We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had our Civil Partnership in the Radisson Blu Athlone in August 2012. From the initial meeting to find out about their packages we were very impressed by how friendly and welcoming the staff were. The lead up to our ceremony was made very easy because of the support given by the staff at the Radisson. The wedding packages on offer were very reasonably priced considering the level of quality on offer - the menu options were very impressive and a couple of extras, such as a years gym membership, made it an easy choice. On the day itself the food was fantastic, the room looked great and was private with its own bar. The quality of the suite was also very high. Overall we were really impressed and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBrowne_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear PBrowne_13

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to write your wonderful review about your day here with us. Firstly I want to thank you for sharing your day here with us at the Radisson. We were delighted to have assisted you on such a memorable day and we are delighted that you found the experience as enjoyable as we did. We are delighted to hear your comments about our staff as it is always great to hear such kind words about the team. I will be passing on your comments to all the staff here at the Radisson and we look forward to welcoming you back here for your one year anniversary. I hope life is treating you well and we’ll see you soon!

Regards,

Sinead Marron

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,242 - 1,248 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

We got married here last November. All of our guests were raving about the service, food and bedrooms. The staff of the hotel and sales team are fantastic to deal with.
We would highly recommend it for anyone planning a wedding.

Room Tip: all rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Jamess
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. Firstly we want to thank you for sharing your day here with us at Radisson Blu. It was a joy to work with you and we are delighted that your day was such a memorable and enjoyable experience. It is always great to hear such great comments about our staff and I will be passing on your kind comments to the sales team and to all the staff here at the hotel. We hope married life is treating you well and wish you the best of happiness for the years to come. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for your one year anniversary.

Kind Regards,

Sinead Marron

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

As Club Carlson member I secured excellent room rates (two rooms) during the January sale for a June stay. It was such a good deal I was fearing the worst. When we arrived the place was buzzing with activity because it had been fully booked that weekend. We were staying just one night, a Sunday night. The reception by Averil was professional, efficient and kindly given. She is very good at her job and seems to thrive with all that activity. Our beds were comfortable, rooms in perfect order with view of Shannon River, and we were happy with the breakfast buffet in the morning with plenty of selections. One little tiny complaint would be that bartender did not forewarn my brother of what a particular whiskey would cost that he ordered for his wife. It was a very tiny dribble for 16.50 - so be forewarned there. Otherwise, all was good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear ChiWind,
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you and your family were pleased with your stay in our hotel here in Athlone, though it was a busy weekend for us. We work very hard to provide our customers with the best possible stay with us. On the other hand, my apologies for the bartender’s mistake. It is always great to receive any feedback from our Guests especially regarding the staff. I will be sending on your comments to all the team here at the hotel, and I am sure that they will pay more attention to these things in the future! We look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards,

Sinead Marron

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Typical large nicely decorated rooms. It's not the best Radisson hotel I've been to, it misses a certain something other hotels in this chain have. It has some more basic qualities which other don't, naff tv and dated bathroom. The breakfast however is superb with a good choice in the buffet. Parking can be awkward when there is a wedding on, they don't have enough spaces for everyone when it's busy. It's in a good central spot close to everything. Overall a good choice for staying in Athlone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BC1377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear BC1377,

Many thanks for your review on Radisson Blu, we regret to hear your comments on the parking issue, we are aware that due to our central town location, parking can sometimes be an issue. We are also looking into redecorating the rooms and hope to have the process started shortly. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here in Athlone and we look forward to welcoming you back to us soon!

Regards,

Sinead Marron

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I got married last August at the Radisson Blu in Athlone. We had planned to look at a few hotels as possible venues for the reception, but we were so impressed with the welcome, the friendliness and the venue itself we booked straight away with the Radisson without looking elsewhere.

We were disappointed at all, the day was perfect, the organisers Tanya and Denise were great and so helpful and the staff ensured that everyone had a great time. Everything ran smoothly and everyone had a great time. To this day my family from England are still talking about how great the wedding and hotel staff were.

When my wife and I now going away for weekends in the UK or Ireland we always stay at a Radisson Blu hotel if their is one in the town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wedding812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Wedding812,

Many thanks for your lovely comments. Firstly we want to thank you for sharing your day with us here at Radisson Blu, and we are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable and memorable wedding here. We are delighted to have assisted you in making your wedding so special and it was a joy to work with you. It is wonderful to hear you were happy with our service and location. It is always great to hear such great words about our staff and I will be sharing your comments with all the team here at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ireland again soon and you are always more than welcome in Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone. Best wishes from all the team of Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone!

Regards,

Sinead Marron

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is basically a functional hotel, the staff were very nice but the overall atmosphere is bland and ordinary. This is despite a great location on the river in the centre of athlone. The room was too crowded with furniture and was very warm.. No air conditioning.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oonaghcomerford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Oonaghcomerford,

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback and we are delighted to hear that you are satisfied with the service in our hotel and had the opportunity to take advantage of our fabulous location. We apologize about the inconvenience with your room. Due to the lovely weather recently we understand that temperatures in the rooms have been higher than normal. We have contacted the Housekeeping department and hope to get the rooms sorted out as soon as possible.
We hope you will return to us soon, and thanks again for your helpful comments!

Kind Regards,

Sinead Marron,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here in May with our two toddlers, we had a huge family room, which was akin to two adjoining room, great to have extra space with young boys with lots of energy. Although the room decor was a little dated it was well equipped and clean. Bar food was very tasty and not too pricey. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatalieFitzgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Doolin,

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the food here. We are always trying to improve our menu for our guests and love to hear your comments. Regarding the room décor we are currently looking into redecorating our rooms and hope to have the process started soon.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to us soon!

Regards,

Sinead Marron,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,987 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,204 reviews
2 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.6 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: $73 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing