We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly and relaxing hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athlone Springs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Athlone Springs Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“friendly and relaxing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2009

stay in this hotel for two nights over the weekend enjoyed my stay so much that i want to go back soon. the staff couldn't be nicer specially the receptions.the restaurant manger was very friendly and made sure that every thing we had was ok.the band that were on Saturday night were also great.the only compliant i would have is that it is in the middle of an industrial estate .looking forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bernie4corn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    273
    107
    75
    50
See reviews for
217
272
33
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

Booked this hotel from its website and that it was listed on other sites as being family friendly. Firstly, I certainly didn't gather from the website that the hotel was in the middle of an industrial / retail park! Also, our room overlooked the back gardens of private houses. Overall experience was ok, despite having to contact the hotel 4 times in advance of our visit to confirm a babysitter was available. No probs with sitter at all She was lovely but charged €15 per hour. Is that really family -friendly? Pool lovely and spa looked nice. I hadn't booked a treatment, but tried to on arrival and was told it was booked out yet when waiting for partner & son to have swim, noticed spa staff wandering up and down stairs repeatedly. No issues with service except for 1 man in restaurant who doesn't speak, appears to listen to your requirements and then disappears...! Food ok (nothing special) for dinner and breakfast. Bar nice but too small. Rooms too hot even with window open and surprisingly there was no air conditioning. Disturbed 3 times during the night by drunk and rowdy hotel guests going to their rooms. Everything about the hotel was barely ok but it was just not what you expect and should get from a 4-star rated hotel. Is it just standard now that once you provide a leisure centre, you get a 4-star rating??? On checking out we were not asked how our stay was. Strange! Perhaps they knew they wouldn't like what they'd hear! We were also charged €159 B&B for 1 night (hotel did not seem full) and would have been ok with that if the hotel lived up to the 4-star rating. Overall very disappointed. Would not recommend to friends or anyone for a leisure stay. Probably ok for a business stopover.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DESC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

We booked this hotel from the website and it looks as if it is in its own grounds but really its in an industrial estate. It was very disapointing driving up to the hotel and it surrounded by shops and houses. The hotel itself was a little characterless but clean and the rooms a good size, food was fine though the views from the restaurant of the car park disapointing

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBen42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

I stayed here with my wife on two seperate occassions in February. We found the staff to be very helpful at all times. The rooms were extremely spacious and comfortable with very spacious bathrooms.
The decor is slick and modern and makes for a refreshing change. The lobby bar is intimate and always had a nice atmosphere, even midweek. The bar food was excellent as was the buffet breakfast - with all staff been very helpful at all times.
The leisure centre and Spa area were really relaxing and enjoyable. It was calm and relaxing, just what you need after a long day.
I will definately return to this hotel...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCGAL01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2009

I booked a room in the athlone spring hotel and mentioned that we were on honeymoon. I was contacted to ask if I wanted to upgrade to the bridal suite for an extra fee after the booking was made, which I agreed to. The suite was indeed very nice and comfortable, however, there was no evidence whatsoever that we were on honeymoon - no flowers, nothing.... Not even the member of staff we checked in with uttered a 'congratulations'.

On the first evening, I had booked dinner in the cedar restaurant as part of our package. When we arrived, the voucher I had was snatched out of my hand before I could say anything by a blond woman. She marched us to our table with no friendliness. When I ordered a bottle of shiraz and pointed to it on the menu, she brought a bottle of chardonnay. That said, there was no problem changing it. The tall waiter ("Lurch") never exchanged one word with us and took away my bread plate while I was still eating the bread. He had a permanent grimace on his face that night and both mornings at breakfast. Our dinner lasted approx 1 hour as we were rushed thru the courses. It was a rather unpleasant experience. There were two girls who served us who were pleasant but he blonde woman and guy were just awful.
I have to mention that the staff in the spa and leisure centre were very nice.

I wouldn't return to this hotel. It was a big let down for us at the end of our honeymoon ( it was our final stop) Also, it's located next to a building site.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peanuts99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2009

Was at a wedding here and stayed overnight.

Very impressed with hotel. Loved the decor and staff were very friendly.

Our room was lovely but believe there is better rooms with shower room etc, all tiled black and more modern. Probably at a higher cost.

Bit out from the centre of the town though so would have to drive or get a taxi if you wanted to head down.

But overall a lovely hotel and would recommend it.

In my opinion more aimed at adults, than kids..

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emski-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in August 2008. Got a good deal internet rate for 2 nights B&B / 1 Din. At booking, we requested a double non-smoking room, but at check-in, they said that they only had twin room available, which after sometime "discussing" this with the receptionist, they found a double room. When we got to the room, it had a sliding door to a rooftop area but the room stank of stale ciggarette smoke, with butts scattered around the window area - and this apparently was a non-smoking room. It was not pleasant at all so we immediately requested a room change. After sometime, they located another (!!) double room which was non-smoking. This room was fine with a very impressive sized bathroom. Rooms were spotless. The room was located near an area where smokers tended to congregrate so became a bit noisy at night time. Overall, the hotel is quite impressive, but location is further outside of Athlone town than we realised. The parking is free and there's plenty of it. The pool is nice and the dining area & breakfast was fine. When we were there, it was a quite busy weekend with a debs or a graduation going-on, so breakfast the next morning was busy. The bar food was nice - and the meal on the 2nd night was very pleasant. Would probably return.

  • Liked — The huge bathroom with the nice goodies supplied.
  • Disliked — Having to request room change, the confrontation with the receptionist at check-in in order to get the room we had specifically requested.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jennydean01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
2.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
5.3 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athlone Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athlone Springs Hotel

Property: Athlone Springs Hotel
Address: Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlone Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep, relax and refresh yourself at the Athlone Springs Hotel. Modern and elegant with 68 spacious bedrooms, this 4 star hotel is among the best in Athlone. The bedrooms are luxuriously furnished in warm tones. All bedrooms have the option of a bath with overhead shower with additional extras such as work desk, TV and free Wi-Fi. If you are feeling extra tired, the lazy checkout is an option, subject to availability of course. Push the boat out with breakfast in bed and room service. Guests can also avail of the state of the art Zen fitness and leisure centre and free parking. A family friendly hotel, the Athlone Springs Hotel offers excellent facilities for families including kid's camps and children's pool at the leisure centre. Family rooms are available, some with interconnecting rooms. Additional camp beds and cots are available on request. For the ultimate experience in luxury accommodation, the Manhattan suite comes with two widescreen LCD TVs, a separate sitting room, "his and hers" bathroom, jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower, bathrobe and slippers. Fresh flowers and champagne can be organized ahead of your arrival to surprise that special someone. Zen fitness and leisure centre has a 20m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room as well as all the equipment you would expect in a modern gym. Zen Beauty will have you pampered and preened for a night out or melt away your troubles with a message. Dining in the Athlone Springs Hotel is a relaxed affair with superb food from both the Cedar Bar and Cedar Restaurant. Offering excellent service from friendly local staff and a locally sourced menu, the award winning chefs like to follow nature's lead producing food that is in-keeping with the season. The Athlone Springs Hotel is a choice destination for events and conferences. The conference meeting rooms are climate-controlled and include a choice of two boardrooms, five syndicate rooms, executive business centre, integrated audio visual and multimedia equipment as well as ample parking. The Clonellan suite can hold up to 500 people and can be partitioned. A beautiful venue, superb wedding team, excellent food and service make the Athlone Springs the hotel for your wedding day. The dedicated wedding coordinator will be by your side from start to finish making sure everything goes off without a hitch. No matter what your budget, requirements or aspirations, the Athlone Springs Hotel can fulfill your needs. Private suites are also available for religious blessings or civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Athlone Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing