We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cornloft

The Cornloft
Ranked #45 of 98 Restaurants in Athlone
Cuisines: Irish, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Called into The Cornloft for dinner with my husband and 3 kids, the service and food were fantastic. I had the fish cakes which were delicious and my husband had the Thai curry which he said was gorgeous too. They even made a mild version of the Thai curry for my 5 year old to sample to see if she liked it ! With a thumbs up from her, she was given a kiddies portion which was huge ! My other two kids had the chicken goujons which unlike other restaurants are real homemade chicken goujons and not even a chip was left behind. Will definitely be calling back to The Cornloft to sample more from their menu and looking forward to the wonderful friendly service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dammrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    7
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Saturday Dinner”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family and i visited the Cornloft Restaurant for Dinner on Saturday night just gone.
We had a fantastic meal.Superb Steak and Tobacco Onions cooked to perfection.
My wife had fresh Cod Fillet with a wonderfull soft herb cream sauce.My 2 sons had homemade chicken goujons and freshly prepared Fries.A great Restaurant with excellent Service,will certainly be back soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank geraldine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“shockingly bad”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We ate here on the last night of our stay in Ireland where we had enjoyed a great many fantastic meals. The Cornloft had been recommended to us so we thought we would give it a try. The service was great but the food was appaling. We both chose to have roast beef, thinking that would be a fairly safe choice, after a week of enjoying wonderful fish we thought the meat would be a nice change. What a disappointment, three slabs of 'cold' beef on an enormous pile of lumpy mashed potato, gravy that came from a jar or packet and some limp looking and tasting vegetables, it was terrible! I cannot understand how the chef could not have felt ashamed to serve up such truly dreadful food to the paying public. Give this place a miss!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornloft, Owner at The Cornloft, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hi there
Firstly many thanks for your review . As a business we are always grateful to get feedback from our customers even if in your case it was negative.
I am very happy to see that you found the service good and for that reason it would have being even more helpful if you had brought your dissatisfaction with your meal to one of our staff on the night in question.
If you had done this we would have hopefully being able to rectify the problem and provided you with a lovely meal . We pride ourselves in both our food and our service so as the owner of this business we obviously don't like to get feedback like this.
Forums like trip advisor and Facebook are a good way to voice opinions but we would really have welcomed your feedback on the night on question
Finally I hope that maybe if you are passing this direction again you might call in for some food and hopefully you will feel like the majority of our customers when they leave , happy ( this can be seen from previous posts )
With our best regards
The Cornloft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cuisine at Its Best in The Heart Of Ireland”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great Food, great service great value for money .

Best Food in Athlone

5 STAR Fine dining

On arrivial you are met with friendly hosts and staff who make you welcome and special

They just can't do enough for you

Top Class to them all

The Food is extra special

Fine Dining by a Master Chef

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tombstonetommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Be back soon!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Spent a lovely few hours in the Cornloft for a family occasion,pleasant helpful staff,warm welcome from Mike the owner,food excellent.lovely veggie option available.highly recommend for relaxed atmosphere and best food I've had in Athlone in a long time!Guinness great too!Wish you continued success!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Toomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cornloft also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to The Cornloft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing