We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Nearby Hotels
$178
$151
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athlone Springs Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
$139
$124
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arch House B&B & Apartments(Athlone)(Great Value!)
$216
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Prince of Wales Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
$118
$103
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
$107
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,835)
Filter reviews
1,835 results
Traveler rating
691
592
314
129
109
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
691
592
314
129
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsavril kiernana business class roomoverlooking the rivershannon riverfamily suitehotel is in a great locationbar foodbar staffhot foodcentre of townbar areabreakfast was excellentsteam roomgreat selectionstayed here for one nightenjoyable stayfood was lovely
Filter
Updating list...
1,670 - 1,675 of 1,835 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2010

So this was my second time to stay here and yet again I could not sleep due to the noise! This time it was road works during the night....if you stay at this hotel, make sure you are on the river side, as it appears they are the quietest. It is a pity as the staff are very helpful and friendly, but if you can't sleep, what is the point of staying there...

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nayrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement33, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review here on Tripadvisor. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep. Unfortunately the road works going on outside of the hotel were completely out of our control, had you made us aware that they were disturbing you, we could have certainly done all in our power to eliminate the noise.

I will pass on your positive notes regarding the staff at our next staff meeting.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Radisson BLU Hotel Athlone in the near future.

Kind Regards

Rónán O’Halloran
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

nice hotel in centre of athlone. convenient to shopping. lovely views of river shannon. nice helpful staff.
ate in the restaurant and on the terrace and would recommend highly. the food is fantastic - couldn't fault.
paid for an upgrade to business class. not worth the extra money. no air conditioning so very uncomfortable at night. We asked for a fan which didn't make a huge difference to the "stuffiness" of the room. window didn't open very far. pay tv didn't work.
lovely hotel, enjoyed the food and the location but don't feel its worthy of it's four stars.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement33, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay. It is great to hear so many positive comments about your stay.

The heat in the rooms is something we are aware of, and once a guest notifies us that they are uncomfortable we organise a fan for them immediately.

I do hope you have the opportunity to visit Athlone in the near future, if you do please book through myself and I will ensure that there is no doubt at all in your mind as to our worthiness of our four stars.

I look forward to welcoming you to the Radisson BLU Hotel Athlone in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards

Rónán O’Halloran
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Just back from a two night stay in Radisson Blu, Athlone. Can't wait to go back!! Fab hotel, great staff, esp Nicola on reception. A great help. We hadnt got a room with a view, but the terrace out back overlooking the river shannon is to die for. There was a swing group on the sunday, and with the sun shining, the terrace was the place to be. We ate in the restaurant our first night, and found the food and service excellent. The bar food is also great and service second to none. The rooms are spotless and well maintained, the only gripe is rooms are too warm!! the windows don't open much and no air conditioning. Otherwise it's a well placed hotel, with great service and excellent food.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabethDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement33, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and also brilliant to receive such positive comments about staff, I’ll be sure to pass these on.

I would like to apologise for any discomfort you felt with the rooms being warm, this is the one negative side affect of having the sun shining outside that it does warm up the rooms a bit, for some people.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Radisson BLU Hotel Athlone in the near future.

Kind Regards

Rónán O’Halloran
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Myself, hubby and 2 year old little girl stayed for 2 nights in the Radisson Athlone in April. We have a small speed boat that we were hoping to spend time on over this particular weekend. Outside the hotel there are berts that can be rented out over night. starting from €15.
We booked our room with the hotel directly, the lady in reservations was so nice and helpful. We wanted a room with a view of the river and spacious for a little toddler to run around,
We were recommended and booked into room 111 , this is an amazing room. With a big hall as you walk in ( loads of room for the big buggy), big room with a king bed, huge bathroom with 2 sinks, sep shower and bath.
The high point of the room was the floor to celing window that overlooked the river. The sun filled the room, we spent alot more time in the room as it was so spacious and bright.
We didnt try out the hotel restraunt for dinner as we have a favourite Italian in Athlone that we like to go to " Di Bella". We highly recommend it.
Breakfast each morning had so much choice and food was great. The leisure centre pool was lovely too.
The next time we come to Athlone we will be staying in room 111 in the RAS.
Regards,
A very happy Portlaoise family.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaobella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement33, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your visit to the Radisson BLU Hotel Athlone.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you to Athlone in the near future.


Kind Regards
Ronan O’Halloran
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We spent a weekend at the Radisson Hotel in the Athlone, the hotel was right in the centre of the town so handy for walking to the shops, We had both lunch and dinner in the hotel the food was excelent the service was outstanding one lady in the resturant (Avril) was so friendley and efficient nothing was two much bother for her she could run the place on her own and looked like she was,

Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
Thank emer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement33, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments about your recent stay in the Radisson BLU Hotel Athlone.

It is great to receive such nice comments, especially about individual members of the team, I will be sure to pass on your compliments to Avril.

I do hope we have the pleasure of your company, again some time soon.

Kind Regards


Ronan O’Halloran
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews