at half the price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Genna75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    65
    28
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
328 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The menu offered sufficient choice for the three nights of our visit without having to compromise in any way. We had very good steaks that were perfectly cooked to order. Monkfish with crab mayonnaise was very tasty and light and the pork belly was very well received too! The baked alaska was a 'hit' and I would recommend the creme brulee too. Breakfast was very good and we had never before seen a freshly cooked ham for carving each morning in addition to what could be considered the more usual offerings. And the home made marmalade was delicious!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SerenidadDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Foodies paradise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Food here is AMAZING!But, be careful what you choose, as it can be very rich. Everything tastes good so you won't be leaving anything on your plate, so choose wisely!!!!Rooms are great too, the only downside I would say is their "bar" area. Very non-existant, small space, so no chance to mix/converse with other diners/hotel guest. This is a bit of a downer as normally in irish hotels, the crack can be good in the bar after dinner, not here. However, the scenery, service and friendliness of the staff makes up for their lack of bar!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yogamom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A real Occasion...A Meal with a View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Wonderful, professional and very friendly staff. Really enjoyed aperitifs in the bar before dinner ...wine selection by the glass is very good. Food was just wonderful. This restuarant never disappoints .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 30Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Ireland - for every type of occasion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have eaten in the Wineport on numerous occasions over the past few years and it never disappoints. We have had 3 large christening parties there, every Mothers day family lunch for past few years and also some romantic meals with my husband - and the Wineport was perfect on each occasion. I live in Dublin but am originally from the Athlone area so elect to go back to the Wineport for special occasions.

The food is really lovely, the service excellent (you get the feeling that staff & management really care) and the decor lovely but what sets the wineport apart from other restaurants is it's view and ambience. It is set on the shores of Lough Ree and has a lovely vista. In summer it is so lovely to sit outside on the fabulous wooden decking and I never fail to totally relax there.

If you haven't eaten / stayed in the Wineport, you're missing out on a unique and lovely experience that Ireland has to offer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pippy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to The Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing