We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”
Review of Benown House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Benown House B&B
Ranked #13 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 19, 2009

My husband and I had a one night stay with a friend at this lovely B&B. We arrived early but were shown to our comfortable clean rooms with a smile. The breakfast was superb and we couldn't fault the service. We ate in both of the local pubs which were both walking distance and thoroughly enjoyed both meals. We would definately return to the Benown.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanleyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2008

My girl friend and I had the pleasure of staying here in June this year. We were attending a wedding in the nearby Wineport Lodge hotel. We received a very warm welcome for the hostess, who accommodated us with an early check in so we could change and prepare for the wedding. The room was spotless and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing, fresh fruit, cheese and crackers, Rhubarb and of course a cooked menu selection.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TucBrendan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2008

A lovely place to stay, spotlessly clean. Breakfast was perfect, lots of choice. Quiet location. Room was freshly decorated. Hostess could not have being more helpful.It is about a 3 minutes walk from the village which has 2 bars and a restaurant. We ate in the restaurant and it was the best we had in Ireland. Both bars also do food and when we visited one after our meal there was a great atmosphere in the place. We really enjoyed our visit to Glasson.. Plenty of off street parking. Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AliceandBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2007

It was the worst during our trip in Ireland:

the welcome was very cold (these are your keys, goodbye) and the bathroom was really old and not so clean.

The only thing that saved the day was the good breakfast.

I'm not going to suggest this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank glucac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

When travelling across Ireland - have a stopover in Glasson! This B&B is highly recommended. Spacious, clean rooms with comfortable beds and bathrooms with good water pressure in the shower.

The breakfast room is spacious and nice, and you don't have to share table with other guests, as you often have to inother B&Bs.

The village is small and cosy, and have at least three restaurants and two pubs. We had dinner at The Village Inn, and that dinner itself was well worth the stopover in Glasson. Absolutely excellent! After dinner we went to Grogan's Bar, and enjoyed live music until closing time.

You will find all the information you need about the village in a folder in your room, a service many more of the B&B hosts shold provide!

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
2  Thank BravoNovember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athlone
1.2 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,101 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
4.6 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
4.6 mi away
Arch House B&B & Apartments
6.0 mi away
Lough Rea Bed & Breakfast
Lough Rea Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Ballymahon
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benown House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benown House B&B

Address: | Glasson, Athlone N37 V566, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range: $149 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Benown House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing