We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel....great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We enjoyed a two-night weekend stay at the hotel, which was very busy at the time. It's really well located on the banks of the Shannon in the centre of Athlone, and it's a very competent hotel in everything that it does. It's well up to par with any Radisson Blu properties we've stayed in. Our family suite was spacious and perfect for our needs, and I'd disagree with some previous reviewers in that I thought the food - at both dinner & breakfast - was very good. But what makes this hotel is the staff. From bar staff through to reception personnel and the great restaurant waiting staff, they're all welcoming, friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank businesseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear businesseye,

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I was delighted to read that you were impressed with our service. It is wonderful to hear you enjoy the food and have been impressed with our location. We are always happy to hear good comments regarding our staff and I will be sending on your comments to all the team here at the hotel. We hope to have you stay in our hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sinead
General Manager

Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,246 - 1,252 of 1,743 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed in the Radisson Blu for a 3 night break recently. What can I say...It is a nice hotel ... The food and service were excellent ( Asia from restaurant very helpfull and polite )and the rooms are very spacious with wonderful views of the shannon. Really loved it and cant wait to go back. Highly recommed it

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marekdublin2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear marekdublin2012

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope that we can welcome you back again soon. It was always great to receive positive feedback from our Guests especially regarding the staff .I will be sending on your comments to all the team here at the hotel.

Thanks again
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here for one night and the location is a great base to get around Athlone town.
Room price is reasonable and good value for money.
The rooms are fine, if a little cramped and I found the bathroom tiny. There is no air-con in the rooms and it got very hot. We left the window open all night but were woken at around 3am by a lot of noise coming from the car park from people who were just finishing their night out - outside of the control of the hotel but a bit of a nuisance.
Check-in was quick and the girl looking after us was very pleasant.
We didn't eat in the hotel at all, so can't comment on that. We particularly enjoyed the large terrace at the back of the hotel, which looks out over the river and spent a very enjoyable few hours sitting here in the sun.
Overall, good value for money and I'd return if in the area again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XshellyX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear XshellyX,

Many thanks for your review on the hotel, we regret to hear your comments on the room, we have taken your comments on board and are looking into providing air conditioning on the rooms to enhance our guests’ stay with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the terrace as we are very lucky to be in our magnificent location alongside the Shannon. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Sinead
General Manager

Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed for two nights June bh. On entrance hotel looks great. Fast check inn and friendly staff. At the bar we took a seat and no member of staff approached to take an Oder. I ordered at the bar. Food was prompt and tasty. We ordered room service later that evening. Big mistake. We ordered starters mains dessert. Al came to the room quickly, wings where soggy and tasteless and did not come as described on menu. Burger was the worst burger I have ever seen. It was burnt to a crisp. Charcoal. Sent it back and the next one was almost as bad. Pizza was good. We got no cutlery to eat out food with and the desserts where not nice. Very synthetic and I would say bought in.the room was comfortable and has everything you need for a short break. Even if it was a little noisey late in the night from entertainment in the bar. We also had a problem with our room cards after being out all day walking we arrived at the room and the door would not open I had to walk all the way back down to reception to get new cards. Not fun when you've been walking all day and just want to relax

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gastrob2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Gastrob2013

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to express your findings as it is only when we receive feedback such as yours that we can improve our service. I apologise for your bad experience with our food service and the inconvenience with your key cards. I have shared your comments with the team here at the Radisson Blu and we are currently reviewing our room service menu. I hope that you will consider returning to us in the future and I will personally ensure you are looked after.

Kind Regards,
Sinead

General Manager

Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I frequent the Radisson Blu hotel in Athlone quite a lot, sometimes up to four times a week. The ambience of the wide spaced hotel is vast. There is always a comfortable area to socialise, work and eat/drink. The panoramic view of the River Shannon and Athlone Castle shows across from the wooden patio at the back of the hotel.
I use the hotel for work meetings and because of its central spot in Athlone, I always schedule meetings in the foyer or bar for clients, or sometimes just for friends.
I can’t fault any of the staff members, they are all courteous and helpful, no matter how busy or what time of the day or night you call to the Radisson. However there is a bar staff member, Avril Kiernan, who I would like to single out. She is courteous over and beyond the call of duty, and I have noticed that she treats all the guests superbly. She leaves nobody waiting for menus, and on one recent occasion, I was with a person, who needed to catch a train, and she made sure that we got our meal in time, so he could leave for his train.
She is particularly courteous and friendly to elderly people who attend the hotel, and gives an incredible homely and traditional feeling to the hotel, which is something which lacks in most Irish hotels today. I feel I have to single out Avril because of her constant attention, but that is not taking from the other excellent staff members, ie Mark, Gavin, Claudine, Aisling, the two Kasias, Paul, Brian, Karen, Killian, Noel, Victor. I’m bound to be leaving somebody out, but that’s not deliberate, and the management can be very proud and happy with all their staff.
David

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank DavidAthlone2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear DavidAthlone2013,

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to write your review. We pride ourselves in making your business and personal appointments as comfortable as possible and I was delighted to read that you were impressed with our service and our location. We are always happy to hear good comments regarding our staff and I will be sending on your comments to all the team here at the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Sinead
General Manager

Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I had our wedding here at the start of May and words can not describe how amazing our day went thanks to the hotel and its incredible staff. Everything we asked for was carried out to the highest standard and we felt really looked after and cared for by all the staff all day. The standard of the food, service and the atmosphere throughout was beyond our expectations. There was no shortage of champagne or canapés at the drinks reception and our guest’s glasses were never empty at the dinner which is what ever bride and groom wants to hear. Since the wedding we have been inundated with compliments about the standard and quality of the food throughout the day.
As part of our day we had organized two boat trips from the hotel pier and this all went off without a hitch thanks to Tanya and the team who helped in getting everyone on and off the boats, quickly and efficiently. The hotel staff brought the champagne (which they had kindly held over night and chilled for us), ice and trays of food to the boats for us prior to departure and yet again this was well-organized and carried in a competent and prompt manner.
Our theme for the wedding day was vintage chic, which again required a lot of help from the hotel, in setting tables with china tea sets and assembling china cake stands for displays during the drinks reception and for the desserts after dinner. The hotel again accommodated us by accepting the boxes of china and accessories the Thursday before our wedding. The table settings for the drinks reception and in the main room looked fantastic, and this didn’t go unnoticed by the guests who commented to me throughout the day about the décor and the settings. We were so trilled with all the compliments and with how the room looked, it really did exceed our expectations.
The Bridal suite is amazing with panoramic views of the river Shannon and was large enough to facilitate a very relaxing morning of hair and make up for myself and the bridal party the day of the wedding. A number of requests for extra drinks and food on the morning were dealt with effectively and efficiently. On the night of our wedding we were greeted by a lovely card, fruit basket and water on arrival to the bridal suite and the next morning we were awoken by a call from the reception manager to ask if we were ready for our champagne breakfast or would we like it at a later time than stated. The breakfast was delivered in a heated trolley and was yet again fantastic quality and there was enough food to feed a small army.
Overall we can not recommend the hotel enough to anyone who is considering it for there wedding or any special occasion. The staff and the banqueting team must be complimented on their total and utter commitment to what they do. In particular we can not speak highly enough of Tanya the wedding coordinator for her accommodating manner throughout the whole planning process. She was extremely efficient, professional, and obliging during all our meetings. We always felt so excited about our wedding after speaking to Tanya because she brings so much enthusiasm to her job. She was happy to help us at all stages and with all queries, we always felt in safe hands and always felt like our wedding was important and individual which is so important to any bride and groom.
We would like to thank The Radisson Hotel and all the staff for the best day of our lives.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kchIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear KchIreland,

Many thanks for your lovely comments. Firstly we want to congratulate you on your recent wedding and thank you for sharing your day with us here at the Radisson Blu. We are delighted to have assisted you in making your day so special and it was an absolute pleasure to work with you. It is wonderful to hear you were happy with our service and location. It is always great to hear such great words about our staff and I will be sharing your comments with all the team here at the hotel. We take great pride in all of our weddings while also ensuring personal attention at all time. I am delighted to hear that Tanya and whole team looked after you so well from your initial enquiry. We look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your 1st anniversary with us
And from all the team here, best wishes to you both for a happy future and a marriage filled with lots of love and happiness.

Kind Regards,

Sinead
General Manager

Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I've used the Radisson Blu in Athlone extensively over the past couple of years and find it offers good clean accommodation at reasonable prices. At quiet periods the resturant closes in the evening and then dinner is served in the bar. Breakfast is a basic buffet and works well. Sometimes the music played at breakfast is more suited to evening moods!The hotel has a great location overlooking the boat marina, staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms will soon be in need of a makeover, including TVs which are the old, box style and in some the sound is very distorted. Nevertheless a decent place to lay your head.

Room Tip: Riverside is obviously great for views. Fifth floor has suites for families but dormer windows and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear JimM,

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, I am delighted to hear you were pleased with your stay in our hotel here in Athlone. We work very hard to provide our customers with the best possible stay with us. We have also taken your thoughtful comments on board and are looking into replacing the televisions in the rooms. We always like to hear our guests’ opinions as it helps us to provide the best possible service and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Sinead
General Manager

Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,973 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,189 reviews
2.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.6 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: $76 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing