We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shamrock Lodge Hotel, Athlone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Very disappointed in the professionalism of this Hotel as a business meeting venue.
We were a company training day event with a dozen or so of our Country Managers for business discussions and a light lunch.
The welcome tea and coffee was not ready on time, the meeting room was not satisfactorily set up and the lunch break was completely overlooked by the staff to the point we were nearly 40-50mins waiting to be served.
On top of all this, the Manager on the day brashly dismissed any complaint and defended his staff.
Just not good enough is an understatement. I imagine the owners would be horrified.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeithRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Hi Keith
Thank you very much for your comments. I have dealt with these issues internally and have been in contact with your colleague John.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 560 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

I recently booked a 'day long' meeting room for 13 of my company managers for a quarterly training day(Friday Aug 31st). We booked the obligatory welcome tea/coffee and scones that were served under a staircase in the foyer. The meeting room was poorly prepared and cold with an extremely noisey airconditioning unit.
The advised lunch-time break was a complete joke with the lunch 45 mins late (preparations were not even started at the lunch time designated) which put our schedule back disruptively.
On top of all this when questioned, come payment time, the manager was rudely dismissive.
As a meeting venue.. to be avoided.!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Extremely Friendly and Helpful. From reception to house keeping, couldnt do enough for us. Breakfast was tasty and freshly cooked to ordered not dried up buffet style food. Only draw back was the coffee burnt and undrinkable. But not a big issue as overall service and care and attention to detail prevailed. Would recommend to anyone for midweek or family deals. Got the family package with 2 nights B&B and 1 evening meal plus a Viking river boat cruise for €218. Great offer. Ended up staying an additional night for €50 room only. Cant go wrong with that. Overall Lovely experience hope to do it again sometime soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shawshank34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel is lovely, with a good location within the area! On arrival the receptionist was lovely! Very friendly! We were directed to our room which was nice! We ate in the bar that evening, food was beautiful, portion sizes were huge! And I refused to leave any behind! Breakfast didn't disappoint either. Service was good and nothing could have been faulted! We had an enjoyable stay here! It is suitable for all ages and group sizes. A lot of young families around! Children were very well behaved!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FermanaghGirl1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Situated less than a 10 minute walk from Athlone town centre the Shamrock Lodge Hotel is situated on nice , well kept grounds . Our room was spacious and clean . A 4 course evening meal was included in our deal and was very tasty and filling . We had their carvery lunch the day after which was also very nice - plenty of choice and reasonably priced . Both nights of our stay (Saturday and Sunday) the public bar had live music which , on the whole , was mostly enjoyable - depending on your taste .
Finally , we found any of the staff we dealt with very efficient , polite and helpful.
PS - This hotel has regular special offers - worth keeping a look out for them.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corky_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here for the weekend on 20th July. Had a great weekend. The room were spacious and very clean. Breakfast was good, bar food was good but dinner was ok. The staff were very friendly and more than helpful, it is so nice to have a receptionist that will actually make time to chat with you.
We had a lovely weekend and will definitely be returning. Thank you to all at the Shamrock.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidwhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
1.7 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
964 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,238 reviews
2.4 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Address: Clonown Road, Athlone 0000, Ireland (Formerly Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: $57 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Ireland in the historic town of Athlone Co Westmeath. Set on its own private grounds and gardens with ample FREE car parking. 5 minute walk from the town centre.75 minutes from Dublin.40 Bedrooms and 12 Two Bedroom Suites/Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing