We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get your story straight!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Athlone Springs Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Get your story straight!!”
Reviewed March 2, 2008

I originally booked this hotel for a different date and had to cancel . After 2 e-mails went unanswered I had to ring the hotel to find out if room was cancelled - it was, but no apology as to why e- mails went unanswered. I should have realised then that customer service was not too high on the agenda. However, we re-scheduled our dates as we really wanted a triple room for our weekend break.

Upon arrival we were informed that a triple room was no longer available but they would give us 2 x twin rooms AT NO EXTRA CHARGE TO US!! Wow, thanks for not charging us for something we didn't want!! When pressed for a reason we were told another member of staff was at fault - she wasn't on the premises. We then asked for a triple room for the next night only to be told they were also booked out the next night. The duty manager said she would arrange a bottle of wine for us (all 3). I don't complain to get a freebie, I just like to get what I booked. No-one could explain why they hadn't contacted us to let us know of change of rooms.

On the Saturday we spoke to the person who made the mistake, who initially tried to blame someone else and then gave us some long winded story . It then emerged that there was a free triple room that night and she asked had we not been offered it!! We then transferred to this room. However, if hotel staff are going to lie to guests they should really get their stories straight first. It is very bad customer service and that is what was most annoying.

On the plus side, the hotel is finished to a very high standard with lovely bedrooms and bathrooms which were spotless clean. The food was lovely at both dinner and breakfast. The restaurant staff were very nice and Katherine in the bar area was very efficient. They could do with bigger seating area in foyer as we had to sit at high stools one of the nights and these are not very comfortable.

All in all a lovely hotel that is let down by customer service and no amount of nice rooms or food make up for this. A big disappointment.

  • Liked — Cleanliness,
  • Disliked — Customer Service
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlonesprings, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2008
Dear Trip Advisor. Thank you for your review. I am disappointed your stay at The Athlone Springs Hotel was not as enjoyable as it should have been. I have taken your comments very seriously and will personally investigate each issue raised.
Chris Pollier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    289
    116
    79
    52
See reviews for
224
287
33
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2008

I stayed at the hotel for two nights whilst on a business trip. The appearance and decor was to the highest standard, given that this is a new hotel you would not expect anything else. The staff were extremely polite and courteous.
For a relaxing,quite and totally unflustered business trip this is the place to stay, it is very quiet, nobody shouts out loud in the bar,the dining room is very peaceful and uncluttered.
No doubt this will change in the not to distant future when the surrounding areas is developed and more locals frequent the establishment.
Will i stay there again......... of course i will , it is so relaxing it could be classified as a health spa with Guiness!.

  • Liked — It was very quiet and relaxing after a busy working day
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger-Power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlonesprings, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2008
Dear Trip Advisor. Thank you for your great review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass this review onto all the team here, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future, Kind Regards,Chris Pollier General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2008

We are just back from a 3 day break in the Athlone Springs Hotel. After we booked our stay we read the reviews. To be honest I was considering to cancel our booking after reading the reviews. We went ahead with our booking and I must say the hotel has improved 100%. The staff were so helpful from start to finish. We couldn't fault any of them. The room was really nice and cosy. They even had shortbread biscuts and ballygown water for us. I have been to many hotels and this was the first to have hair conditioner given with the shampoo. The leisure centre was fantastic the pool was really big and lovely and WARM. It also had a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room which I didn't use. We had dinner in the restraunt one night because it was included in our package. Due to an unpredicted problem (a powercut and one of the chefs went home sick) our meal was delayed but the staff quickly after realising there was going to be a delay went around to all the tables and offered drinks on the house. The mangeress went around personally (Irish Lady). Although there was a delay with our food it was lovely. The only negative thing i can say with regards to our meal was that the vegtables were served as an extra. All in all we enjoyed our stay emmensly and would reccommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank corkvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlonesprings, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2008
Dear Trip Advisor. Thank you for your great review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass this onto all the team here.
Kind Regards,Chris Pollier General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

Booked a two night package which included dinner.
The hotel website is very nice which led to me booking this.
The rooms were very nice and very clean, shower was great - no complaints about theroom at all. Had dinner in the bar the first night and the food was very nice. The restaurant on the second night was OK. The only complaint I would have about it was the veg that was served with the dinner - I wouldn't even call it veg. Other than that the meal was lovely. The hotels facilities were very good, lovely quiet pool, jacuzzi, sauna & steam room helped with the relaxing weekend.
This is outside Athlone but its not far and there are taxi's.
All staff were friendly and helpful at all times.

  • Liked — Faclities
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicolae2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlonesprings, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2008
Dear Guest. Thank you for your review. I will pass this onto the team here at The Athlone Springs Hotel. I would be delighted to discuss your comments further on the email address info@athlonespringshotel.com
Kind Regards Chris Pollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
2.1 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
5.3 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athlone Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athlone Springs Hotel

Property: Athlone Springs Hotel
Address: Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlone Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep, relax and refresh yourself at the Athlone Springs Hotel. Modern and elegant with 68 spacious bedrooms, this 4 star hotel is among the best in Athlone. The bedrooms are luxuriously furnished in warm tones. All bedrooms have the option of a bath with overhead shower with additional extras such as work desk, TV and free Wi-Fi. If you are feeling extra tired, the lazy checkout is an option, subject to availability of course. Push the boat out with breakfast in bed and room service. Guests can also avail of the state of the art Zen fitness and leisure centre and free parking. A family friendly hotel, the Athlone Springs Hotel offers excellent facilities for families including kid's camps and children's pool at the leisure centre. Family rooms are available, some with interconnecting rooms. Additional camp beds and cots are available on request. For the ultimate experience in luxury accommodation, the Manhattan suite comes with two widescreen LCD TVs, a separate sitting room, "his and hers" bathroom, jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower, bathrobe and slippers. Fresh flowers and champagne can be organized ahead of your arrival to surprise that special someone. Zen fitness and leisure centre has a 20m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room as well as all the equipment you would expect in a modern gym. Zen Beauty will have you pampered and preened for a night out or melt away your troubles with a message. Dining in the Athlone Springs Hotel is a relaxed affair with superb food from both the Cedar Bar and Cedar Restaurant. Offering excellent service from friendly local staff and a locally sourced menu, the award winning chefs like to follow nature's lead producing food that is in-keeping with the season. The Athlone Springs Hotel is a choice destination for events and conferences. The conference meeting rooms are climate-controlled and include a choice of two boardrooms, five syndicate rooms, executive business centre, integrated audio visual and multimedia equipment as well as ample parking. The Clonellan suite can hold up to 500 people and can be partitioned. A beautiful venue, superb wedding team, excellent food and service make the Athlone Springs the hotel for your wedding day. The dedicated wedding coordinator will be by your side from start to finish making sure everything goes off without a hitch. No matter what your budget, requirements or aspirations, the Athlone Springs Hotel can fulfill your needs. Private suites are also available for religious blessings or civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athlone Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing