We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Booked the apartments for my sisters hen party, 4 apartments in total, hotel was great in organising wime glasses in room etc, as i knew we had dinner at 6pm & the girls would have to get ready after the activity i rang the hotel in advance to confirm check in time which was 3pm, perfect as we would be arriving then, i decided to check everyone in as would be easier then 16girls in reception, arrived at 3:10pm & was told only 2 apartments were ready & other 2 would take another hour, was annoyed as this would put is back on time & stressed me out more trying to get everyone organised! But it happens & they were very busy! As i was walking to my apartment, 4 cleaners were standing outside chatting & having a cigarette & complaining in general... Not at all professional! A nice lady from reception then came running over to us at 4pm with the other keys... I then booked 2 mini buses for 6pm to go to town for dinner but they were 20mins late, in total we were 45mins late for our dinner reservation, thankfully they understood my stress! Cant fault the apartments in any way, they were lovely, clean & modern & very spacious! Breakfast buffet was perfect, service was great. Just had to knock off 1 star for the cleaning staff

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaLou025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    141
    61
    24
    28
See reviews for
121
169
5
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

married couple from dublin.we stayed in the shamrock hotel i athlone co west meath a great hotel staff are lovely check out the shamrock pub in the town 3 pints beer 11 euro you can not go wrong also the people of athlone are very warm and very welcoming we will be back again soon alan dublin

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely in the shamrock lodge athlone co w meath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hello Emmalou025,
Thank you very much for your nice comments about our hotel.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to staying with us in the Future.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundalk ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Organised family get together as this hotel recently. Hotel is conventient to town, staff exceptionally friendly, Rooms were large and well appointed. Breakfast was good, evening meal (included ) offered a good choice and was very good. Hotel was busy with weddings etc but there was still plenty of room in bar area, which is nicely laid out. Entertainment in bar on Saturday night was bonus. Enjoyed our stay, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeysoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trim
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We booked a discount break 1 night b&b with dinner for only €98. We were pleasantly surprised by the standard or the hotel. I liked the decor in general. Our room was large and beautifully decorated, modern yet cosy. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The bar area has a nice atmosphere and there were lots of people eating there. All the staff we spoke to were lovely. The only negative was the restaurant. It's more like a dinning room, it's stark, basically no decoration or ambiance. It had white paper table cloths, bog standard hotel table ware and a menu printed on A4 sheets with a selection that looks like it's escaped from the 80s. If we were paying separately for our meal I would have been very disappointed. That said the food was quite nice, in fact my husband said his steak was one of the best he's had. We had a delicious breakfast in our room the following morning, we thought €7 delivering per person was expensive. The hotel was easy to find, close to the town centre (€5 for taxi into town for those in heels!) and there was ample parking. An enjoyable stay!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kari_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket - on - Fergus
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had a family weekend stay for 8 of us . From the moment we arrived we were treated with courtesy and respect. The staff were real Irish staff who knew how to look after their customers. Nothing was a problem. The food was good quality wholesome Irish food.The breakfast was as good as you would get anywhwere and the evening dinner was was a credit to all. The bar staff were excellent whether you wanted a pint or a cup of tea. Bar prices and food prices were very competitive . Reception staff very helpful. Room nice , clean and spacious .All of us in the group agreed the hotel offered great value for money which we would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: let the Hotel know what you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BANNER09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killorglin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

4 of us recently attended an event in the Shamrock Lodge and booked to stay in one of their apartments.
The apartment was fantastic and beyond my expectations, spacious and comfortable .. it was like having your own house for a night. We had a separate living room area with TV, Tea and Coffee facilities and a Microwave. 2 bedrooms both en suite .. all wonderfully comfortable.

The conference room where the event was held was very spacious and was comfortable enough for 200 of us. There was a slight smell of new paint but nothing off putting at all.
The staff were all very helpful and nothing seemed to be any trouble.
A very satisfying experience of a lovely hotel at a great rate too ...

Room Tip: Would highly recommend an Apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob290465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hello Rob290465
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I have been to numerous weddings in the Shamrock lodge and even had my own wedding there.. I find the staff very helpful and friendly and the food and service is out of this world.. there are beautiful gardens for photos and the décor inside is amazing..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthiechad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
2.4 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Property: Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Address: Clonown Road, Athlone 0000, Ireland (Formerly Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Ireland in the historic town of Athlone Co Westmeath. Set on its own private grounds and gardens with ample FREE car parking. 5 minute walk from the town centre.75 minutes from Dublin.40 Bedrooms and 12 Two Bedroom Suites/Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing