We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Athlone Springs Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Just back from a lovely weekend at the Athlone Springs Hotel. The food was lovely and the staff were fantastic with a special shout-out to Andrew. I have to comment on one thing that I think lets the hotel down and that's the first impression I got when I drove in; the front of the hotel where the chairs and tables are. I found it very grubby, the tables were dirty and the ground was littered. I know it was a busy weekend there but even if the tables and chairs were moved a little further away from the entrance. I'm a smoker and I found there were no ashtrays so everyone was putting their cigarette ends on the ground which really defaced the entrance. I asked for an ashtray I got a glass to use. The table and chairs themselves were in a bad way. This is something that can be addressed very easily and would make a huge difference.
Having said all this, the weekend was lovely and the staff were great.

M&M

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Maybo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Dear Maybo,

So glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the kind comments regarding Andrew whom I know is delighted to be mentioned in person.

Hope to see you again soon in Athlone.

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 954 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

This hotel is in an industrial estate, so if you are looking for somewhere to go for a walk, this won’t be the place for you. It suited us though, as we were moving on the next night to somewhere else. There is plenty of free parking in the grounds of the hotel. The hotel itself needs a bit of sprucing up on the outside, it is rather worn looking. Check in was prompt and we got a pleasant room on the 2nd floor overlooking the back of the hotel. There was an in-room safe and plenty of toiletries, towels and extra pillows. Our room was clean and bright and the bathroom was gorgeous with a lovely big shower cubicle – all done out in charcoal slate wall and floor tiles. We went for a swim in the leisure centre shortly after arriving. This is a very clean and modern facility, and if you are intending to use it, don’t forget to bring a €1 coin with you for the lockers. I was absolutely amazed at the number of people who just put their clothing/belongings in the lockers and walked away with securing them – foolish in the extreme. The pool is 20m long and there is a sauna and steam room, Jacuzzi for adults and a small padding pool for children. There is also a gym for the more energetically-inclined! The showers were spacious and had shower gel/shampoo dispensers on the walls. Hairdryers are provided. We dined in a Chinese restaurant nearby and returned to a good night’s sleep. Unfortunately the lovely big shower cubicle had one problem – the water temperature was absolutely scalding and we couldn’t control it. It seems there might have been a button missing from the shower control knob. We reported this at reception on leaving and they said they would have it sorted (Room 225 - I sure hope they did as this could cause very serious injury to somebody). Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice available. Check-out was prompt. We enjoyed our overnight in the Athlone Springs but feel it is more suited to families. There were plenty of families there, as it is ideal with the swimming pool etc. and there were some children’s activates going on as we left. However if you are wishing to get away for a quiet break, this might not suit. We got excellent value for money as it was an online deal.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DubTwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Delighted you enjoyed your stay and for your kind comments and indeed for the constructive criticism as well.I have had our maintenance team look at the issue you raised regarding the hot water.

Hope to be welcoming you back to Athlone in the near future.

Kind Regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here (myself, partner, two children and my mother-in-law) over the weekend of the 24th of July last. We had two rooms on first floor - (117 and 119) interconnecting rooms. The rooms were very spacious and very comfortable. But that said one downside was that the corridors are far too dark (patches of purple lighting in places) which other visitors have commented on. This in my opinion should be addressed as in an emergency (I don't know perhaps there is emergency lighting but if there was a fire it would be next to impossible to see in front of you). Another downside was that there was no air conditioning in the room. I know that we live in a country where we are not always guaranteed warm weather but there should be some air conditioning in the room and those particular days we were there the weather was very hot (24 to 25 degrees) and the rooms were very sticky.
When we arrived on our first day we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist and two very friendly bar staff who heated up scones for us which was a really appreciated as we had had an early start that morning. Also lovely staff member in the restaurant (Lizzie?) who kept asking if everything was to our satisfaction which indeed it was.
Leisure centre and gym areas were clean and welcoming. Lockers unfortunately in changing room didn't work properly which should be addressed as valuables couldn't be locked away safely.
Our two children availed of the video night in the kids club and the two young people that ran it (can't remeber their names now) were lovely to deal with.
Even though we had a lovely time and the staff were lovely and the hotel itself was pleasant, I don't think I would stay here again as the location is not appealing (an industrial estate with busy traffic and no nice walks) - no unfortunately not for me.

Room Tip: Room 117 and 119 not too noisy even though it was located over wedding reception room! But it could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Eve031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and you thorough assessment of the hotel.

We use all comments as a basis to improve and as happy as I am that you found the staff, food and leisure center to you satisfaction I am disappointed that you found issue with the lighting in the corridors which is believe it or not a design feature to encourage people to be quiet as other guests are sleeping.

We have already purchased different bulbs to brighten up this area and have also sourced new locker locks for the changing lockers in the leisure centre. Progress is being made.

Again

thank you for your review.

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Athlone springs for a friends wedding for three nights. The day before the wedding we were setting up and had to speak to the manager regarding the state of the reception room: there seemed to be sick on the wall, broken wall lights and the carpet was filthy and sticky. This was addressed by the wedding day and the room looked amazing.
Our bedroom was nice but not of a standard expected as there were stains on the carpet, broken kettle, no air con etc.
The 'Spa' is basic, big swimming pool, sauna, steam room etc nothing special but still good to use and Husband loved being able to use the gym.
The food at the wedding was excellent as was the food in the bar. Breakfast was great too.
The hotel is situated just outside of Athlone town and is set among large car garages/sales rooms so don't expect any beautiful views of the Irish countryside.

The hotel is in need of a good 'Spring' clean (excuse the pun) and the odd repair here and there.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KDaveta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

As you point out the room looked amazing and the food was very good which is great to hear but it should be noted that if you see a function room immediately after a busy night you will find lots of issues which are all put right for the next occupants much like a hotel bedroom.

We are delighted that your event went well and hope to have the pleasure of you staying with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

When we walked in to our room, it was like walking into a sauna. This was on a wet and mild day. There was a sign on the window saying that it was broken and doesn't open. The room had a small fan, but all it did was recirculate the same hot air. We went to reception, and asked to move room, but were told that there was no other rooms available (it was a bank holiday weekend). They also said that we should have been told about the broken window on checkin.
After a few hours, they brought us an embarrassingly small fan for our room, but it made little difference. Trying to sleep in an extremely hot and stuffy room, with 2 fans, loudly buzzing all night, was a horrible experience, and not one you expect when paying for a four star hotel to relax. The room shouldn't have been let out to anybody. I would have been much happier had they rang back after booking, and explained the situation, and we would have happily booked elsewhere.
The staff had rumbled about a possible discount or voucher, but never offered one. It didn't matter anyway, because we knew we wouldn't be coming back.

Regarding the rest of our stay...
We had dinner in the restaurant included as part of our stay. The food was amazing. We had a Steak and Hake between us. Would eat there again. The service was good, except for when we finished the meal, and we had to wait 20 mins to ask for the bill, as all the wait staff had disappeared.

The gym was quite poor. Small, run down, dirty, dated equipment with little selection. There was people lying on the ground in the narrow walkways, doing stretches, because there was nowhere else to do them. Although some of the cardio machines did have built in TV screens, which is good. The pool was quite nice. It was divided into three parts; two swimming lanes, and kids in the other, which seemed to work well for everyone.

There was hen parties staying at the hotel, but they seemed fine. Might be something to bear in mind though, if you had a young family.

It's outside of the town, fine if you have a car, or happy to get a taxi in.

Overall, wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Eamonn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

It is correct to say that we did have an issue with a window in the hotel that due to a previous occupant over opening the sash the window had to be closed to ensure compliance with health and safety.

please accept my apologies for this as it was not acceptable that we used this room.

I am encouraged that you found our food to your liking bu again am disappointed that you found our Gym "small" Because as hotels go we would consider it a very well proportioned facility with lots of space for stretches and the like.

Thanks again for your review.

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for weekend break with family, good location, very clean throughout, and good choice, staff very efficient and manager very good taking his time to talk to customers which is always a must in the hospitality industry (so well done) will be back again

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank B0674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Great to see such positive feed back.

Many thanks

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Easter Hotel fab! food great ! Kids loved it ! Viking ships ! Pet farms ! Castles ! And huge pool ! Little boys dream !

Little out if town but not an issue as we used the bus once and drove twice !

Just what the doctor ordered with bells on !

Will return

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Bobby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2014

Delighted you took in all athlone has to offer.

Destination Athlone is a website well worth visiting for listings of things to do.

Kind regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,984 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
2.1 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
4 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athlone Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athlone Springs Hotel

Address: Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Price Range: $58 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlone Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep, relax and refresh yourself at the Athlone Springs Hotel. Modern and elegant with 68 spacious bedrooms, this 4 star hotel is among the best in Athlone. The bedrooms are luxuriously furnished in warm tones. All bedrooms have the option of a bath with overhead shower with additional extras such as work desk, TV and free Wi-Fi. If you are feeling extra tired, the lazy checkout is an option, subject to availability of course. Push the boat out with breakfast in bed and room service. Guests can also avail of the state of the art Zen fitness and leisure centre and free parking. A family friendly hotel, the Athlone Springs Hotel offers excellent facilities for families including kid's camps and children's pool at the leisure centre. Family rooms are available, some with interconnecting rooms. Additional camp beds and cots are available on request. For the ultimate experience in luxury accommodation, the Manhattan suite comes with two widescreen LCD TVs, a separate sitting room, "his and hers" bathroom, jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower, bathrobe and slippers. Fresh flowers and champagne can be organized ahead of your arrival to surprise that special someone. Zen fitness and leisure centre has a 20m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room as well as all the equipment you would expect in a modern gym. Zen Beauty will have you pampered and preened for a night out or melt away your troubles with a message. Dining in the Athlone Springs Hotel is a relaxed affair with superb food from both the Cedar Bar and Cedar Restaurant. Offering excellent service from friendly local staff and a locally sourced menu, the award winning chefs like to follow nature's lead producing food that is in-keeping with the season. The Athlone Springs Hotel is a choice destination for events and conferences. The conference meeting rooms are climate-controlled and include a choice of two boardrooms, five syndicate rooms, executive business centre, integrated audio visual and multimedia equipment as well as ample parking. The Clonellan suite can hold up to 500 people and can be partitioned. A beautiful venue, superb wedding team, excellent food and service make the Athlone Springs the hotel for your wedding day. The dedicated wedding coordinator will be by your side from start to finish making sure everything goes off without a hitch. No matter what your budget, requirements or aspirations, the Athlone Springs Hotel can fulfill your needs. Private suites are also available for religious blessings or civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athlone Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing