We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very well-run B&B”
Review of Shelmalier House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shelmalier House
Ranked #5 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 5, 2013

First impressions are excellent thanks to the very colorful and immaculate garden. Next we saw a great stock of logs which the eco-friendly hosts use in their wood-burning central heating. The rooms are well designed and comfortable. Breakfast includes a very nice bread basket with several varieties.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 67 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

After a long trip to Ireland, and then sightseeing during the day, by the time we got to Shelmalier house we were exhausted and ready for a good nights sleep. We found the B&B clean, quiet, and comfortable, far exceeding our expectations. The proprietors were very accommodating to our needs and were very understanding of our acute jet lag. We could not have asked for Jim and Nancy to have been any nicer. After a great nights sleep we awoke to a wonderful breakfast prepared by nancy, with a selection of fresh fruit, cereal, pastries,bacon, sausage and eggs cooked to order. This was an exceptional way to finish our stay, would highly recommend Shelmalier house to anyone traveling to Athlone!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I recently stayed with Mr and Mrs Denby at their beautiful home which is more like a 5 star hotel than a B&B, but with tremendous warmth and kind hospitality. I arrived with my niece and nephew who are both in their 20's and, they were equally impressed. Mr Denby very kindly offered to take us to the restaurant we were going to and explained the log fire heating system that they have installed in the house as part of their effort to ensure that their house is Ecofriendly. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms were large and cosy. The reception rooms were beautifully furnished too and overlook the pretty garden. Breakfast the next day was probably better than any I have had elsewhere. Congratulations to the owners for striving to provide such excellence. They have hit the mark in every way.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Jim and nancy denby run a perfect b&b ..a beautiful house , very comfortable bed and good pillows... Very important if you want a good nights sleep. Breakfast was a 5star event.well cooked of great quaility. Its these small things that make a good stay great.. Jims rcomendation of the tyme restaurant in athlone was a gem. See separate review .you will need to book in advance most nights as the chief/ owner closes if hes not there...a lot of restuarants should do the same!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Richardrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband, my 3 kids and myself stayed in this b&b 2 nights and it was better than a hotel. Jim & Nancy made us feel very welcome, the breakfast was huge and their house and garden are beautiful. We would go back for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amigosforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

If you need an excuse to travel to Athlone, I think a stay at Shelmalier House makes a very good one. Easy to reach (exit 9 on M6 to Galway/Dublin), excellently run, comfortably set aside from the bustling city life. Mr. and Mrs Denby are excellent hosts, always generous with their beakfasts and their precious advise. The Shelmalier has spacious and spotless clean en-suite rooms, a gorgeous front garden and a cosy back door area where kids are allowed to play and the best organic yogurt I have had in my life (not to mention the home made jams and the local cheese ...). If you are travelling with your children, you might want to visit Glendeer Pet Farm (Curryroe, Drum, Athlone, exit 13 on M9 - http://www.glendeerpetfarm.ie/contact-us): your kids will adore it!. Thank you again Mr. and Mrs. Denby for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FscaBet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have stayed in many B+B accommodations both in Athlone and further afield and we can honestly say that this one is worth driving the extra 50 miles. The bedroom was as large as a Hotel room, the breakfast was superletive- Muelsli, fresh fruits, local cheeses, choice of ingredients for a fry, Speciality breads etc..
When we wanted to pay we were given several options including Laser Card, Maestro Card, or Visa. The bed was comfortable. What more could you ask for?
Our hosts were courteous, helpful and informative including providing us with a shortcut route from Cartontroy to Ballyglass.
We have already booked to return in two weeks time.

Room Tip: There is an electrical pylon near the front of the house which makes a buzzing noise. this was the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeeburgDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.8 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
4.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,238 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shannonside House B&B
Shannonside House B&B
#1 of 20 in Athlone
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arch House B&B & Apartments
5.2 mi away
Alverna House B&B
Alverna House B&B
#2 of 20 in Athlone
81 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverview House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelmalier House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelmalier House

Address: Retreat Road | Cartontroy, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range: $102 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelmalier House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shelmalier House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing