We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Hotel, food and staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Athlone Springs Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Five Star Hotel, food and staff!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my best friend using a Groupon deal.
The deal included main course, wine and bed and breakfast for two.
On arrival we were greeted by a lovely girl at reception. Our booking was found with no fuss, and she quickly gave us all the relevant information.
We asked for a twin room and got a room with a double and three single beds!
At the restaurant we were greeted by a Pearl, a lovely bubbly girl, who took our order and even got a pint of Guinness in place of a wine for my friend.
I chose the Thai Chicken Curry and my friend ordered the Pollock and Chips.
Curry was aromatic and very tasty.
My friend's Pollock, which he had never tried before, was in his words "absolutely fantastic! Better than haddock or cod!"
We declined dessert as the mains had filled us up.
In the morning, we again had the service of the wonderful Pearl, who advised us that it was a buffet breakfast. We soon got stuck in. Everything was great and just so tasty!
We both would stay again. My friend Paul, said he would bring his girlfriend as it would be a great place to go for a romantic break.
Note to management at Athlone Springs.
If there is an "employee of the month" then Pearl should win. All your staff were friendly and very welcoming but Pearl just had that little bit extra. She is a credit to your hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Donald,

What a review and well done Pearl....cracking lass who has sadly left us to pastures new last week.

Hope you had nothing to do with it. :-)

Thanks again for the fine review.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    300
    124
    84
    55
See reviews for
239
299
33
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I have stayed here twice so far this year, once in Feb&once in June both for Hen party! I have to say on both occasions I was very happy,we were all very well looked after by the staff. Its great value for money esp on the hen party deals..the cocktail class was fantastic with Pat&Connor! Also after an unfortunate incident where one of the hens got badly hurt (outside hotel grounds) the bar staff in particular the manager Seamie, were very helpful in assisting us to get her the help she needed! Overall it was a fantastic experience both nights and I will definitely be returning to this hotel :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niafa_doll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Niafa,

The guys in the bar are only happy that what could have been a difficult situation was well marshaled and dealt with.

Hope the wedding goes well.

P.S. The boys want an invite.

Thanks

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on June 14th. We had asked for a quiet room and on booking in the receptionist discussed 2 rooms with us and gave us a choice. I had a moment of panic as there were a group checking in for a hen party so I thought I may not get very much sleep. I needn't have worried. Even though they had 5 groups in that night they were in a different area of the hotel and we had a very quiet night. We ate in the bar that evening and the food was very good as was breakfast next morning. All the staff we met were very friendly and I would certainly stay there again and would recommend the hotel to my friends. Well done!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noreentm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Noreen,

Delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West of Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I stayed here with a group in May 2014 and found it a really very good hotel.
Really clean, modern, well taken care of hotel.
Nice swimming pool.
Good breakfast.
Just one thing : if you're here at the weekend, ask for a room that's not above the main ballroom / night club area, as this was noisy on our stay.
If you're in good condition, the great pub part of Athlone is around 4km walk and there is a footpath the whole way into town, so you won't need to walk on the road.

Room Tip: Avoid being above ballroom / night club / music venue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pfmireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear PFMIreland,

Thank you for your review. I am happy that it was good but am disappointed that you had some noise issues.
Our policy is that we would never have someone not attending a function in a room which could be affected by the entertainment.

Thanks again

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offaly, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We attended my niece and her new husbands wedding last Thursday and had a great day. It was the first time we were ever in the hotel and were quite impressed.

The receptionist quickly and friendly booked us in and then we helped ourselves to the champagne punch and delicious homemade cookies. The bedrooms were spacious and clean with a lovely big bathroom. The only fault was there was not enough towels and no bath mat so we had to use the only hand towel in the bathroom for the floor.

The reception area looked stunning and well laid out. The service was friendly and efficient, and the food was hot and delicious. Everything ran very smoothly which shows great management and organisation.

The breakfast the next morning was very good also. Plenty of everything and even though most of us came down to the later end of the service we were not rushed and it was great to catch up with everyone the morning after the night before with fresh tea and coffee being supplied to us.

So I would like to thank staff and management for helping to make Nina and Buddies wedding a great occasion for all the family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresabrown3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Teresa,

Delighted you enjoyed the big day.

Hope to see ye all back here in the summer.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
offaly ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Attended my sister's wedding, everything was fantastic from start to finish, family room was massive, hotel spotless staff couldn't do enough for us, looked after d bridal party and guests like royalty, there was a kids club for the smaller children games and face painting couldn't highly recommend this hotel more!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catherinek2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hi Catherine,

Thank you so much for the great review.

Our weddings are a bigger part of our business mix each year so its nice to hear from someone who has actually attended one and has seen what we can do.

Kind regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Second time staying here. Rooms are very nice. Didn't eat here but reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Just a 3 minute taxi ride from town centre as well. Would recommend to a friend for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Gorman001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Gorman001,

Absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay and I hope on your next visit you savor our food.

Kind regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,924 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.4 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
2.1 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
5.4 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athlone Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athlone Springs Hotel

Property: Athlone Springs Hotel
Address: Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlone Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep, relax and refresh yourself at the Athlone Springs Hotel. Modern and elegant with 68 spacious bedrooms, this 4 star hotel is among the best in Athlone. The bedrooms are luxuriously furnished in warm tones. All bedrooms have the option of a bath with overhead shower with additional extras such as work desk, TV and free Wi-Fi. If you are feeling extra tired, the lazy checkout is an option, subject to availability of course. Push the boat out with breakfast in bed and room service. Guests can also avail of the state of the art Zen fitness and leisure centre and free parking. A family friendly hotel, the Athlone Springs Hotel offers excellent facilities for families including kid's camps and children's pool at the leisure centre. Family rooms are available, some with interconnecting rooms. Additional camp beds and cots are available on request. For the ultimate experience in luxury accommodation, the Manhattan suite comes with two widescreen LCD TVs, a separate sitting room, "his and hers" bathroom, jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower, bathrobe and slippers. Fresh flowers and champagne can be organized ahead of your arrival to surprise that special someone. Zen fitness and leisure centre has a 20m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room as well as all the equipment you would expect in a modern gym. Zen Beauty will have you pampered and preened for a night out or melt away your troubles with a message. Dining in the Athlone Springs Hotel is a relaxed affair with superb food from both the Cedar Bar and Cedar Restaurant. Offering excellent service from friendly local staff and a locally sourced menu, the award winning chefs like to follow nature's lead producing food that is in-keeping with the season. The Athlone Springs Hotel is a choice destination for events and conferences. The conference meeting rooms are climate-controlled and include a choice of two boardrooms, five syndicate rooms, executive business centre, integrated audio visual and multimedia equipment as well as ample parking. The Clonellan suite can hold up to 500 people and can be partitioned. A beautiful venue, superb wedding team, excellent food and service make the Athlone Springs the hotel for your wedding day. The dedicated wedding coordinator will be by your side from start to finish making sure everything goes off without a hitch. No matter what your budget, requirements or aspirations, the Athlone Springs Hotel can fulfill your needs. Private suites are also available for religious blessings or civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athlone Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing