We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arch House Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arch House B&B & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Arch House Apartment”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a return visit to the Arch House apartments and same as last year really enjoyed our stay friendly staff and Maureen always on hand for anything you require. The apartments are roomy and have everything you require and I would highly recommend them should you wish to self cater in Athlone. Many thanks to Maureen, Chris and all the staff from Mick & Co

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambicolatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    63
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
39
57
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Arch House Apartments

This was a beginning for the 3 of us in a 2 bedroomed apartment. It was an experience as this was the first time we had used apartments instead of hotels. As there was 3 of us and we wanted a double bed in each room it was not going to be that easy. Here at Arch House we did not have any problems at all, with the exception of the second double bed but it was clean, large and comfortable.

Any problems were dealt with quickly and quietly and we really had nothing to complain about that could not be overcome. The second bathroom had no hot water so our friend used ours and that was not such a problem.

The place was cleaned every day that we thought that this was a real plus as we were to find out it was the only place that did any cleaning whilst we were in the apartment.

It was close to restaurants, shopping and plenty of walking could be done from the apartment. On the whole we had a very pleasant stay. Would recommend to anyone going to Athlone.

Room Tip: We used the apartments as there was 3 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keza_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, NSW Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

As I had booked 2 rooms, we were offered a 2 bedroom apartment about 150m down the road. We still parked our car at the B&B and lugged our baggage down the footpath. Apartment was clean an spacious. It also provided a surprise bonus of a washing machine, which we quickly set about using. Easy walk to food and entertainment. Only spoiler was the location of a late night kebab shop across the road which attracted the boozed up local lads and lasses at 3am. Lots of singing and shouting made for uncomfortable sleep. Breakfast the next morning was good.

Room Tip: Not the front aparment
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WPS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The only issue I had was there were no top sheets on the bed and there weren't any wash cloths. However, I ran into this issue at most B & B's and hotels I stayed in during my trip.
The hosts are just wonderful and extremely helpful. The food is delicious. The house is very clean and neat and conveniently located. I would definitely stay there again if I was ever in Athlone.

Room Tip: you don't get to pick your room....they are pre-arranged so I can't give a tip to choose a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtr Manchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

When we arrived at Arch house I was really disappointed It is on a busy road opposite some poor looking shops and the house next door had curtains falling off the windows First impressions count and it just didnt look good, not helped by the flashing "vacancies" sign
To me it just looked seedy and over priced at 75 euro Nothing like we were expecting, especially as we had seen so many lovely B&B s on our travels

We nearly didnt stay but once inside the room it was better The bed room though small was clean and pleasant with a decent shower room However our room was at the front so even with some double glazing it was noisy at night
The best part about Arch House was the cheery breakfast and its location near the town centre

Room Tip: Dont have the front room It is noisy and the double glazing is poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnightWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Room was great, bathroom was clean and on the larger size for B&B's. Walked the area, a lot of neat shops and pubs. Breakfast was good. Nothing to complain about except there wasn't the "personal" feel to the place...not sure who the owners were, but was nice to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesfoodncraftbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
archhousebnb, Owner at Arch House B&B & Apartments, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Lovesfoodncraftbeer,
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you found our location, facilities and staff to your expectations. I have passed on your kind comments to my staff. I am sorry to read that you missed the 'personal feel'. Whilst I endeavour to meet every guest, I had been away for a number of weeks due to a family bereavement. If you have the opportunity to return to us again please do not hesitate to contact me so I can get the opportunity to meet you in person.
Kindest Regards,
Maureen Flynn
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were a stag party of 14 and had booked into the Apartments for one night. Apartments were very clean and great location in the centre of the town, everything was within walking distance. The manager, Mohammad, was extremely courteous and helpful. We availed of the Stag package that Maureen provides. We went Karting in Pallas, followed by a BBQ in Seans Bar in Athlone. The package was ideal and hassle free. We had Breakfast rolls ready for us the next morning before we departed. I would highly recommend it for Stag/Hen weekends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hickster87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.7 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
1.9 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
249 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arch House B&B & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arch House B&B & Apartments

Property: Arch House B&B & Apartments
Address: Sean Costello St | Athlone Town centre, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arch House B&B & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arch House B&B and Apartments have an exceptional location in Athlone Town Centre, half way between Dublin and Galway and just off the M6/N6. We offer our guests a warm friendly welcome and ensure a pleasant and memorable stay. Arch House B&B offers 10 en-suite Rooms, Tea & Coffee facilities, Multi-Channel TV, Hairdryer, free Wi-fi, Laundry facilities, private car parking and Home Cooked Breakfast. Arch House Apartments are designed for nightly and weekly holiday lettings and offer all the comforts of modern life. All 8 Apartments offer two bedrooms, two bathrooms, studio sitting room and fully equipped modern kitchen. Apartments vary in size and can sleep 4-7 guests per Apartment.For added comfort we have added Secondary Window Glazing to our front facing windows. We are an ideal base for the business traveler, tourist, wedding guest, angler, golfer, families and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Arch House B&B & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arch Hotel Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing