We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely peaceful friendly hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful friendly hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2008

Just returned from a lovely "special offer" break at this Hotel. We dealt with a lovely friendly receptionist who upgraded us to a beautiful room overlooking the lake. The room was huge, bathroom also large with double sinks, bath and separate walk-in shower and bath.

Breakfast was above average; the freshly home-made brown scones being the highlight. We had dinner in the dining-room in the old part of the house. I can honestly say it was one of the nicest dinners we have ever had. Everything from starter to coffee was delicious. Service was efficient and fast. The hotel is mainly geared towards golfers and the club house is incorporated into the hotel. Although we didnt play golf we found the course to be very well manicured and it appeared to be a challenging course.

The most positive aspect of this hotel was the friendliness of the reception and dining-room staff particulary the breakfast staff.
We were made feel welcome at all times.

The only negative aspect , as previous reviewers have noted, is the lack of a comfortable bar/lounge for hotel guests. The only bar in the hotel is in the golf club end and being hotel guests we felt completely out of it.

All in all it was a really nice place to stay and I would definitely recommend it to friends and family. Meant to also add that we ate in Grogans pub in the village of Glasson and would higly recommend this establishment also.

  • Liked — Wonderful view, room and food.
  • Disliked — Lack of comfortable lounge.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollieNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    105
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
138
212
6
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fermanagh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2008

Stayed in Glasson Hotel for 2 nights from 13th-15th July '08. The hotel & golf course overlook Lough Ree & is in a beautiful tranquil location about 4 miles from Athlone which is a nice town with lots of pubs with live music & planty of shops. Our twin room was huge & immaculate & overlooked the lake & golf course. The beds were large & v comfortable, bathroom has double handbasins, v powerful walkin shower & bath. For breakfast there were cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, scones, croissants & irish fries/eggs etc. We ate in the restaurant on the 2nd night & food was lovely. Our favourite thing about the Glasson was the firendliness of the reception staff who were always smiling & ready to help. We don't play golf so i can't rate the golfcourse but i certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Liked — friendliness & cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Europehopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipperary ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2007

Visited this hotel for one night. On arrival we were welcomed warmly.. One room was not ready so we were given an upgrade. Two rooms were superb . Beautiful decor , very large comfortable beds with gorgeous view of Lough Ree . We choose to dine in the bar. Food was delicious. The decor of the bar and conservatory was very dull. This is a pity as this area could have delightful views . A draw back is the lack of a comfortable area - maybe with open fire - to sit and relax . Breakfast was unimaginative . Food seemed to have been prepared for some time. ( even though we had breakfast at 8.00 am). A beautiful golf course and we had an enjoyable round despite gale force winds. Staff were to be complimented. Courteous, friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — Lack of comfortable seating area with atmosphere
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionnuala_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2007

All is said in previous review. New bedrooms top class. Ideal hotel for those who play golf, want relaxation, peace and quiet. Excellent value for Dinner B/B and round of golf 145 euro.

  • Liked — Our bedroom with private balcony looking onto golf course
  • Disliked — Hot food for breakfast not cooked to order
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2007

Booking this hotel for a last minute weekend break on a special offer we did not have huge expectations of the Glasson Golf Hotel and Country Club. However we were pleasantly surprised on arrival with the wonderful warm welcome extended by the receptionist and were even more impressed when we got to our room. This was extremely spacious, decorated to a very high standard with a wonderful view over the golf course and Lough Allen. The room was very well equipped with modern, comfortable furniture and was decorated in restful greens. The ensuite was large and well laid out with seperate bath and large walk-in shower. It also had lots of extra features like underfloor heating, heated mirror and twin washbasins which made it feel more luxurious.

The hotel itself was quiet, I suppose because of the time of year, but this suited us well as we were there to catch up on some much needed sleep. Breakfast was wonderful with a good selection of cereals, fruit, breads and a menu for cooked breakfast made to order.
Dinner was served in an old style dining room, part of the original house, and this was superbly cooked and presented. This was a dinner to rival some of the best I have ever had.

At all times during our stay the hotel staff greated us with a smile and a friendly word and this certainly made us appreciate the personal touch they offer.

The hotel is approximately 2kms from the village of Glasson and 8km from the town of Athlone so it is not exactly a buzzing location. It is certainly a place to go for a restful stay, away from the stresses of daily life. We would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and will go back again when we need to catch up on some rest and relaxation.

  • Liked — Welcome, Comfort and Space
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Rosemarie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
4.0 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
5.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#1 Business Hotel in Athlone
#1 Family Hotel in Athlone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasson Country House Hotel and Golf Club is a 4 star lakeside golf hotel located close to Athlone in County Westmeath. All of our guests experience the warmth of the Glasson welcome, super spacious Bedrooms & public areas to relax and unwind in, superb food in our New Killinure Restaurant and Lakeside Bar with panoramic Lakeside Views. For our Guests it is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or your big wedding day. With the addition of a spectacular New Bar, Restaurant & Banqueting suite in May 2010 taking full advantage of the amazing Lake Views you can relax and unwind in comfort. Our Four Star Hotel & Championship Golf Course have been designed with the discerning hotel guest in mind. Situated just outside the quaint village of Glasson (Goldsmiths 'village of the roses') in Midlands Ireland and nestled on the tranquil shores of Lough Ree, this family-run Country House Hotel is the ideal get-away for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasson Country House Hotel And Golf Club
Glasson Hotel Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing