We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good location and breakfast”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The location of the hotel is great, it's situated in the town centre so it's within walking distance to many shops and restaurants.
When we stayed there the hotel was fully booked so we got a wheelchair accessible room. We asked to be moved to another room but they said all the standard rooms were booked and we would have to pay 80EUR to get a business room so we left it since we were staying there just for 1 night.
The room was quite nice, wifi free and quite fast but the bathroom was a disaster. There was no proper shower which we understood since it needed to be accessible by wheelchair but the sink was incredibly small. When we flushed the toilet, it was making very loud noice for a few minutes when pumping the water, we were pretty sure we had to wake up the whole floor.
The breakfast was very nice though, the selection of the food was large and it was tasty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    499
    276
    110
    92
See reviews for
277
614
44
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in the Radisson for a 3 night break recently. What can I say...It is a beautiful hotel ... modern , crisp and bright. The food and service were excellent and the rooms are very spacious with wonderful views of the Shannon.Staff very friendly ,b'fast delicious.Great service in restaurant.Asia during b'fast was v.friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary_batuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Lowry, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Mary
Many thanks for your super feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed the food, we go to great lengths to source the finest local fresh produce to ensure our guests can enjoy the best food in Athlone. , It was always great to receive positive feedback from our Guests especially regarding the staff .I will be sending on your comments to all the team here at the hotel.

Thanks again
Justin Lowry
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed one night (28-Feb-13) and happy enough overall with good value for money but there were some deficiencies. Radisson staff were very friendly and the overall standard of the hotel is good (although some repairs are needed). Wi-fi was free and reasonably fast (speed >4MBps) and it worked first time. We had requested a quiet room over the river ; it was mostly quiet (see below) and with a picture-perfect view of the river and the bridge. The shower was excellent as were the towels. Our room was pretty good with an excellent, comfortable, large bed. Didn’t get to try the pool or the restaurant (we had a brilliant meal in The Olive Grove – 5mins away). We were given free Irish Independents on request. Radisson staff also kindly extended our free parking while we spent some extra time in Athlone.

Our room (#409) had only one bed-side light – the one on my side had broken off and had not been replaced. The TV was an ancient CRT – no sign of a flat screen! There was no soap in the room – we washed our hands with all-over body lotion! There was no drinking water in the room (minibar was empty). The fitting at the side of the bath was coming away and unclean.

As we headed out to dinner at 7pm we used the main revolving door and my wife walked into a pane of glass (the outer quadrant). I very nearly did the same and, needless to add, we were both cold sober! There were no Radisson logos on the glass (as there were on all the other panels) and no vision panel markings on that quadrant. In addition, the glass was spotlessly clean. Luckily, it was only a light impact and no damage done – but it could have been much worse! This is a definite H&S defect that I reported to the Duty Manager.

Despite asking for a quiet room there was a sudden noise at 6am that sounded like the room overhead was very loudly flushing the loo. However, it stayed on at least until we got up at 9:30am. I think it was a pump or other equipment in the roof space? In addition, the room was surprisingly warmer than the 20C setting on the thermostat.

The breakfast room was unattended at 10:15am (breakfast ended at 10:30am) so we seated ourselves and served ourselves from the buffet. Some of the fruit was tinned and the hot breakfast was looking very tired by the time we ate. The fried egg was a bit rubbery and the sausages were over-done. There were no scrambled eggs, tomatoes or mushrooms (to which I was looking forward). The piped music was too loud and particularly irritating – it sounded like oriental violins playing U2 and Van Morrison! What’s wrong with silence? The tea was far too strong and my coffee (Americano) was luke-warm. Breakfast was quite disappointing.

Overall, Radisson Athlone was fine but could be far better with a bit of attention to detail - especially at breakfast.

Room Tip: Check that, if on 4th floor, you won't be woken at 6am by pumping noises overhead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParaDara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Lowry, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Mary
Thank you for taking to the time to write your review.
I am very disappointed to hear about your experience with breakfast, we are currently reviewing our breakfast standards and we hope on your next visit you will be much happier with the standard of breakfast .We have now placed hotel logos on the door to prevent accidents like the one your wife was involved in do not happen again. I have brought these issues up at our recent standards review meeting. We take pride in the service and food we offer overlooking the Shannon River and are constantly reviewing our service with a view offering the best hospitality in the Athlone area.

Thanks and Regards
Justin Lowry
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed here in January 2013 for a weekday away. I got one of those deals for 99euro for a 1 night stay bed and breakfast for two people. The night that we stayed there was a weekday and the hotel did seem to be busy for the time of year.

The room we stayed in was a business class room, it had everything in it that you needed and was very clean but didn't appear to be very modern for a 4 star hotel. The paint work was very old fashioned and the bathroom tiles were very old looking.

We had food in the bar which was very nice, the steak is well worth having! Bar staff knew their job well and where able to make nice cocktails which was a bonus. The furniture was very old fashioned. For a 4 star it needs a complete face life to bring it up to date.

The Gym is the best part of the hotel, all the gear seemed new and there was a good few gym staff working, the pool was good as well and well layed out. However the clientele of the gym wasn't great....

This hotel is right in the town and was very handy for the Shops!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Lowry, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Joe
Many thanks for your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed the food, we go to great lengths to ensure our guests enjoy the best food in Athlone, our chef will be especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed the steak. I am glad you enjoyed the gym facilities as the staff in gym work very hard to keep a high standard in the gym and pool. We have taken your comments about the décor on board and it will be discussed at our next standards review meeting. I am glad you enjoyed the cocktails in our Quayside bar and will be sending on your comments to all the team here at the hotel.
We hope to welcome you in the hotel again soon

Thanks again
Justin Lowry
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickmacross, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in February. First impressions - the hotel is fab! its a great location, in the centre of town & within walking distance to the shops & restaurants. The reception staff & bar staff were very friendly. We upgraded our room to a business class which over looked the river. it was very nice although the room could defiantly do with a lick of paint. We had dinner in the restaurant on our first night. The food was delicious. The following morning the breakfast was very poor. although the selection was great, the "hot buffet" was cold, even the coffee was cold. we decided to go for a swim. around the pool area seems quite neglected and could do with a good clean or revamp. my partner got a bad burn on his leg in the steam room. we had some drinks and snacks in the bar in the afternoon which was lovely. The following morning, we didnt want to eat the cold "hot buffet" again so we ordered poached eggs from the kitchen, which was hot and delicious.
overall we had a lovely weekend. would i go back? yes.

Room Tip: get a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrickgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Had a long weekend book, room had a river view, staff were very friendly. Food in the bar and restaurant was good. Pool and sauna were very good also. The bar had an excellent view off the river, would be lovely to sit out in summer evenings

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbart1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Lowry, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs
Many thanks for your super feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed the food. I will be passing on your comments to all the staff here at the hotel. I agree with you about the bar and view, fingers crossed for a fine summer. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

Thanks again
Justin Lowry
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed here last night for one night for our anniversary. Brilliant spot. Room was fantastic the view out over the river was beautiful, extra large bed, lovely expresso machine in room good facilities what you would expect from radisson. Lovely decked area over river access from bar area think this would be amazing during summer or for wedding reception. Was a hen night staying in the hotel and very impressed To see hotel embraces this area set up waiter pouring champagne for them.
We had lite lunch in bar which was very tasty rugby match on good atmosphere.
We ate out in a fantastic Lebanese restaurant Al Mezza which was just short stroll from hotel good selection of bars near by.
Breakfast was typical high standard you expect from radisson must thank Victor who was very good To us when he found out it was our anniversary sent us up a fruit basket. This guy was amazing To watch in restaurant runs place so well great personality.
Was woken at 1am by some noisy guest returning To room but overall fantastic stay in centre of Athlone overlooking beautiful view.
Will be back did not use pool next time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BogChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Lowry, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for your delightful review on Trip Advisor. I have passed on your kind words to Victor and he was very happy to hear it. A lot of people enjoy the location of our hotel as it provides guests with a lot of activities to do while here. I am very pleased to hear that you liked your room as we try our best to provide our guests with a comfortable stay.
We would be honored to see you back at the hotel in the future

I Thanks again
Justin Lowry
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,784 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,954 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
874 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.9 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing