We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bastion B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bastion B&B
Ranked #10 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This is a fascinating old building and beautifully decorated, creating a peaceful atmosphere from the moment you walk in the door. The rooms are clean, neat and comfortable. The breakfast counts as my best breakfast anywhere, but as other reviewers have pointed out don't expect a cooked breakfast. Anthony was welcoming and friendly, and this was a great place for our first night in Ireland after heading west from Dublin airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SR4218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    27
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
40
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I stayed here for one night in a twin room with my mother, we had 2 separate rooms which was lovely. The B&B is beautifully decorated and the owners are really friendly and helpful. It is located right in the centre of the town so really convenient. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We enjoyed our one-night stay at this lovely B&B! The decor is fun and the accomodations, perfect! Breakfast was a wonderful spread and we enjoyed chatting with the other guests. The proprietor was very responsive when we emailed from the US regarding the stay and tours. The recommended the Lebanese restaurant next door, which was acceptional. The tour company, Midland Tours (also recommended by them), was one of the highlights of our two weeks in Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at the Bastion B&B for one night during our trip to Ireland. We were greeted with winding staircases and interesting decor that created a very zen, artsy feeling. The room was very large (we had a twin ensuite room and the beds were actually in separate rooms which was nice) and clean. The bathroom was the standard small B&B size but the shower left something to be desired. The water pressure was pretty low and the electric water heater gave an inconsistent temperature. However, I wouldn't consider this a deal breaker by any means!

Anthony had a light and healthy continental breakfast in the morning (which was a nice break from the traditional irish breakfast for us) with bagels, breads, cereals, and fresh fruits.

If you're staying in Athlone, I would recommend the Bastion for a quiet & relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suhollyberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Charming and quirky townhouse with narrow staircases and winding landings. All full of lovely bits and pieces that the (very nice) owners must have picked up on their travels. Also a very comfy sitting room with sink-into armchairs and a nice library of books. We stayed in the Loft room which aesthetically was absolutely lovely, just as it is pictured on their website. However a few silly things let it down a bit. A very tiny double bed meant we didn't sleep very well, a trip to the bathroom entailed falling over an unnecessary step each time, and the shower was not very strong. I'm not normally a picky reviewer, but so much time and thought has been put into this B and B, it seemed a shame that it fell down on some of the essentials. Still overall we liked it a lot and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMHDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I wanted to go to Athlone for a night to visit the legendary Seans Bar, and this B&B is a stone throw from Seans Bar, and on the doorstep of many good restaurants, deciding which one to go to is the problem. The B&B looked at bit garish on the outside but inside was charming, cozy, welcoming with a Zen like feeling. The en-suite may be a bit small for some people but perfectly adequate for me. There was a large choice in the buffet style breakfast, and no problem parking the car near by. The hosts were very polite and obliging, and seem to have perfected the balance of making small talk and giving you space when needed. This is a lovely quirky B&B situated in the charming quaint side of Athlone with the walls of the castle as a back drop. It was such a good experience I am looking forward to going back to stay again and bringing friends and when visiting other towns I am going to try a B&B again, I had always tended to like the anonymity of hotels, but this was special.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnockmoreLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

After being in boring Birr, lively Athlone was a wonderful surprise. The b&b has a great location and is wonderfully decorated. I loved the breakfast and felt very much at home. Could recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
1.9 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
874 reviews
2.2 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion B&B

Property: Bastion B&B
Address: 4 Bastion Street, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bastion B&B - Award winning townhouse accommodation situated in the heart of Athlone's Left Bank area, close to the River Shannon and the 12th Century King Johns Castle. Surrounded by great restaurants and shops and just a stones throw from Seáns Bar - Ireland's Oldest Bar which is officially declared so in The Guiness Book of World Records! Consistently recommended! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Bastion B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Hotel Athlone
Bastion Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing