We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Location,, Hotel just Magnificent,and Staff with that ever needed personal touch that most hotels lack”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Antrim, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning Location,, Hotel just Magnificent,and Staff with that ever needed personal touch that most hotels lack”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Everything that the web site had stated was true and a lot lot more,
Arriving through the gates of the hotel ,to be met with breathtaking views of beautiful Lough Ree,stunning scenery as far as the eye could see,and it just got better by the moment.
Entering the hotel to be met with the most WHAA interior decadence i have ever seen in a foyer/reception area of any hotel i have stayed in ,complimented by the warm welcoming friendly reception staff , Fidelma,Gareth,Julie and Cathy,
just what you need after a long drive .
Our Rooms with en suite bathroom were superb in size and decoration, pristine clean and with balconies that allowed us to sit and relax and enjoy the views(oh so relaxing)From Breakfast to evening Meals and everything in between the food was mouthwateringly delicious and service from all members of staff very friendly and still very professional.
My husband along with a small party of family and friends played the golf course ,and came up to all of his expectations ,the course was superbly maintained and a pleasure to play on.
This was our first visit to the Glasson Country House Hotel and Golf Club,it most definitely will not be our last
Thankyou to everyone involved in making our stay so memorable,
A jewel in the heart of Ireland ,that would rank alongside the best in the world ,possibly surpass them never having lost that family personal touch,an all important ingredient that in my opinion moves it from been Outstanding to been Out Of This World.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonGlasson, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Marie,
Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at Glasson Country House Hotel. We as a team, always strive to ensure we provide the highest level of service to all our guests. We believe that the personal touch is very important when trying to create a great guest experience.

Tom & Breda Reid, the owners will be deligthed that you love the decor as they dedicated alot of time to getting it right. The space for relaxation in the rooms and public areas of the hotel is very important to our guests and we are glad you got to take full advantage of these while enjoying the views.

I have passed your comments around to all our team, and it makes our job even more enjoyable when we get positive feedback

Once again, "go raibh mile maith agat" for your lovely comments and we would be delighted to extend the Warm Glasson Welcome to you on your next visit to Glasson.

Kindest Regards,
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    109
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
141
213
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Situation right on a big lake, this hotel has fabulous views and walks. Our room looked right out on the lake and was large and nice. No complaints at all about the hotel. It's very much aimed at golfers, as in the name, but that's not a drawback. I very much enjoyed the walk to a marina on a second lake, you exit the hotel using the back entrance, by foot and it's about a mile away.

Irish hotels do have weddings which can be noisy, we were woken once but it wasn't really a problem.

Visit the nearby Wineport Lodge for a meal also. It's also on the lake and can be seen from the hotel. Ten of us all cleared our plates, best meal for a long time, and not too pricey.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmagnier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonGlasson, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and got a chance to enjoy the surrounding countryside aswell.

We always try our best to look after all our guests needs from romantic breaks, group social to wedding guests and we are glad that you were able to enjoy yourself on a busy weekend.

Thank you once again and we look forward to extending the Warm Glasson Welcome to you on a return visit.

Kindest Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This is the most fabulous place. Probably the best hotel in Ireland I have stayed in. Myself and my sisters and Mother go here once a year for the last ten years. This is very special to us, we are treated like royalty. Nothing is too much trouble. All the staff are fab, the service the rooms the ambience, what more can I say.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonGlasson, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Moya,
Thank you for your glowing review and we are delighted to welcome you and your family to Glasson every year and look forward to extending the warm Glasson Welcome to you again in 2013.

Kindest Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding. The food was fabulous, the hotel rooms and tge hotel in general is very clean and spacious. The staff are courteous and professional. Views from the back of the hotel are stunning.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pal18_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonGlasson, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments in relation to the food and bedrooms, we are getting consistently excellent feedback about the quality of the food here at Glasson and it is one of our top priorities. We hope that you had a great time at the wedding.

We value any comments that are made to us and appreciate the time taken to share your opinions. Your comments have been passed to all members of staff.

Hopefully we can extend the Warm Glasson Welcome to you in the future.

Kindest Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Went to Glasson House for three days golfing and hotel stay. The hotel is immaculate! Rooms are clean and beds are well turned down with good quality linen. The hotel main bar has wonderful views and can accommodate large numbers of guests. The food is of a very high standard although the snack menu in the bar is drastically overpriced! 14euro for a chicken burger with a side of chips! Outrageous!
On the golf front the course is maintained to a very high standard with tee boxes, fairways and greens all immaculate. Only criticism is that we played the course three times and the pin positions were in the same place three days in a row. Small things make a difference.
The staff could not have been more helpful and made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allyc48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonGlasson, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Glasson Country House Hotel and we are delighted that you enjoyed the Wonderful Views, Golf Course and Food.

I have passed on all of your Comments to management and staff and we will take them all on board, all feedback is welcome and can only help us to enhance the Glasson Experience.

We hope that we can extend the Warm Glasson Welcome to you in the future.

Kindest Regards
Fidelma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Group of 27 arrived on fri staying through to Sunday , the whole experience was excellent from check in to check out great golf great food great rooms great staff would recommend definitely go back stevie

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaijohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonGlasson, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted that we could take care of you an your fellow Golfers during your stay at Glasson. We pride ourselves on our personal touch and try and maintain the highest standards for our facilities and service, it is great to hear that we are getting it right for our guests.

Once again thank you and we look forward to extending the Warm Glasson Welcome to you again in the future.

Kindest Regards
Cathriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on the weekend of 4th/6th may 2012 with the dambusters golf society from carrickfergus (N.Ireland) 28 of us. the staff couldn't do enough for us very accommodating from the minute we arrived till the moment we left. The course is challenging but fair. Very sceinic around the lakes. Worth a visit.
Darren Awin.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrenawin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonGlasson, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Darren,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us here at Glasson Country House Hotel, it was a pleasure taking care of you and your fellow Golfers in the Dambusters Golf Society.

We pride ourselves on always trying to accommodate all our Guests requests and taking care of them to the best of our ability, it is great to know that this is noticed by our Guests. I have passed on your comments to all the staff.

Thank you once again and we look forward to extending the Warm Glasson Welcome to you and your fellow golfers in the future.

Kindest regards
Cathriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,845 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,034 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
903 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Athlone
#1 Family Hotel in Athlone
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasson Country House Hotel and Golf Club is a 4 star lakeside golf hotel located close to Athlone in County Westmeath. All of our guests experience the warmth of the Glasson welcome, super spacious Bedrooms & public areas to relax and unwind in, superb food in our New Killinure Restaurant and Lakeside Bar with panoramic Lakeside Views. For our Guests it is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or your big wedding day. With the addition of a spectacular New Bar, Restaurant & Banqueting suite in May 2010 taking full advantage of the amazing Lake Views you can relax and unwind in comfort. Our Four Star Hotel & Championship Golf Course have been designed with the discerning hotel guest in mind. Situated just outside the quaint village of Glasson (Goldsmiths 'village of the roses') in Midlands Ireland and nestled on the tranquil shores of Lough Ree, this family-run Country House Hotel is the ideal get-away for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasson Country House Hotel And Golf Club
Glasson Hotel Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing