We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern & bright”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Athlone Springs Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
newry
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Modern & bright”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our check-in experience was superb, Tara was most efficient. The room was smaller than we expected for 2 adults and 2 children, a double + single beds with a camp bed squeezed in for the younger child.
Sunday lunch was excellent, different to normal Sunday experiences. A great and varied menu comprising of Eastern and European dishes. All our dining experiences were memorable and enjoyable.
The leisure complex is bright and cheerful. One feature we found very helpful was the close proximity of the steam room + sauna to the children's pool.
Staff are also helpful and friendly, always available to serve our every need.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patreflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Patreflex,

Thank you for your kind review and your comments regarding our staff.

Hope to see you all again soon.

Thanks
Again

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    289
    116
    79
    52
See reviews for
224
287
33
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here at the weekend as part of a groupon deal. The hotel was fantastic and a perfect wee break for my friend and myself. Nothing was done in short measures due to a deal and we were looked after so well. Wonderful staff and a very hands on manager. Very spacious rooms and the shower was amazing. We had a meal booked into our deal which was delicious. The whole deal was excellent value for money and I will be telling friends and family to visit this hotel. Good swimming pool and jacuzzi facilities. The steam room was not working when we were there but think this was just a minor fault. A shame the spa was not open on Monday as I would have liked to have availed of some of their treatments. Seems to be a good variety of kids things going on in the hotel for families although this wasn't the purpose of my visit. Thoroughly enjoyed my visit and found it a very relaxing experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanJan2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear JanJan,

Thank you so much for your review and your kind comments.
We hope to see you again in Athlone again soon.

Kind Regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had booked a long weekend family trip here for a wedding nearby.
Despite having booked several months in advance and been promised a double and a spacious triple we found that we had a double and twin with a third bed cramped in.

We were on different floors and we were strangely given an interconnecting room with another unknown famliy with several children,
We noted cheap family deals at short notice advertised on line so no doubt the hotel was trying to fill every space with no consideration to the long booked reservations.
The reception staff were very pleasant but the faults were not theirs !
We managed to change rooms to one over the conference centre . This was dirty -filthy bathroom floor and bad stains on bed cover. Our rooms were stuffy even in cool weather and our children had a room over the pool outlet which reeked appallingly of pool fumes .
The beds however were comfortable with good linen and bedding
Our bathroom fan did not work and the other room had no bin or lavatory brush-very basic fittings
The lunch time bar service was exceptionally slow despite being virtually empty ..
The pool was cold and gloomyl
The dining area was functional and charmless with a very poor limited cold range
.The cooked breakfast however was extremely good and a shame the rest did not match up!
.We checked out and transferred from this hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pharaway4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Pharaway4,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and allow me to apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. I am disappointed that I did not have the opportunity to deal with your issues first hand as I am sure we would have been able to solve any issues to your satisfaction.

Again thank you for your review.

Thanks

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here wit my 2 kids for two nights lovely hotel didn't eat in the hotel as theres a chip shop right next door so we had that 4 dinner one day and there is also a huge supermarket right next door( supervalue I think)so handy to grab milk or yogurts as you need them gud when you have small kids.they have a swimming pool in the hotel which is lovely kiddie pool to.the staff were friendly I don't think they have smoking rooms or else they were all been used I had to go all the way downstairs and outside to smoke I usually book a smoking room and smoke out the window but these rooms were alarmed so no chance of that ha overall very nice hotel in a gud spot

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear DFA2013,

Thank you for your very kind review and your comments regarding our child friendly facilities. We hope to be having you visit again soon.

Thanks again

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were nice, quite spacious. Food was delicious.
We found the overall view of the hotel adequate, a bit above 3 star but definitely not 4 star quality. Got the offer on Groupon so was worth the money we paid. Not much to do in the area. Perfect for a quiet night away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Kara,

Thank you for your review of our property and particularly you comments regarding you experience regarding the food here.

Thanks Again and hope to see you both soon again.

Kind regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Just returned from a 4night break with my husband and 3 children. Our second time visiting this hotel, and once again it was a very enjoyable stay. Lovely pool, which we used every day, while there also visited Glendeer farm & took the Viking boat cruise, both trips we got discounted prices courtesy of hotel. Plenty to do close to the hotel, also handy supermarket & bakery beside hotel. Very reasonable package price, great food for both breakfast and evening meals, management and staff very friendly, only downside was heat in room due to extreme warm weather and lack of air conditioning but a fan sorted that out!! We will look forward to returning again soon...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annabel086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Annabel,

Thank you for your very kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed at the Athlone Springs with wife and two friends on Saturday 20th of July.

On arriving at the hotel it quickly became apparent they had a wedding on that day as I doubted the red carpet was for us.

When we checked in we went up to our room which was sweltering as it was 30 degrees outside and the rooms are not air conditioned so went for a quick shower to cool down to find water came out at a trickle as apparently the local council had reduced water pressure for the whole area due to hot weather.

We went down to the bar for a drink to wait on our friends and it was full of wedding guests awaiting the arrival of the 'happy couple,' and although they were very nice it just felt like we were invading on someones event. We left and went into Athlone town centre for a meal and a few drinks (which I would recommend to anyone) and came back at about 1.45am.

This was when things went quickly downhill. We asked if we could get a drink in the bar and were told it was closed but we could get one from the rear bar....... where the wedding was. I reluctantly got 4 drinks and quickly returned to the front area which was like Beiruit, there were glasses and debris on every table whilst two members of staff stood chatting in the locked bar area. We decided to call it a night and headed upstairs about 2.15am.

Our room was at the front of the hotel and was really noisy outside with guests coming out for cigarettes and to chat which i didn't mind at first as thought it would wind up soon.

WRONG.

A bus that sounded like a tractor pulled up under our window at 3am and sat there with its engine running for 45 minutes to collect guests, when it left at almost 4 am I thought at last we might get some sleep.

WRONG AGAIN.

We were then treated to a group from the wedding sitting outside singing songs from chart hits to rebel songs, with a little beat boxing thrown in for good measure.

I phoned down to reception to ask if someone could go and speak to them and ask them to pipe down or go to bed and was assured this would be done immediately. At quarter to 5, I phoned down again and asked why no one had spoken to them and was told they had done, which was a complete lie as I could hear every word that was being said like they were in the room with me. I told them if it was not sorted out now I would phone the Gardai.

At 5 minutes to 5 they eventually left and all was quiet.

I went down at 8.45am after just over 3 hours sleep to speak with the manager Michael, who was a pleasant guy who looked a bit done in himself after a long day sorting the wedding and he said to leave it with him.

After breakfast which was good, I went to check out and was told I had nothing to pay as Michael had sorted it, so fair play to him for recognising our stay was pretty bad.

I wouldn't say the Athlone Springs was a four star hotel as it resembles many of the travel lodges I have stayed in, in the past, and it was probably just unfortunate timing when we stayed there but piece of advice....

If you are considering staying here, PHONE FIRST and check they have no weddings booked that day.

Room Tip: check BEFORE booking if they have wedding or function on that night as very very noisy till 5am. !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuldHoosePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Auldhouseperth,

Your comments whereas they are appreciated are unfair and your complaint was more that fairly dealt with on the morning of your departure.

Your insistence on trying to make your stay in the hotel seem in the realm of farce for the reader grossly over exaggerates any issues you may have had with the hotel.

Thanks again for what was an unnecessary put down of our hotel.

Kind Regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
2.1 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
5.3 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athlone Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athlone Springs Hotel

Property: Athlone Springs Hotel
Address: Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlone Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep, relax and refresh yourself at the Athlone Springs Hotel. Modern and elegant with 68 spacious bedrooms, this 4 star hotel is among the best in Athlone. The bedrooms are luxuriously furnished in warm tones. All bedrooms have the option of a bath with overhead shower with additional extras such as work desk, TV and free Wi-Fi. If you are feeling extra tired, the lazy checkout is an option, subject to availability of course. Push the boat out with breakfast in bed and room service. Guests can also avail of the state of the art Zen fitness and leisure centre and free parking. A family friendly hotel, the Athlone Springs Hotel offers excellent facilities for families including kid's camps and children's pool at the leisure centre. Family rooms are available, some with interconnecting rooms. Additional camp beds and cots are available on request. For the ultimate experience in luxury accommodation, the Manhattan suite comes with two widescreen LCD TVs, a separate sitting room, "his and hers" bathroom, jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower, bathrobe and slippers. Fresh flowers and champagne can be organized ahead of your arrival to surprise that special someone. Zen fitness and leisure centre has a 20m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room as well as all the equipment you would expect in a modern gym. Zen Beauty will have you pampered and preened for a night out or melt away your troubles with a message. Dining in the Athlone Springs Hotel is a relaxed affair with superb food from both the Cedar Bar and Cedar Restaurant. Offering excellent service from friendly local staff and a locally sourced menu, the award winning chefs like to follow nature's lead producing food that is in-keeping with the season. The Athlone Springs Hotel is a choice destination for events and conferences. The conference meeting rooms are climate-controlled and include a choice of two boardrooms, five syndicate rooms, executive business centre, integrated audio visual and multimedia equipment as well as ample parking. The Clonellan suite can hold up to 500 people and can be partitioned. A beautiful venue, superb wedding team, excellent food and service make the Athlone Springs the hotel for your wedding day. The dedicated wedding coordinator will be by your side from start to finish making sure everything goes off without a hitch. No matter what your budget, requirements or aspirations, the Athlone Springs Hotel can fulfill your needs. Private suites are also available for religious blessings or civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athlone Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing