We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“daughters wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
somerset england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“daughters wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

we had a fantastic time at the wedding of our daughter thanks to tanya and all the staff they were all excellent from bottom to top and the celebrations went smoothly from beginning to the end hotel great food great people great absolutly fab

Room Tip: we had around thirty plus rooms from the honeymoon suite to other suites and standard rooms all exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    476
    268
    105
    88
See reviews for
268
593
42
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Radisson Blu Hotel in Athlone for one night 28 May. It is a modern laid out hotel.
The receptionist was very welcoming and efficient at check-in. The room was very clean and bright with a lovely view over the River Shannon.
The bar service was extremely slow, despite the fact that five staff members seemed to be busying themselves behind the bar. The semi-final of the rugby Heineken Cup was on the television but there was no sound. A number of people, including myself left at half time and went to a nearby pub to hear the game.
We had an evening meal at the hotel. Our starters and main courses were cold.
Breakfast on Sunday morning was excellent. But we had to go through a number of plates that were stacked in a hot plate warmer before we got ones clean enough to put our food on.
These were minor enough issues that didn’t distract our stay in the hotel. I hope the management read these reviews and takes notice of what customers are saying. I feel with a bit more attention to detail in some areas this could be a very worthy hotel to return to.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Well here's one, probably the most impressive room (or suite, they gave us a suite) I have ever stayed in, over looking the Shannon with enormously impressive views, the room was positively delightful and definitely a 10/10, WOW. However, there was a party in the Hotel, that we were not told about, and for a couple of hours before mid-night we heard the bass and the words to each song, after mid-night until about 2am it was just the bass. That took away from the excellence that was the hotel, the food, the staff and the room. If only the evening hadn't been blighted the party it would have been the most fab place in the whole world, loved Athlone. My ratings for this are as follows: Room 10+/10, beyond fantastic; bed 9/10 huge and comfy; shower 7/10. lovely shower room but desperately needed a new shower head; breakfast 10/10, superb and evening meal in hotel restaurant 10/10.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSarah1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

My stay was a brief stopover with business, and I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel, the speed of service and the comfortable room!
What impressed me even more was the friendly attitude of the staff, those on reception, dining and room cleaning could not have been more helpful. One member of reception staff went above and beyond what I flt was good service and really excelled in helping me out.
The business facilities were great and the rooms used for the symposium were spot on.
It would be a pleasure to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Had a great experience staying here recently with family for 2 nights. Excellent friendly service from all the staff; we were always greeted with a smile. I'd have no problem returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinead50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
179 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed in Raddison on saturday night. Room 404 beautiful room overlooking the shannon
Lunch in resturant on sat afternoon was lovely.
Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: 4th Floor 404 overlooking the shannon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magicm144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Radisson hotel in Athlone is an ideal spot for a weekend break. The hotel is centrally located close to the old town and the many fine restaurants and bars. The hotel facilities are very good with a friendly bar and excellent staff. The Saturday night entertainment in the bar was very enjoyable. The staff members are friendly, courteous and never too busy to assist. We will certainly be back - (split infinitive and all)

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river are especially nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
2.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Rezidor so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing