We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Athlone Springs Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for one night with a group.Really great rooms and overall we all enjoyed our stay.Food was great in the restaurant and by all accounts the breakfast was great as well (even though I dozed off and missed it )

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank douggym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora O, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments- in future if you miss breakfast be sure to ask any of the team and we'll make sure you get something to eat- snoring at the table though isn't allowed !!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Nora O'Shea
General Manager
noshea@Athlonespringshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    294
    121
    79
    52
See reviews for
227
292
33
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
galway
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Hi , A friend recommended us going to the athlone springs hotel to try out their wonderful restaurant. The hotel is situated just off the athlone bypass monksland area the west side of athlone. So as recently as last night october 8th 2011, We took the opportunity to try out the restauant. And we were pleasantly surprised. A 3course meal is priced at 22euro. Which in these recessionary times is great value. The portions are very large and well you will be well full after your meal . I ordered the Beef, My friend got the Chicken. The presentation was fantastic. Also the staff were Great over to us every few minutes maaking sure we have enough and were happy. I highly recommend giving this hotel a try if your in the area or just passing through. There also was a man playin piano in the corner which added to the delightful atmosphere. The hotel has offers for halloween 295euro all inclusive and girly spa treats from 99euro.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happygalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora O, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, they are much appreciated. One hotels loss is our gain. Hopefully we'll have an opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nora O'Shea
General Manager
noshea@athlonespringshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I stayed here last weekend with my partner last weekend. We had booked another hotel in Athlone but they couldn’t take us so we said we would try this hotel and I have to say, I’m so happy we did, it was excellent from start to finish. The hotel is modern, bright and airy and so are the staff.

We checked in on Friday evening and the guy who checked us in was so lovely and genuine, really helpful. He offered us an upgrade to a fab room on their top floor for an extra €10.00 so we took it and our room was excellent.

We dined in the bar on Friday night. The bar is a wee bit small but the food was so yummy and delicious. The staff were really nice and helpful to us both. The food was hot and tasty and really well presented. Breakfast on both mornings was really well presented and hot.

The spa was so so fab, treatments was so amazing, we had a couples treatment and it was so good. The leisure centre was really big and the pool lovely. On the Saturday we dined in Athlone itself and had a lovely meal.

The only downside of the hotel is its location. It is not central to Athlone and you have to get a taxi or drive in and out of town and the hotel is in a retail park but don’t let that put you off. Inside, the hotel is fab and the staff great. Everyday we were there, there was a real management presence on the floor which was so nice to see and the general manager of the hotel was so helpful and lovely!

We will be back soon and i would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Any room on the top floor seems to be very good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Myself & my sisters booked a package deal which included spa treatments, soooo good! You have to go to the spa when you are there. Really nice staff, Kerrie in particular was really attentive and friendly. Afterwards we had lunch in the hotel bar, again top notch service. Cant recommend enough! A real little gem.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora O, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, I will be sure to pass them onto Kerrie. She is one of our hidden treasures.
I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit so much and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nora O'Shea
General Manager
noshea@athlonespringshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilcock, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We have stayed here on 3 occasions...first as a family ...the second time just myself for a hen party and again just at the weekend for a nice quiet night away for ourselves as a couple. Each time we have stayed here we have had excellant sevice, facilities second to none and food....lets just say Yum...not to mention the excellant value! On this last occasion we had to leave suddenly after only 3 hrs we got a call from our babysitter to say our daughter was very sick. We briefly explained to the very friendly receptionist(blond hair..sorry I forgot to take your name)...she didnt hessitate in saying she wouldnt be charging us for the room. This summed up the service in this hotel for us. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: On the last occassion we had a room over the reception area and it probably would be a bit noisy wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snake2bar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora O, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thank you so much for your positive comments.It's always a please to welcom guests back to the hotel. I hope your daughter is back to full health and that you will get an opportunity in the near future to come and visit us again.

Kind Regards

Nora O'Shea
General Manager
noshea@athlonespringshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My first stay at this hotel, a business trip lasting two days. First impression - WOW ! How come iv never heard if this place?! Bit tricky to find as little sign posting...breakfast delicious, set lunch/ dinner could not fault. Staff friendly..my one complaint is the location..a bit far from athlone town plus rooms VERY warm at night..to warm to get a solid sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandHopper122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The room was lovely. Nice and modern with nice decor and very comfortable. Spotless room. Nice quiet location and I had a good nights sleep.
The staff are friendly and helpful. The food was good and there was a great selection at breakfast.
Very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: No tips, all rooms are quiet here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeavenHell_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora O, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Thank you so much for you lovely comments, I have passed them onto the team and I'm sure they will be as pleased as I am.
We strive to ensure that we provide good value for money while maintaining our standards. I'm delighted to read that you enoyed your stay and we look forward to wecoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Nora O'Shea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,885 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.4 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
2.1 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.0 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athlone Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athlone Springs Hotel

Property: Athlone Springs Hotel
Address: Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlone Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep, relax and refresh yourself at the Athlone Springs Hotel. Modern and elegant with 68 spacious bedrooms, this 4 star hotel is among the best in Athlone. The bedrooms are luxuriously furnished in warm tones. All bedrooms have the option of a bath with overhead shower with additional extras such as work desk, TV and free Wi-Fi. If you are feeling extra tired, the lazy checkout is an option, subject to availability of course. Push the boat out with breakfast in bed and room service. Guests can also avail of the state of the art Zen fitness and leisure centre and free parking. A family friendly hotel, the Athlone Springs Hotel offers excellent facilities for families including kid's camps and children's pool at the leisure centre. Family rooms are available, some with interconnecting rooms. Additional camp beds and cots are available on request. For the ultimate experience in luxury accommodation, the Manhattan suite comes with two widescreen LCD TVs, a separate sitting room, "his and hers" bathroom, jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower, bathrobe and slippers. Fresh flowers and champagne can be organized ahead of your arrival to surprise that special someone. Zen fitness and leisure centre has a 20m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room as well as all the equipment you would expect in a modern gym. Zen Beauty will have you pampered and preened for a night out or melt away your troubles with a message. Dining in the Athlone Springs Hotel is a relaxed affair with superb food from both the Cedar Bar and Cedar Restaurant. Offering excellent service from friendly local staff and a locally sourced menu, the award winning chefs like to follow nature's lead producing food that is in-keeping with the season. The Athlone Springs Hotel is a choice destination for events and conferences. The conference meeting rooms are climate-controlled and include a choice of two boardrooms, five syndicate rooms, executive business centre, integrated audio visual and multimedia equipment as well as ample parking. The Clonellan suite can hold up to 500 people and can be partitioned. A beautiful venue, superb wedding team, excellent food and service make the Athlone Springs the hotel for your wedding day. The dedicated wedding coordinator will be by your side from start to finish making sure everything goes off without a hitch. No matter what your budget, requirements or aspirations, the Athlone Springs Hotel can fulfill your needs. Private suites are also available for religious blessings or civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athlone Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing