We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly situated hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfectly situated hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here as the second part of our honeymoon, the hotel is really well positioned for the local amenities. We were lucky to visit during an unusual warm spell and on our night we chose to stay at the hotel for a meal as an easy option! We were tempted by the BBQ on the lovely large decking area and the food was superb and fantastic value 10 € for a burger BBQ with unlimited salads etc. the choice was great and all kept fresh despite the soaring temperatures. We enjoyed ourselves that much we returned the next evening for the BBQ again! The chef jessy was a great character and really added to the feel of the place.

The rooms were a good size, we stayed in the business class room and it was well equipped and had amazing views of the river Shannon and local church. Only grumble with the room was no air conditioning made for an uncomfortable night in the unusually high temperatures!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Leah R,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to express your findings as it is only when we receive feedback such as yours that we can improve our service.
We are glad to have you here with us as a part of your honeymoon. It is always great to hear kind comments regarding of our food as we pride ourselves in sourcing all our food produce locally to ensure a high quality and standard. I appreciate that we have provided you an enjoyable experience during your stay. I will share your reviews with the chef Jessy, as well as all the staff at the hotel, as I am sure they would be thrilled with that. We hope to welcome you back soon in the near future!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    476
    268
    105
    88
See reviews for
268
593
42
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights last week, when it was very hot. The room was average but the bed was big and comfy. It was sweltering hot and the outside deck overlooking the river was a lovely place to sit and have a drink.
Our only complaint was our room overlooked the front entrance, and there seemed to be people coming in and out all night long, shouting and laughing, sitting on the steps having a cigarette etc. at 4.30am we had had enough and rang down to reception to complain. It stopped for a while, only for us to be woken up again by the fire alarm going off as someone was smoking in their bedroom. We had a repeat sleepless night the next night. The swimming pool was a nice place to cool off in. Make sure you wear a swimming hat, or buy one for 2 euros at the desk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the car park and front entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hedge81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear hedge81,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. It is only with comments like yours that we can continue to improve our service for our guests.
We regret to hear your comments regarding the noise. We have taken your comments on board and are trying our best to enhance our guests’ stay with us. Our night manager was aware of the noise group and tried to hush the noise. I apologize that this kept you awake much after our effort to try to quieten them. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the terrace as we are very lucky to be in our magnificent location alongside the Shannon. I will share your comments to all the team at the hotel, as well as the staff in the gym and swimming pool. I hope that you will consider returning to us in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here recently as part of a very large group. Staff were very friendly. We cycled from Dublin and they opened up a room for us to leave our bikes which was very helpful. Outside decking area has a great view over the shannon. Rooms are a little dated would have expected a higher standard for a Radisson hotel - the night we stayed was unusualy hot - our room was way too hot, their was no air con and they didn't have a fan they could give us. However this was very unusual weather for Athlone! Breakfast was fine. This hotel was perfect for our large group and the staff were very friendly however I would rate it as a 3 star rather than a 4.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohohitsjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Ohohitsik,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. It was a joy to have you here with us. And I am delighted that we made it an enjoyable and memorable stay for you and everyone in our group. Our location is one of our best attributes. It is lovely to hear that you were impressed with it. I will pass on your reviews to all the staff at the hotel, as I know they would be thrilled with your kind comments.
I regret to hear your problems with the room standard. Due to the warm weather recently, we understand that some of our rooms especially on higher floors were of an uncomfortable temperature, and we endeavoured to supply fans to as many rooms as possible. We hope to see you again and welcome you back to us!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a weekend break. The hotel is located very close to the centre of town. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. There was a nice relaxed atmosphere even though the hotel was very busy. The food was very tasty. The weather was amazing so we got to sit out on the decking over looking the Shannon with a beautiful view. The unusually high temperature made the bedrooms extremely warm which was a little uncomfortable that is why I rated sleep quality so low but it was very unusually to experience those temperatures over a number of days. The leisure facilities were adequate, The gym is lovely and the pool was practical. Very relaxing stay!! If my review is helpful please rate it. Thanks.

Room Tip: If the weather is hot make sure you ask for a room on the lower floors. A room with a view of the S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkletwinkle_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear twinkletwinkle_2008,

Firstly I want to thank you most sincerely for taking time to give us your feedback. It is always great to have positive comments regarding on our staff, services and facilities. I am delighted to hear that you had a good weekend with us and were impressed with our location, as it is one of our best attributes. The weather was exceptionally warm, and I apologize if your stay was uncomfortable due to this. I will be passing on your kind comments to all the team at the hotel. And we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Not quite sure how a hotel without climate control can boast 4 stars but that's the situation the Radisson are in. Our family had organised a get-together in Athlone last weekend and we thought we were going to be extrememly lucky with the weather but it meant the rooms, reception area, restaurant and bar were all like a sauna. When we complained to reception, they couldn't even find a fan for my 85-year old grandmother. Fortunately we had no young children with us.

To top it all off, we had booked a group dinner for 24 and they only had one staff member serving us. This one person was lovely and worked very hard but there is no way one person can server 24 main courses with sides in a timely manner. Having to wait 10 minutes from when the mains were served until we got our sides is not acceptable.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room so that there are two sets of windows to open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here for one Sunday night 3 weeks ago and we were happy with our stay. Booked room on the Saturday for 59Euro (not including breakfast), upon check-in we were met by a very nice receptionist. When we got to our room found out we had been upgraded to a Business Executive rooom. This was fantastic as my better half is 8 months pregnant so the larger bed was ideal. This was a nice surprise.

The bar had a great atmosphere and the food was great (2 x Sirloins).

My only criticism is the breakfast. We decided to partake (even though it was 12.50 each!!!!!!) as we assumed for that price it would be freshly made. It wasn't, the usual buffet. No fried eggs, bacon barely cooked and scrambled eggs were made from processed (dried egg). Not very nice and no way should this breakfast be the price it is.

Overall though very happy with the hotel itself and will definitely stay again, although we will go for a walk elsewhere for breakfast.

***On a side note, those negative reviews recently complaining about the heat and lack of a/c in this hotel should be discounted as this recent heat spell is pretty much unprecedented and unexpected. Hotels cannot be expected to install a/c overnight. That would be like expecting a hotel in Morocco to have heaters installed if there was a 2 week blizzard. Unrealistic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daddycuckoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear daddycuckoo,

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to provide a review of your experience with us and for choosing to stay at Radisson Blu Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a good weekend with us. It is a joy to hear great comments on our service and staff. I will be passing on your words to the reception team and the staff in bar at the hotel. On the other hand, I feel sorry about the problems of breakfast. Our new head chef is re-organising the kitchen area currently, and we are sure that our breakfast will be much improved in a short time. We are looking forward to having you here again in the future!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Gave the Radisson 5 stars last year. Not this time unfortunately...

Had booked a weekend away to visit Athlone Castle, do some shopping and go to Clonmacnoise by boat (lovely !). We had a business room on the front of the hotel, 3rd floor. When we opened the door to our room, it was like walking into a sauna ! There is no AC, you could only open ONE window a tiny tiny bit (suicide windows - not even the width of your hand) and there were no fans available as well.

Being in the front of the hotel, the sun was beaming through the windows all day, which made it unbearable, even when you pulled the heavy curtains (which the cleaning staff reopened). When i asked for a fan, i was told they were all gone, they did put me on a priority list but i never got one.

I understand that Ireland usually doesn't get weather like this, but it had been warm and sunny for the last 2 weeks so the hotel should have bought more fans and be prepared for the heatwave just by checking the weather forecast.

On top of that, the pool closed at 6.15pm at the weekend which i thought was ridiculous as it was the only way that people could cool down after a day's walking around town.

I didn't sleep AT ALL the first night, even trying to reorganise the armchairs and breakfast table near the tiny window opening with pillows on top, to try and catch a breeze but to no avail. I walked around the corridors and the hotel then to pass the time. I did not stay my second night there and went back to Dublin on the last train the next day, i just couldn't face another sleepless night in the stifling heat. So, i was disappointed this time. They need to put air conditioning in the rooms or at least to be able to open ALL the windows in the room fully.

Apart from that, the staff was nice, the food was good but i didn't enjoy my weekend (well, half my weekend). Sorry Radisson, you are only getting 2 stars from me this time.

Room Tip: Business Rooms on the front of the hotel have river view but very very hot in summer !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValandPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear ValandPixie,

Many thanks for taking time to give your feedback to us. Firstly, I regret to hear about the problems of your room that made your stay uncomfortable. Due to the hot weather recently, I understand that a lot of rooms are exceptionally hot. I apologize here that we did not make the issue solved well for you this time.
It is always great to get positive comments regarding on our staff and food. I will be passing on all the team at the hotel. We hope to welcome you again in the short future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
2.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rezidor and Booking.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing