We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for celebrating” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cucina Di Angelo's

La Cucina Di Angelo's
Ranked #7 of 97 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We provide, high quality freshly made dishes, with fresh local ingredients at an affordable price. We are a casual dining experience with top class family customer service. Try us and you decide, we know you wont be disappointed!! We look forward to meeting you.
Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good choice for celebrating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

I brought my Dad here to celebrate his 60th birthday, along with my 3 children. He was not impressed, for he is very hard to impress, but he was happy enough!!! Lovely interior, very cosy, tasteful and somehow artisan; and very friendly staff. We felt very much at home. Food was just what we expected (enough to say, my 10-year-old son ate the starter AND the main, leaving plates completely empty ;). Good, that here the menu is not a one-side traditional cuisine, but more of a fusion, so something for everyone. Loved the steak with sauce in separate glass! Familiar chilli prawns from Sam's shop, on the other hand, I often cook myself at home ;)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Justyna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    53
    21
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Odd flavours, rustic vibe”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

The nachos had a strong taste of paprika or some other strong flavouring. It was overpowering. It felt a little cramped and the rustic theme wasn't to my personal taste. The pasta was nice, but not exactly a complicated dish. I understand that some people love this style of dining but for me it was like eating at a quirky café with average food. The staff were very friendly, and the cost of the meal was acceptable. It come down to personal taste.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DancingAtDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

The menu was very large and varied--something for everyone. the food was very good and well presented. The atmosphere was nice, and the service was excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

When reading the menu choice on line it seemed this restaurant didn't know what it was, however a visit here left us very impressed. My partner had the bruschetta with salad which was very fresh and tasty, I had the prawns with a rustic bread which were amazing. Followed by two mains of pasta carbonara and chicken enchiladas which again were faultless, add a bottle of sparkling water and a glass of wine taking the bill to a very reasonable €49 definitely a must go and will return, the restaurant itself is quirky, exceptionally clean and staff are very friendly

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CucinaDiAngelo, Manager at La Cucina Di Angelo's, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi Keith,
Thank you for the very nice review. We remember yourself and your lovely wife and it was a pleasure to serve you both. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal and the price too. We pride ourselves on excellent customer dining experience and ensure you have a pleasent enjoyable meal. We are happy to mix an infusion of fresh loacl produce to create many different dishes to suit all taste buds.
Good luck with the immpending new arrival and we would love to see you again on your next visit to Athlone.

Kind Regards,
All at Di Angelo's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Did not meet the standard of reviews posted”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

On entering the restaurant the atmosphere was grand. The staff were pleasant enough. The food however was disappointing. I was expecting much better than what was received. I don’t know if I’d be bothered to try it again on the off chance that it just wasn’t the chef’s day..

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CucinaDiAngelo, Manager at La Cucina Di Angelo's, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Deborah,
Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts on your expierience at our restaurant.

We remember your table of 8 as it was your Godson's confirmation day. The disapointing aspect of your review to us is that upon asking you on numourous occasions if all was to your satisfaction, you agreed it was. If you were unhappy, perhaps, given the opportunity, we could have offered to rectify it. We do know that the rest of your party enjoyed every bit of their meal as the lady who organised it came back the next day to personnally thank us, which is good enough for us!
Kind Regards,
All at Di Angelo's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cucina Di Angelo's also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to La Cucina Di Angelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing