We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Athlone Springs Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value weekend break”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed in the athlone springs on saturday night with a friend. We got an excellent deal with a voucher for B+B and evening meal. The hotel is situated on the tuam road out of athlone. The hotel is overlooking a car dealership and a housing estate so not exactly picturessque. The hotel is about 5 minutes drive from the town centre for shopping etc. There is plenty of free parking at the hotel.
We had facials in the spa. The staff there were excelent- friendly and pleasent and the whole experience was very relaxing. I could not fault it.
We had lunch in the bar and three course dinner with wine in the restuarant that night (part of our deal). On both occasions the quality of the food and the options available were excellent. There were some issued with service however- we were waiting half an hour for soup and bread at lunch time and at dinner we were not informed of the need to order side orders seperately- we could not get the attention of any waiting staff to recifiy it for quiet some time (the restualrant was very busy) and when our side (chips) eventually arrived we had finshed our main.
The rooms are clean bright and spacious. The bathrooms are clean and the shower was Huge!
Breakfast was served from 7;30 to 10;30 and was a buffet of hot and cold foods. Good selection and again quality was good.
We went for a swim in the leisure centre- swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, My only complaint is that the pool was cold. The facilitites are good and the pool bigger than i would expect in a hotel.
Overall our experience was good. Some minor issues with service at meal times but overall I enjoyed my stay and would visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Catlin B,

Thank You for your kind comments regarding you stay and for the positive feed back on where we need to do some training. Without feedback we can not improve.

Once again Thank You

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    295
    121
    79
    52
See reviews for
228
292
33
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

i stayed one night at this hotel , on arrival the reception staff were very pleasant . our room was large clean comfortable with decent size bathroom. the hotel was quite busy with lots of kids which caused a problem with noise into the night but when i phoned reception a very pleasant young man said he would deal with it straight away which he did .
our evening meal was very nice with good choice i just felt some of the staff could have benefited from being taught how to serve wine and indeed serve food , but it didn't upset our evening .next morning breakfast was quite basic and hot food was v v slow to be replaced. there was a great team of cleaners polishing glass at reception ,glass on side stairs outside windows inside windows if i had have stood still for few moments i would have got a good polish myself. did not use the leisure center due to time constraints .
location of hotel is not near center of athlone an really out on its own. but we did have a pleasant night away .

Room Tip: view of front of hotel a little better that at back of hotel . book table for dinner when you book r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Louise D,

Thank you so much for your review of our property here in Athlone. I am delighted that we met with all your expectations when choosing a business hotel and for the record we have recently had our WI-FI upgraded to a much faster speed.

Again Thank you for your review !

Kind Regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Ideal hotel for meetings conferences etc. Hotel is comfortable, food good and has a leisure centre and spa which unfortunately I didn't get a chance to experience this time. Plenty of parking available. Wifi is available but the speed is slow.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Louise D,

Thank you so much for your review of our property here in Athlone. I am delighted that we met with all your expectations when choosing a business hotel and for the record we have recently had our WI-FI upgraded to a much faster speed.

Again Thank you for your review !

Kind Regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Myself and my daughter stayed on the Friday Fever package. Dinner: Chicken Cesar Salad was served with no chicken, Chowder and Brown Bread NO bread was served. A jug of water was served and after drinking two glasses my daughter noticed lots of large gray flakes floating in both our waters. My dessert spoon was covered in a sticky substance. It was embarrassing having to complain so much.

Spa: we both had our nails done, the treatment was advertised as an hour- my appointment was for 11 am. I was called in at 11.20 and out at 11.55am. After been quoted and paying for the two nail treatments, an hour and a half later I was approached by the therapist and told I owed another €10. I went to reception to speak with the hotel manager. The staff in the reception did their best not to get the manager for me and the male receptionist argued with me telling me I was in the wrong that the Friday deal only included one €10 spa voucher per room and not per person. When they finally got the manager she got a printout of the deal and agreed I was right.

No glass in bathroom.

Breakfast was good.

I have no idea how this hotel could have a 4 star rating. What was supposed to be a relaxing night away for myself and my daughter was stressful.

Room Tip: Room 205 view was of delivery yard of supermarket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siobhan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Siobhan B ,

Naturally I am very dissapointed to see your comments regarding your stay with us here at athlone springs more for the fact that much of your complaint it would seem was due to us badly advising you as to your package entitlements and how we dealt with your difficultys when you raised them.

On the whole our comments regarding food, service and indeed our staff here are very positive and i am dissapointed to see that we were not up to our usual standard for you both during your stay.

Please accept my appologies for us not living up to our normal high standards.

Kind Regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently stayed for two days and I must say it was very relaxing. The pool and sauna really made me feel like a new man after the long drive and the rooms were great. We had a bite to eat in the bar and I ordered the seafood pasta with tomato sauce and I pleasently surprised at the quantity of mussels in the dish. The only complaint would be the pints if Guinness were pretty poor and one of my friends couldn't finish his.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Sheroeire,

Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel twice in the last month both for very different reasons but on both occasions, we received value for money, a warm welcome, friendly customer service & an excellent overall stay!! Firstly I stayed there within a group, it was my sister s hen. I arranged the whole thing from Australia, no easy task but it proved hassle free as I had the helpfulness & ongoing input via emails from the hotel s reservations manager Karyn Berrigan. 15 girls enjoyed a fun filled weekend fully catered for by the hotel without any hiccups!! We received such friendly service & value for money that I then took my mother back there for a weekend of pure pampering, again hassle free, only this time we experienced the luxury there spa facilities had to offer & enjoyed the hotels entertainment that night!! Overall I can't recommend this hotel enough & there friendly, welcoming staff only entice one back again & again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kilfree29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Kilfree,

Delighted you enjoyed both stays with us. I think I may have spoken with you and your mum during your stay.

Thanks again for your Great Review.

Kind Regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just attended a wedding at this hotel could not find a fault on any aspect great food, service and staff were very professional attentive and very friendly. Rooms were spacious with good beds and great bathroom facilities. Leisure facilities an added bonus. Would certainly recommend to anyone looking for wedding venue in the midlands.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Rose 1555,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay and the wedding you attended here in athlone.

It is true to say that our wedding business is one of many areas of the hotel where we have been experiencing big growth due to the consistancy of our product, our new favours now included in our wedding packages and our over all attention to detail with Nicola our dedicated wedding Planner with you every step of the way.

Kind Regards again.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,888 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.4 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
2.1 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.0 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athlone Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athlone Springs Hotel

Property: Athlone Springs Hotel
Address: Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlone Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep, relax and refresh yourself at the Athlone Springs Hotel. Modern and elegant with 68 spacious bedrooms, this 4 star hotel is among the best in Athlone. The bedrooms are luxuriously furnished in warm tones. All bedrooms have the option of a bath with overhead shower with additional extras such as work desk, TV and free Wi-Fi. If you are feeling extra tired, the lazy checkout is an option, subject to availability of course. Push the boat out with breakfast in bed and room service. Guests can also avail of the state of the art Zen fitness and leisure centre and free parking. A family friendly hotel, the Athlone Springs Hotel offers excellent facilities for families including kid's camps and children's pool at the leisure centre. Family rooms are available, some with interconnecting rooms. Additional camp beds and cots are available on request. For the ultimate experience in luxury accommodation, the Manhattan suite comes with two widescreen LCD TVs, a separate sitting room, "his and hers" bathroom, jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower, bathrobe and slippers. Fresh flowers and champagne can be organized ahead of your arrival to surprise that special someone. Zen fitness and leisure centre has a 20m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room as well as all the equipment you would expect in a modern gym. Zen Beauty will have you pampered and preened for a night out or melt away your troubles with a message. Dining in the Athlone Springs Hotel is a relaxed affair with superb food from both the Cedar Bar and Cedar Restaurant. Offering excellent service from friendly local staff and a locally sourced menu, the award winning chefs like to follow nature's lead producing food that is in-keeping with the season. The Athlone Springs Hotel is a choice destination for events and conferences. The conference meeting rooms are climate-controlled and include a choice of two boardrooms, five syndicate rooms, executive business centre, integrated audio visual and multimedia equipment as well as ample parking. The Clonellan suite can hold up to 500 people and can be partitioned. A beautiful venue, superb wedding team, excellent food and service make the Athlone Springs the hotel for your wedding day. The dedicated wedding coordinator will be by your side from start to finish making sure everything goes off without a hitch. No matter what your budget, requirements or aspirations, the Athlone Springs Hotel can fulfill your needs. Private suites are also available for religious blessings or civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Athlone Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing