We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok - but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Westport, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Ok - but nothing special”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Friendly welcome and quick check-in. The room was fine, bed reasonably comfortable but with an odd configuration for lighting that seemed to be all on or all off. TV was very last century - would expect a flat screen these days. Breakfast ok with a reasonable selection. Main issue was lack of sleep due to a band playing in a function room (we were on the 3rd floor!) - so beware booking at weekends.

Room Tip: High floor especially if entertainment is on in a function room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMHGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear JMHGlobetrotter,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We will shortly be beginning renovations to the hotel and will pass on your feedback to the maintenance department. I do hope that you will consider staying with us in the future.

Kind regards,
Sinead Marron,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    534
    297
    117
    100
See reviews for
304
664
46
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed here recently for two nights -the October bank holiday weekend!
Parking is a nightmare...people were double parked..parked on double yellow lines..
We switched rooms during our stay...the first room had a partial view of the marina...the decor was very dated...the patterned carpet was tacky...room was small..dated television....very dark..musky smell. Bed was very comfortable and big...
The next day we paid for an upgrade to an executive suite.The room was large but nothing special...the shower kept blocking..part of the shower head kept falling off...furniture was very old fashioned..on a plus side the view from the room was amazing...staff were very helpful and friendly...they work very hard... To me this hotel is not worthy of four stars...it needs to be refurbished.it is not in the same league as other Radisson hotels I have stayed in...

Room Tip: View from the executive suite is amazing...I could look out the window all day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear DKjazzy,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us. I regret to hear that you were disappointed with our parking facilities. It is a pity that we did not reach the standard as you expected in our accommodation. I will definitely be sending on your recommendations regarding the facilities and maintenance in the room to the housekeeping department. Your comments are really important to us, as we are always looking to improve the service which we provide to our guests.
On the other hand, I am pleased to hear that you were impressed with the view from our executive room. Our location overlooking the River Shannon is one of our finest attributes here at the Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone
We do hope that you will consider coming back to us again in the future!

Kindest Regards,

Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roscommon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Have just returned from a stay in the radisson which was very good staff were excellent so helpful we were away with three kids for their birthday staff brought down a cake to them and even sang happy birthday to them they were so happy our room was very nice big family room with two televisions so no fighting over what we wanted to watch we had our dinner at the bar which was very nice and tasty bar was busy but a lot of staff to serve everyone

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjoyce38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Sjoyce38,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay and for sharing it with the public. I am delighted to hear that you found our staff so helpful and I will be sure to let them know that they contributed in making your stay an enjoyable one. I am happy that your children had a nice birthday with us in the Radisson Blu and that you were pleased with our spacious family room. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to us again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Hi, I stayed in this hotle at the weekend and was looking forward to a nice swim and chill out in their synergy leisure centre. I was so dissappointed with it, it was dirty in the changing facilities, the pool itself is small and has no lane swimming facilities. It could really do with some TLC. However, on a brighter note. All the staff at the hotel were so good and really helpful. The hotel itself is in a great location and is really beautiful. The rooms were big and had very comfortable beds. I would definatley stay here again, the pool is the only downside of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Sandra O,

Thank you for taking the time for reviewing the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone. I am disappointed to hear that our leisure facilities were not up to standard and will pass on this information to the leisure centre staff. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and I am delighted to hear that you were impressed with our staff. We do hope your return to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Sinead Marron,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just returned from a 2day break with my husband and son. We had great expectations when we booked due to location and river view. We stayed in a family room the room was ridiculously big (why are u complaining u may ask) the room was freezing cold and the room has to be one of the most basic i have ever stayed in. There were no soft furnishings at all to give it a warm comfortable feel. The sofas in the room were hard and cheap looking and i was completly taken aback by how much of a waste it was. We would have prefered to stay in a smaller room that was decorated to a high standard. The same seating was in the hotel lobby and again there was nothing warm or comfortable about it that would intice you to sit down and chill out. I feel its an awful shame the hotel is in a fantastic location and Athlone is a lovely little town. The staff were lovely and very helpfull, my only criticism is the hotel i feel it could do with a make over

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear emmajer,

I regret to hear that you were disappointed with your stay here at the Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone.

I understand that it is getting cold, and the temperature would be low as people keep coming in through the front entrance. I apologise for any inconvenience caused as a result of the low temperature in the lobby area. I will send on your comments to the front office team and we will look after it well.

It is a pity that you were not impressed with the family suite. I have passed on your comments to the housekeeping and maintenance team, and I am sure that I will be looking into these issues on my own to improve our accommodation qualities and standards. I am glad to hear about positive comments regarding the staff at the hotel. We hope to make some improvements in the near future to provide you a more pleasant stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Sinead Marron

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Nice location on river, but parking was overflowing when we arrived. Not even enough space to pull curbside and check-in. Had to park off-site. Staff courteous and helpful, but understaffed. Business class room was small. Shower drain didn't drain well and backed up water to my ankles. No shower curtain, but half-door glass panel instead that allowed water to roll off ledge of tub down side and onto floor. After one shower, found water had traveled along grout all the way outside of bathroom and soaked my suitcase. Pretty stingy on the soap. I washed with a sliver the last day. Hotel breakfast was OK. Buffet style, but nothing extravagant. If hotel was rated on cost consciousness and cost-cutting, they would receive high marks. Low marks from me though for deprivation of service and amenities.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Greg H,

Thank you for telling us your findings on the Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone.

I regret to hear that you had such an unmemorable stay with us.

While it is lovely to know that you were pleased with our location which is beside the Shannon River.

I am sorry to learn about the problems in the bathroom. I have passed on your comments to the housekeeping and maintenance team. I will be looking into the hygiene issues myself to ensure these issues are resolved as soon as possible.

It is a pity that we did not reach the standard as you expected. I definitely will be sending on your words to all the team at the hotel. I hope you will consider returning to us again for a more pleasant experience. If you require any assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind regards,

Sinead Marron

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My friend and I planned a girls night out in Athlone and got a great rate at the Radisson Blu. I arrived early and checkin was as expected from Radisson Blu - easy! Initially we were given a double room in error which overlooked very little so I was delighted to find the twin we were reassigned too overlooked the river - really pretty. The decor of the room however is hard to understand. I stay in numerous Radissons and the decor in this one is definitely not in line with expectations. The blue and yellow which follows through from headboards to curtains just doesn't work for me but I am picky I suppose!!

If this is the only negative I can find its got to be a good thing right!! We didn't spend much time in the hotel and didn't have breakfast here but from the plus side I can say - the bar is great - service is excellent - parking is free and the location is just perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river - just fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear angester,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your reviews on the Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone. I am sorry to hear that you were given a double room in error when you checked in, while it is great to know that you were pleased with the twin room, as well as the view of the Shannon River.

I regret to hear the disappointment on our accommodation décor. It is a pity that we did not reach the standard that you expected. There is a plan to re-decorate the rooms in the near future and recently our maintenance department have commenced work on some of our bedrooms.

It is always great to hear positive comments regarding our staff and services. I am also happy to know that you were satisfied with the free parking at the hotel. I will be sharing your kind words to all the staff, especially the bar team. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sinead Marron

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,885 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,063 reviews
2.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.6 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Rezidor, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing