We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Special...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Midlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nothing Special...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night B&B. Nothing overly impressed me, it just felt like a bed for the night.
The staff didn't do anything more than what they needed to do, they weren't rude but they weren't welcoming either...
I booked a double room for me & my partner, we rarely get away together and when we got the room it was two twin beds stuck together, it wasn't comfortable, I kept slipping between the crack so we had to sleep either side... But in saying that I didn't ask for a different room because we got back from dinner late enough & we didn't think that it would be as bad beforehand. They may have been accommodating if I had have asked.
Breakfast was nice and fresh with a good selection of cereals and fruit. I didn't have hot food as the hotel was so warm I thought I'd pass out if I added a hot breakfast to it!
Overall it was fine for an overnight stay if you are not expecting much more than a standard B&B. I think for what we got we overpaid, €120ish.
The best thing about it was the location, very central & walking distance to everything so no taxis required!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelJenn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi TravelJenn1,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We focus a lot on our customer service and I am disappointed to hear that it was not an experience that our customers usually enjoy. I regret to hear that your room was not as you expected. We are always delighted to accommodate our guests requests whenever they are brought to our attention.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our varied selection of cereals and fruit on offer in our breakfast buffet. Our location is something which all our guests are pleased with as we are in the heart of Athlone.

We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.


Kind Regards,

Sinead Marron

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    499
    276
    110
    92
See reviews for
277
614
44
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Externally unimpressive, internally a whole different story. Very modern, welcoming reception. Warmly greeted by an employee who was in-training but was smiling, efficient and informative. There was an issue over "Breakfast-included" or not but it was professionally dealt with by both her and the hotel manager and a solution was quickly sorted. Luckily, I managed to get one of the new updated rooms. They were impeccably clean, fresh, modern and decorated to a high standard. The bathroom / shower was spotless. The room did become uncomfortably warm during the night but the thermostat quickly solved that. The leisure centre was also great and staff there were very accommodating and courteous. Without doubt, breakfast was most impressive, copious and wide-ranging and the morning staff were fantastic, smiling, hard-working and friendly. Indeed this was a most pleasant and relaxing stay during a very busy working schedule. Will definitely be back in the near future.

Room Tip: 329 was well-appointed, updated and newly decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxymm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi foxymm,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay with us. It is wonderful to hear so many positive comments. Guests service is very important to us and it is pleasing that you found the service friendly and helpful. Our staff are highly trained and are always ready to find the solution to any issue.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Had a 2 night stay. Nice hotel centrally located in a nice town. Would like to go back in the summer. Marked down a star because the steak sandwich was poor. It's really hard to mess up a steak sandwich but they did. Visit seans bar while in athlone

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi James167,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and would like to come back this Summer.

However, I am disappointed to hear that you found the steak sandwich poor - we strive to ensure our food is of a consistent high standard and receive regular compliments on our food.
It is only with feedback like yours that we can improve and I will certainly pass your comment to our head chef and this team.

We look forward to seeing you again this Summer.


Kind Regards,

Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in the middle of February. We found the staff to be very helpful (especially Claudine). The food in the bar and restaurant were great and very portion sizes were perfect for those with a healthy appetite. The room although comfortable could definitely do with a makeover as there were a few stains on the carpet and tears in the curtains but hte bed was clean and comfortable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4alive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi 4alive,

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. I am delighted to hear that our staff were helpful to you. I will pass your positive comments to Claudine. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your meals both in the Quayside Bar and Elements Bistro. I am happy that you felt comfortable in the room you stayed and I will pass your comments regarding the curtains and carpet to our accommodation manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not so distant future.


Kind Regards,

Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed 1 night recently prior to wedding. Lovely meal in restaurant. Lovely river view from bedroom. Staff helpfully recommended hair and makeup nearby. Very helpful on telephone in advance. Will return

Room Tip: Request a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi M F ,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent stay. I am delighted to hear so many positive comments about your stay. It is great to see you enjoyed your meal in our Element Bistro. I am happy to hear that our staff were helpful when you were looking for information. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the view of the River Shannon from your bedroom.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

I could not enter the street that the hotel is on the road was blocked. the sat nav was no good but I met two of the local police the garda who showed me the way by the back roads. a big thank you.the hotel had plenty of free parking and booking in was easy. the bar and breakfast were great, I did not eat at the hotel for dinner. the room was large and well appointed. my only problem was the key card which needed to be re programmed 6 times during my one night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianwNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi brianwNorthants,

Thank you for providing us with a review of your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that you were unable to access the front entrance of our Hotel from Northgate Street due to recent works being carried out by the local council. In relation to the key card for your room I will bring this to the attention of our Front Office manager to ensure this does not happen again.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with our car parking facilities. I am also happy to hear that you had a great time in our bar.

I do hope that when you came back to us next time you will find some time to enjoy dinner in our Element’s Bistro.

Kind Regards,

Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed here last weekend. This is our second time and not our last. We were put in a business class room which was really nice and we had a fabulous view overlooking the Shannon. It was clean and comfortable. The staff are really nice.

Room Tip: We had room 409 overlooking the Shannon. It was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aishling G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi Ashling G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that this is your second stay with us and that the staff were helpful. I will be sure to let them know that they helped make your stay an enjoyable one. It is great to hear that you were impressed with your room and the view of the River Shannon; it is something which our guests always enjoy.

We look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.9 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Rezidor, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing