We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All Ireland Probus Rally”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Carrickfergus
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“All Ireland Probus Rally”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for the above Rally from 15th-16th May 2013 and enjoyed the visit and seeing a few of the interesting places in Athlone.We will return to the area for a longer stay.
The Hotel was the Venue for the Rally which was why we chose to stay there and it is very centrally situated.Our Breakfast was excellent with all the usual things available to set one up for a days sightseeing.I was disappointed to find that an otherwise good room was spoiled by having a Torn Curtain.Housekeeping should not have missed this no matter how busy the Hotel was.
Good beds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TubalCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Lowry, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Tubalcain
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope that we can welcome you back again soon. I was disappointed to read about the torn curtain and immediately passed this information on to our housekeeping staff. We were delighted to host the PROBUS rally and we hope to welcome you all back again soon.

Thanks again
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    498
    276
    110
    92
See reviews for
277
614
44
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
athlone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

. My friend and I meet in your hotel for lunch every week We find it is important that we can eat within our lunch time. We are always pleased when Avril Kiernan is on duty as she is so personable and competent and we are sure of being well looked after

thank you
2 lunchtimers.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank annemary_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Lowry, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear annemary
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback.It is very pleasing to read that you enjoy your lunches here in the Radisson and that you find our staff to be very helpful. Avril will be especially happy to hear she has been praised so highly by you and I will make sure to pass on the praise to her.

Thanks again
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I recently had a nice relaxing break with my partner in this hotel from the moment we arrived the staff where lovely and the atmosphere was so relaxed. The hotel room was lovely with a nice view. We had lunch and dinner that evening and the food was lovely and very reasonable price. Breakfast was also included which we had delivered to the room and everything was real fresh.
Would definitley return to this hotel

Room Tip: Definitely good value and rooms very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DM2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Lowry, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear DM
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope that we can welcome you back again soon. It was always great to receive positive feedback from our Guests especially regarding the staff .I will be sending on your comments to all the team here at the hotel.

Thanks again
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just back from having one night stay here with husband. We were guests at our friends Wedding. Fantastic venue for this occasion. Food lovely and even the breakfast the next day was a great spread. Boat ride on the waterway outside the hotel. Definitely worth it to take in the best of Athlone scenery. Spacious surroundings within the hotel. We booked standard ensuite room. Very comfortable and clean. All staff very polite and top service. We would stay here again.:))

Room Tip: Ask for room facing onto the river plus St. Paul and St. Peter cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Lowry, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear corsas
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. The wedding was a fantastic occasion and we enjoyed hosting it. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the wedding and your stay with us. It was always great to receive positive feedback from our Guests especially regarding the staff .I will be sending on your comments to all the team here at the hotel.

Thanks again
Sinead Marran
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Due to our travel arrangements we arrived early before our room was ready so we used the leisure facilities and then checked in. The staff are excellent and friendly and the location in the centre of Athlone is perfect and picturesque by the river. On a note about Athlone if you are heading West to Galway, stop here! A lot of people pass by Athlone and it’s a mistake. As someone from Galway (and both of us go out there on a regular basis) Athlone was one of our top nights out in a long time. Great night life, (Seans Bar, The Snug) and a real cross roads to meet up with interesting people and have some fun. The Radisson is then the perfect place to return to after a night out and a following day relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Glyn C

We are delighted that you took the time to give us your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed all that Athlone has to offer, we are very lucky to be located by the fabulous Shannon river and to be over looking the historic Athlone castle. We always love to hear great comments about our staff and I will be sharing your comments with the team here at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Sinead
General Manager

Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this Hotel and found it to be really Nice. We upgraded our room to business class for an extra twenty Euro per night so got a room with a view of the Shannon River. The roomwas spacious and I loved the colour of the curtains! The view of the river was lovely. We ate in the bar that evening and found the food to be very nice for bar food, we got the fish and chips and the batter on the fish was light and crispy.The bar area is bright and spacious with a lovely decking area looking out onto the river. We ordered the breakfast in bed( Well it was a romantic weekend after all! ) and while this can be a dissapointment with cold food and tea this was not the case here, the breakfast was warm and our poached eggs fresh. We also found the staff to be friendly and efficient. The only gripe we had was with the leisure area which we found to be slightly grubby and unclean, we booked a back massage each which at fourty-five euro was not cheap and recieved only a twenty minute massage each. With a little imagination they could totally brighten up this whole area and make it a more pleasant part of the hotel to visit, as it is I wouldn't get in to the pool. This is a pity because the hotel itself was a pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Jessica K

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I was delighted to read that you were impressed with our service and our location. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the food as we pride ourselves in our menu and sourcing our produce locally. We are always happy to hear our guests enjoying the terrace with views of the Shannon as our location is one of our best attributes. We have also taken your comments on board and are currently doing what we can to improve our leisure facilities. We hope to welcome you to our hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Sinead
General Manager

Radisson Hotel Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Easy to find, the radisson is very central to all athlone has to offer. Check in was quick. I asked the pleasant girl if we could have a river views and that is what they had for us anyway. On opening the door we discovered it was a business class room with a superb view of river. We dropped bags and headed out to check out the town. On returning I used the leisure centre which was small but adequate. Locker rooms clean and secure. Pool was quiet as it was sunday so was nice to chill. We had dinner in the bar which was busy and plenty of staff to attend. Ordered fish but they had just run out of so burger it was. Wasn't the best nor were the frozen chips but it did. Wife had stir fry which didn't have much veg. What is good about the menu is that it's coeliac friendly with clear markings and good choice also which was one of the reasons we chose here instead of the Sheraton. Laura, I think, was barmaid and was excellent at her job and always had a smile when dealing with a customer. Breakfast was busy but pleasant. Wasn't the best of breakfasts but plenty of choice and again lots of staff to clear tables and serve tea/coffee. Check out was quick and hassle free. We certainly enjoyed our night away and would stay again if passing

Room Tip: Room 309 faces river with beautiful views. Plenty of restaurant in the town. Nearly all shops close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eoinhyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Lowry, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Milltree
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We take pride in the service and food we offer and are constantly reviewing our service so I was disappointed to hear you where not 100% happy with our food, We will be reviewing this at our next weekly standards meeting .I am pleased to hear you would visit us again and I look forward to welcoming you when you do. The Synergy leisure staff work really hard to provide very clean facilities and an area for guests & members to relax. It was always great to receive positive feedback from our Guests especially regarding the staff .I will be sending on your comments to all the team here at the hotel.

Thanks again
Sinead Marran
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,784 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,954 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
874 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.9 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Rezidor, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing