We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Reviewed November 30, 2010

This was a nice hotel. I have used this group on a number of occassions when travelling on business around Europe. The Radisson in Athlone is no exception to the high standards within the group. I was happy to have found this hotel and will definately be back again!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joescrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,552 - 1,558 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2010

Lovely hotel..great location..warm and comfortable..friendly staff and great service..returning soon..recommended

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silversurferIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

stayed here at a busy time for the hotel....nice weather lovely views of the shannon river......worst thing for me was smell in the room....cig smoke.....it was terrible....asked for a move....no other rooms available.......bar was messy and not enough staff....breaky next day was similar.....messy and full....no real orange juice and toast was hot bread....but not toast......what has gone wrong with hotels and not being able to make toast for people at breaky......come on lads you must do better....maybe recession will make you all sit down and do new plans to keep customer happy.....do asap

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I stayed at the Radisson recently for a conference and was very highly impressed with the hotel and facilities. The conference room was bright, big and airy. The conference went smoothly which is a great testament to the staff at the hotel. Refreshments were provided through out the day and the standard was was excellent. We also availed of lunch at the hotel and this was also excellent.
As the conference was a distance from my home so i spent the previous night at the hotel. My bedroom was excellent, very comfortable and very clean. I dined in the restaurant that night also and the menu and food was of a very high standard. Overall i was very impressed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary186600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I recently had a family reunion at this hotel and have to say I found it really nice. The hotel staff were very friendly and obliging, especially Sarah at the reception who was very friendly, helpfull and patient during making the booking. The food was lovely and it was a bonus to have the live music in the hotel bar afterwards. The hotel location was perfect as it's only a few mins stroll to the shopping centre and bars and restaurants in the town centre. I would definately recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonkersv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

the location of this hotel is superb, the room was great (but a little hot) bar staff were lovely both a lunch and everning - only problem was check in which was very busy and only two desks open instead of three - but once we got to the desk after some serious line jumping by other guest the receptionist was very helpfull - I would really recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EithneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Just back from a midweek 3 night stay at the Radisson Athlone. From arrival to departure everything was truely 4star. The setting is magnificent down by the river and even though our weather was not great we still found plenty to do. Our normal locations generally give one or two nice drives, either to the sea or mountains and in that sense only did the area dissappoint a little as it was very flat with few features. That aside the Hotel food and service were superb. The Breakfast was buffet, not my personal favourite, but again the standard was so high and the dishes constantly replaced with fresh food. Rooms were fresh and very clean and all the staff went out of their way to help out, our TV, which was much older than the Hotel, failed on the last night and they were willing to move us to another room, like I said always willing to help. So if you like a great Hotel directly on the river with loads and loads of great shopping and a huge sellection of Restaurants within walking distance, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipWright777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,986 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,203 reviews
2 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.6 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: $73 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing