We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Athlone Springs Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We are local to this hotel so often go down for a lunch as we are retired. I like the atmosphere and find the staff very friendly. There is a good selection on the menu and the food is lovely.

I recommend this place for a lunchtime meal or for those travelling. I haven't eaten there at night-time for dinner so cannot comment but as a hotel it is impressive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellady692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Travel Lady 692,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. It means a lot for a local to go on here and compliment us as we are continually striving to encourage our local business.

Again thank you and on your next visit please make yourself know so I can thank you in person.

Kind Regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 955 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Have to say we were highly impressed of the service we received while staying here. Receptionists gave us a warm polite welcome. Room was fantastic. We appreciated the adaptions that was made to suit our two kids. The room we stayed in was spotless. Food was very tasty and waiters were extremely attentive. The staff throughout are stay done everything to make our stay one to remember. We could not fault anything at all. We will definitely return soon just the two of us and we look forward to getting the same room. Lee and Emma

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Emma B,

Thank you for your kind comments. I'm so glad you and your crew enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just returned from this hotel and it its safe to say we will NEVER return! Had booked a room for 2 adults and a child and requested a quiet room as I am a light sleeper. We were placed in a room on the corridor to the leisure centre so very busy. Went swimming and witnessed many of the rules being completely ignored such as running and diving etc so could not have a peaceful swim. Sat in the lounge area only to be disturbed by a gang of out of control children who were allowed to do as they pleased while their parents sat in the bar. When we went up to the room to allow my son to go to bed we were constantly disturbed by the same gang of children whose group of parents were all staying in the rooms surrounding us. They were running, screaming, banging on doors, slamming doors, in and out of lifts and running up and down stairs. When I telephoned reception and explained my issue I was told by a disinterested receptionist that she supposed she could ask the children to quieten down. I did hear someone ask them to be quiet but 5 mins later the disturbance started again. At this point we decided to check out as wild undisciplined children and parents who didnt care what their children were doing were more important to the hotel staff than decent people who were not accepting of this standard of behaviour. When we were checking out there was another person at reception complaining about the same issue. We were refunded our money but the problem was not dealt with at all as far as I am concerned. As we were leaving the hotel we also had to dodge the pool of vomit near the main entrance.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welshboypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2014

Dear Shalouey,

Thanks so much for your review. Our chefs and waiting team where delighted to read your feedback and we are so happy you enjoyed everything.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed at this hotel 6-8 March,for a conference on 2nights B&B plus one evening meal.The staff were very helful,especially Karen with our phone enquires.The rooms were a good size and when we ran out of milk, a jug of fresh milk was sent up to our room.The food was excellent,the dinner for the conference was excellent,we had a choice of the menu,starter,main,dessert,tea&coffee,unlike the previous conference hotel were you had only two choices for main and dessert and no starter! We found breakfast a bit slow as you had to ask for scramble eggs (cooked to order) and on the friday morning ask for your tea or coffee. Over all would stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Roms 205 - 203 over look a yard and below these rooms was the kitchen extractor fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Syd135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Syd135,

Thank you for your review of our property and your kind words regarding food and service here.
I hope to be seeing you at another conference soon or better still come down for a leisure weekend.

Kind regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I did not expect such great food at a Hotel restaurant; this restaurant went well beyond my expectations. The food was cooked to perfection and presented beautifully. The staff at the hotel are outstanding. We had breakfast in an atmosphere of congeniality....what a team of pleasant workers. I shall be happy to recommend this hotel for a relaxing break away from the noise and bustle of everyday life.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not overlooking the back recycling yard!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irlandesa15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Irelandsse15,

Delighted you enjoyed your stay and Particularly you comments on our restaurant made me smile.

Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Thanks

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed here on Saturday 22nd February. We were a group of 18 on a cousins annual reunion. Our first experience was the warm reception by the staff as we booked in. Throughout our evening, night and following morning the staff exuded warmth and professionalism. Some of our group experienced some issues with their rooms and upon bringing the small issues (e.g. leaky shower) to the attention of the staff they were immediately and without quibble, moved to another room. The building may be a victim of the boom years where quality was not always to the fore. In fairness the issues are small and the response of the staff immediately overcomes any concerns. We had a pre-arranged separate dining area and bar (we can be a noisy lot) and upon entering this lovely room I wondered how the service in this outlying room would be. It was exemplary! No request was too much, the staff were always in evidence, efficient and friendly at all times. We had a great night. The hotel does attract a lot of families with young children having dinner and they were very much in evidence in and around the bar and foyer until around 8pm. It was a bit manic and messy for a little while as some kids left the table to explore and run around while other family members finished their meal. The staff did tidy up fairly quickly and calm was restored by about 8.30pm. Breakfast the next morning was self service with many friendly staff to help out. Food was fairly standard but in plentiful supply. The Hotel was a great venue and relatively inexpensive for a group to go to for a good night out.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff. They will genuinely help you get the room you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Mountainvilla,

Thank you for your kind review and in particular your comments regarding our team here at the hotel.
I am also delighted that your private dining event was a great success and that you found the service to your liking.

Hope to see you on another visit in the not too distant future.

Thanks

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed here lately while attending a wedding at a nearby venue. Was great value hotel. Wouldn't stay here if looking for a luxurious break away or anything like that.

Staff at reception were very very nice and helpful.

Room during the night and the next morning was way too hot, it was like sleeping in a sauna, I woke up in a sweat. Was also awoken early on a Sunday morning at about 9am by someone power washing the front of the hotel - surely there is a better time to arrange this.

My wife went to run a bath to find no stopper in the bath. She then when to phone reception to find no phone in the room!!! so had to dress and walk to reception to request a bath stopper.... Simple things!!

Would consider for an overnight stop on route somewhere or a cheap night away for stag/hen type occasion.

Breakfast was only average and mushroom were raw.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expect_quality_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear sir,

Thank you for your review of our property and where as i am very disappointed in the two star rating we will have to do better on the fronts you mention.

The room heating is controllable in your room so I can only surmise that the previous occupants had it fully turned up prior to leaving. We have since put in place a plan to stop this happening in the future.

Thank you for your review which we will use to improve our product.
I am however pleased that you found our team pleasant.

Thanks

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,986 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
2.1 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
4 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athlone Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athlone Springs Hotel

Address: Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Price Range: $58 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlone Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep, relax and refresh yourself at the Athlone Springs Hotel. Modern and elegant with 68 spacious bedrooms, this 4 star hotel is among the best in Athlone. The bedrooms are luxuriously furnished in warm tones. All bedrooms have the option of a bath with overhead shower with additional extras such as work desk, TV and free Wi-Fi. If you are feeling extra tired, the lazy checkout is an option, subject to availability of course. Push the boat out with breakfast in bed and room service. Guests can also avail of the state of the art Zen fitness and leisure centre and free parking. A family friendly hotel, the Athlone Springs Hotel offers excellent facilities for families including kid's camps and children's pool at the leisure centre. Family rooms are available, some with interconnecting rooms. Additional camp beds and cots are available on request. For the ultimate experience in luxury accommodation, the Manhattan suite comes with two widescreen LCD TVs, a separate sitting room, "his and hers" bathroom, jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower, bathrobe and slippers. Fresh flowers and champagne can be organized ahead of your arrival to surprise that special someone. Zen fitness and leisure centre has a 20m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room as well as all the equipment you would expect in a modern gym. Zen Beauty will have you pampered and preened for a night out or melt away your troubles with a message. Dining in the Athlone Springs Hotel is a relaxed affair with superb food from both the Cedar Bar and Cedar Restaurant. Offering excellent service from friendly local staff and a locally sourced menu, the award winning chefs like to follow nature's lead producing food that is in-keeping with the season. The Athlone Springs Hotel is a choice destination for events and conferences. The conference meeting rooms are climate-controlled and include a choice of two boardrooms, five syndicate rooms, executive business centre, integrated audio visual and multimedia equipment as well as ample parking. The Clonellan suite can hold up to 500 people and can be partitioned. A beautiful venue, superb wedding team, excellent food and service make the Athlone Springs the hotel for your wedding day. The dedicated wedding coordinator will be by your side from start to finish making sure everything goes off without a hitch. No matter what your budget, requirements or aspirations, the Athlone Springs Hotel can fulfill your needs. Private suites are also available for religious blessings or civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athlone Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing