We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Class Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
“Top Class Wedding Venue”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We held our wedding reception in Glasson a couple of months ago. From day one we found the team a pleasure to deal with. Nothing was a problem for them; and their familiar but professional style was just the right mix. We are still getting compliments from our wedding guests on the quality of the food and service, and on what a beautiful setting this venue is,
Well done to Gareth, Niall, Fidelma, Robin and all at Glasson.
Edel & Barry

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    104
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
137
212
6
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I had lunch at the bar today and was served by a young girl, i believed her name was kathleen. I was so impressed at how friendly and helpful she was, her service was fast and on point! Lovely barmaid and will come back again just because she made my visit very pleasant, well worth the tip i gave her!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erinl1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Fabulous location especially in good weather, with amazing views over the golf course and the lake. Rooms excellent, very spacious and clean. The staff are very, very friendly and helpful on all matters. And the food was just excellent

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuseen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Il
Level Contributor
140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We spent three nights here and every aspect was excellent. In two weeks of travel they had the most friendly and helpful of any place we stayed. We were in room 307 which had a great view of the golf course and lake. The room was spacious and well furnished. The golf course was nice, although the rental clubs were not so hot. A little out of the way, so it was helpful to have a rental car. The food was great. We at at the hotel two of the three nights because it was that good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. Fabulous location especially in good weather, with amazing views over the golf course and the loch. Rooms excellent, very spacious and clean. The big let down was breakfast and it was very disappointing to say the least- we did feed this back to the receptionist on our departure. The food was tepid and wasn't replenished, we were served by young staff who clearly required some further training- one with very chipped nail polish- not too good for food hygiene standards. We asked for tea for 2 people and were given a teapot for one which barely filled 1 1/3 cups. We did ask for a larger teapot but received the same size pot on our refill so I gave up after that - there were larger teapots waiting to go back to the kitchen along with used breakfast crockery on a small trolley affair which I don't expect to see in a 4 star resort. The young waitresses were more interested in chatting in a less obvious part of the room than serving the few guests that were in attendance for breakfast.
I would go back as this is a really nice place and hopefully the breakfast issue will be resolved

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank tomboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Was staying for a wedding and have to say from start to finish the service was incredible. Everything we asked for help with they were more than prepared to go the extra mile to help with. One of our party was unwell during our stay and they arranged everything from a taxi to the hospital and ordering us pizza when we returned late and the kitchen was closed. At the airport I realised I had lost my European health card only to have them call and say they had found it and were posting it to me.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gnatadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Gnatadams,
Thank you so much for sharing your Glasson Experience with us and it is really wonderful to see from your review how the Glasson Team really do take care of our guests. We are so proud of all our staff who are always willing to go that extra mile to ensure that all our guests are taken care of in every way. I have passed your feedback on to everyone and have thanked them all for the hard work they do every day.

We trust everyone has recovered from their illness and that you all arrived home safe and sound. We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasson soon again and thank you again for sharing your Glasson Experience.

Kind Regards
Fidelma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on 27th 28th 29th May . This is probably the best 4 star hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms are clean spacious and very well appointed It is a family run hotel where the staff are very friendly and helpful The food is of a high standard and service is prompt and efficient.The golf course is of a good standard and the back nine overlooking The Shannon is quite spectacular The hotel exudes comfort quality and peacefulness and is a perfect place. to unwind put your feet up and enjoy

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Shannon view in the new section of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinsmith70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear ColinSmith70,
Thank you so much for sharing your Glasson Experience with us and I am delighted that you enjoyed your three days with us. To hear that we are the best 4 star you have stayed in, is high praise indeed and is really nice to hear. From the very beginning we have tried to ensure that Glasson is a lakeside escape where all guests can relax and unwind and it is wonderful to hear that we have achieved this.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,784 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,001 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
4.0 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
5.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Athlone
#1 Business Hotel in Athlone
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasson Country House Hotel and Golf Club is a 4 star lakeside golf hotel located close to Athlone in County Westmeath. All of our guests experience the warmth of the Glasson welcome, super spacious Bedrooms & public areas to relax and unwind in, superb food in our New Killinure Restaurant and Lakeside Bar with panoramic Lakeside Views. For our Guests it is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or your big wedding day. With the addition of a spectacular New Bar, Restaurant & Banqueting suite in May 2010 taking full advantage of the amazing Lake Views you can relax and unwind in comfort. Our Four Star Hotel & Championship Golf Course have been designed with the discerning hotel guest in mind. Situated just outside the quaint village of Glasson (Goldsmiths 'village of the roses') in Midlands Ireland and nestled on the tranquil shores of Lough Ree, this family-run Country House Hotel is the ideal get-away for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasson Country House Hotel And Golf Club
Glasson Hotel Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing