We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way!”
Review of The Left Bank

The Left Bank
Ranked #5 of 102 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Was in this restaurant end of last year for a family event. Everything was perfect; food delicious but the staff stand out as being so helpful and friendly. If I was in Athlone again I would definitely visit this restaurant and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mollieNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    122
    29
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stop in the center of Ireland.”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on the basis of the reviews on Urban Spoon and were rewarded for looking at the site. Friendly and helpful waitpersons accompanied a great lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DM1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just the best!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We went there six adults on Saturday evening. The cozy atmosphere was a good start. We booked our table for 7pm and had our order at 7.20, and still we were able to choose from early bird menu, which was very good. Its a bit pricey but the food worth every penny. The presentation, the taste and service made our night very enjoyable. Cant wait to return!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, great food”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully prepared food and friendly service in a charming restaurant in the old part of Athlone, definitely worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Busy spot and quite noisy”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Very busy and very noisy but the food was good - with the exception of a meringue dessert which was really dry and dusty!!! Had the early bird menu so choices were limited. Staff were very attentive.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mayo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Left Bank also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to The Left Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing