We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“chill out weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“chill out weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

c hill out weekend is exactly what we got booked a deluxe room and when we got there we were given a suite with a balcony and a beautiful view of the lakes and of the golf course.the staff were so friendly and helpful other hotel owners should come here and see how its done.from the girls on reception who made us welcome as soon as we arrived to gareth who went above and beyond his duty to find golfing partners for my husband .as regards the massage treatment I got I would highly recommend as a must.breakfast was great and we had bar food both nights which was also great all in all great time and will be back for sure

Room Tip: book deluxe well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Noel_l,
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your "Chill Out Weekend" and you both had the opportunity to enjoy most of the facilities at Glasson.

Our setting on the shores of Lough Ree is amazing and is a great escape for anyone who wants a relaxing weekend away from it all. The added extra of having a Golf Course & Treatment Room on site is also great bonus for guests. The customer service offered by our Team is the icing on the cake.

Thank you again for sharing your Glasson Experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    104
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
137
212
6
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Thank you to Fidelma and Breda Reid and Robin and Niall and all their staff for their excellent service at the function I attended recently out in Glasson. The staff were commended by all attendees on their friendliness and hospitality. The food was gorgeous, our 4 course lunch could not have been any nicer, with such generous portions and beautiful flavours, I will be going back to spoil myself soon. The idyllic setting just added to the wow factor of the whole day, pictures can not even come close to capturing the beautiful setting of this hotel, it really must be seen to be believed.
For start to finish, the management and staff could not have done anymore to ensure we were happy with everything. It is nice to see that hotels are still so eager to please their customers. Everyone, from reception staff, to GM, to floor staff were always pleasant, smiles on their faces and happy to help in any way they could.
I cannot praise Glasson Country House Hotel enough, thank you for making our event such an enjoyable and stress free day, always there on hand if we needed anything throughout the planning of it. Thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GardenHouseCafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Jenniferbrew,
Thank you for sharing your Glasson Experience with us and it is wonderful to read that you found Glasson " Professional, Friendly & Top Class" for the function you attended. Our setting on the shores of Lough Ree is amazing and the icing on the cake is our dedicated Glasson Team who work hard everyday to ensure all our Guests are looked after through out their stay.

I have passed your feedback on to all the team to show our appreciation of the effort that they put in to ensure that all our Guests thoroughly enjoy the Glasson Experience.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Glasson again in the near future and thank you again for sharing your Glasson Experience.

Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Just wanted to thank Fidelma, Ciara and Marie with their assistance in helping me with my block booking of over 10 rooms for family members for the 28th December last. Thank you so much, you made the process of it all very easy. I understand from the guests that they loved the Hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Leela27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Leela27,
Thank you for sharing your Glasson Experience with us and we are delighted to hear that all your guests loved the Hotel. I have passed on your comments to Ciara & Marie who work hard throughout the year to look after our guests.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your friends back to Glasson again in the near future and thank you again for sharing your Glasson Experience.

Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel looked after us from the minute we walked in, there staff especially Julie, Stephen & Niall were extremely helpful, from when I phoned to book and when we arrived.

The food was out of this world, my compliments to the whole catering staff and the chefs on a job well done.

I would completely recommend this hotel to all my family, friends and business associates. I would also recommend it to any couples getting married in the coming years etc.


Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grainne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear GrainneS,
I am so delighted that you had an amazing Glasson Experience and you wedding day was so wonderful. All the team at Glasson work so hard all year to ensure that all our guests enjoy their stay with us, we are so proud of the effort they put in every day.

It is also great to hear that you would recommend us to all your family and friends and other wedding Couples. I have passed your comments on to all the team and specifically to Stephen, Julie and Niall who are each an integral part of the Glasson Team.

GrainneS, hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Glasson again in the near future and thank you again for sharing your Glasson Experience with us.

Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountrath, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Fantastic Hotel, I attended a wedding at this hotel and from the second I walked through the door I was greeted with a warm, and Friendly atmosphere. A lady and the front desk Julie was ever so helpful, she even noticed I had over paid by a couple of Euro so contacted me in my room and left the money at reception for me..
My room was very spacious, clean, and the view was amazing.

Their was no shortage of food at the wedding, it was delicious and the waiting staff were very friendly and helpful and always available to help.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to all my Family and friends. It was a wonderful experience so thank you very much for that.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelby1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Shelby1234567,
Thank you for sharing your Glasson Experience with us and it is great to hear that you found us a "Fantastic Hotel". I have shared your comments with Julie also who works very hard behind reception all year to ensure that all our guests have a wonderful stay.

Our Chef is delighted that you enjoyed the Wedding Meal, he is very proud of his team in the Kitchen and it is always great to be able to give them feedback from Wedding Guests.

Thank you for recommending us to your family and friends and hopefully we will be welcoming you back to Glasson in the near future.

Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We got married here in September 2013. It was amazing. Faultless. Thank you to the Glasson team for making our day so special.

Our guests commented about the friendly, warm, professional staff, the superb food and beautiful views. Reception drinks on the lawn overlooking the lake was a lovely way for guests to enjoy the views. So many of our family and friends said the bedrooms were excellent (comfiest beds ever!).

We had 250 guests. Not a problem for the Glasson team. The food was top quality, the portion sizes were huge and the serving staff at dinner were excellent.

The staff at Glasson go the extra mile. They were ever ready to help with any queries. Gareth was a pleasure to deal with leading up to the wedding. Organising our wedding from abroad was made so much easier due to Gareth and the team’s approachability.

Geraldine couldn't have been more helpful in the months leading up to the wedding and nothing was too much to ask for. She was a pure pleasure to deal with. Stephen at reception was highly efficient. He made it seem effortless in his unassuming charming manner. Thanks also to Robin and Niall, managers, who know their stuff. At one stage Niall provided an ice pack for the chief bridesmaid’s broken ankle (a pre-wedding injury!). Fidelma ringing us to confirm some finer wedding details was much appreciated before the wedding day as was her touching base with us on the day.

The owners Tom and Breda and their team have created something very special and we highly recommend Glasson Country House Hotel for your wedding venue.

Eimear and Eoin F

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newlywedsept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Newlywedsept,
It was great to read about your Glasson Experience and I am delighted that you and all your Guests had an amazing day. It is wonderful to read that our Staff "go the extra mile" to ensure that all our guests needs are met before and during their stay.

I have passed all your comments on to the Glasson Team, especially to Stephen and Geraldine who work very hard looking after our Guests on reception everyday. It is wonderful to hear that Tom & Breda have a great Team working with them to ensure that all our guests enjoy the Glasson Experience.

Thank you again for sharing your Glasson Experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to Glasson again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Where to start with this wonderful gem in the village of the roses...from the first minute we stepped foot through the door to enquire about weddings, we were bowled over by the warmth, hospitality and generosity of each individual at glasson country house. Not only is the venue amazing, each of our guests were looked after impeccably and we were greeted with smiles and support even at 5am...:)

If you are considering having your wedding at glasson, look no further...the food, service, rooms, staff...ALL of the staff, atmosphere and attention to detail just made our day wonderful.
If you are not planning a wedding, this beautiful cosy family run establishment is perfectly located for a weekend in athlone. Glasson itself is a fabulous village.

Tom and all at glasson..keep doing what your doing...you've got the perfect mix of everything. Thanks for everything you did both in the run up, on the day and after, you made our day so special.

Now...off on our honeymoon...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newlywed2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Newlywed2014,
Thank you so much for sharing your Glasson Wedding Experience with us, and I am so glad to hear that we helped make your day a perfect one.

We are very proud of all the Glasson Team, their dedication and hard work throughout the year is one of the major reasons why people choose Glasson as their Wedding Venue. I have passed your comments on to all the Team to show our appreciation for their efforts.

Hope you enjoyed the Honey Moon and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Glasson again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
4.0 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
5.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#1 Family Hotel in Athlone
#1 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasson Country House Hotel and Golf Club is a 4 star lakeside golf hotel located close to Athlone in County Westmeath. All of our guests experience the warmth of the Glasson welcome, super spacious Bedrooms & public areas to relax and unwind in, superb food in our New Killinure Restaurant and Lakeside Bar with panoramic Lakeside Views. For our Guests it is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or your big wedding day. With the addition of a spectacular New Bar, Restaurant & Banqueting suite in May 2010 taking full advantage of the amazing Lake Views you can relax and unwind in comfort. Our Four Star Hotel & Championship Golf Course have been designed with the discerning hotel guest in mind. Situated just outside the quaint village of Glasson (Goldsmiths 'village of the roses') in Midlands Ireland and nestled on the tranquil shores of Lough Ree, this family-run Country House Hotel is the ideal get-away for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasson Country House Hotel And Golf Club
Glasson Hotel Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing