We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“chill out after work with a barbecue at Radisson Hotel Athlone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“chill out after work with a barbecue at Radisson Hotel Athlone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

Our social club group had a most enjoyable evening last week after work with a barbecue - excellent choice of food served by friendly and courteous staff. We totally relaxed overlooking the river Shannon as the hours slipped by ! - thank you

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buddy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement33, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, June 6, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out, to provide us with your feedback from your recent visit.

When the sun comes out, our terrace is the perfect location overlooking the River Shannon to enjoy one of our Barbeques, or just to simply sip a cocktail.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Radisson BLU Hotel Athlone, in the near future.

Kind Regards


Rónán O’Halloran
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    477
    268
    105
    88
See reviews for
268
594
42
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
co mayo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

stayed in the radisson blu hotel in athlone for a hen party,greeted by friendly staff which were efficient and quick.there was a lovely atmosphere in the hotel,the rooms were clean and well kept.the food was gorgeous,the service i got was value for money,and i would highly rate this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoMayoMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement33, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, June 6, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments here on Tripadvisor.

It’s great to see that you enjoyed your stay so much.

With our central location here in Athlone, we belief we are ideal for any gathering, whether it be a conference, family reunion, or in your case a hen party.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Radisson BLU Athlone in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards


Rónán O’Halloran
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

Nice place in the centre of things. Rooms small but nice and clean. Food is lovely. Would recommend to other travellers. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belle032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinsale
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

Stayed in the Radisson Athlone for the Easter weekend. The hotel is in an ideal location for shopping & nightlife...we did both!! The staff were very friendly & helpful (we wernt sure of our way around Athlone). The room was lovely ,overlooking the River Shannon,really quiet & really comfy. Would definetly recommend this hotel & will definetly be back again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dad27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gselliott
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

Stayed in this hotel last night and unfortunately I was a little disapointed, the lobby looks really nice but unfortunately some of the other common parts are a little shabby. We stayed in a 'Standard' room which was a good size and had everything we needed - good big bed, TV (not flat screen which you would expect from a 4* hotel - but nothing wrong with it) 2 chairs, desk, safe etc. But it really wasn't very clean and looked a bit shabby, a big greasy mark down the wall and stains on the carpet in the bedroom. The grout around the bath was very grubby and the seal was half hanging off the shower screen - again not what you would expect from a 4* hotel especially at 99 euro a night! Saying all of this the room was very comfortable and we got a good night sleep and had a good breakfast, but having stayed at a number of Radissons (for work and lesuire) most of which really good quality I think the Athlone Hotel need to up their game a little as it could put customers off if the standards start to slip any more.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gselliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

I recently stayed with my 14 hens in the radisson athlone. The hotel is ideally located right in the centre of Athlone and over looking he shannon. The view is amazing from the bar. The staff were so helpful we felt like they were there for us alone. They placed us all on the same floor with interconnecting doors so no other residents knew the shinanigins we were up to!!!and no one else was disturbed dispite the hotel being full.

We sat up till the wee hours in the resisdents bar ( again miles away from normal sleeping residents) for stories memories and songs so the free late check out was really needed.
It was a really good value and the service was second to none. All the hens said they would come back with family or friends they enjoyed it so much.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0072302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

I spend two nights in the Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone .
From the time we arrived to the time we left
we enjoyed every second ,
The staff could not be more helpful friendly and efficient.
The rooms were clean and very comfortable
The menu is fantastic with a wide variety of choices.
the food was most enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goldedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
2.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rezidor and Booking.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing