We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corner House Bistro, Athlone”

Corner House Bistro
Ranked #2 of 99 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Daytime fine dining with traditional table service.Reservations available.
Westmeath
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Corner House Bistro, Athlone”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This place restored my faith in the hospitality section in Ireland, a small but buzzing busy busy place. Lovely selection of foods and not bad prices. The service was brilliant the girl that served us was friendly, helpful and super efficient, explaining ingredients in meals and recommending items from the varied menu, the chunky chips are to die for. When someone left their table it was cleared immediately and cleaned and reset. Cannot recommend this enough - get on down there.
The best cappachino ive had in years. Thank you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    68
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Have frequented this bistro on occasion with my husband for late lunch and also en famille for coffee and also lunch. We all love the varied menu which offers high quality food. We have always been made to feel very welcome and well looked after. When leaving we always look forward to going back there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband decided to try this restaurant and found that the service was excellent, our waitress was Sinead, she couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, food was nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Edel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great lunch, good job!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stumbled upon this cafe when taking a 60 minute break from a long road trip. Great welcome, good service and an excellent meal of tempura fish, fries and pea pure (fish and chips to you and me).

Definitely worth the detour, good luck to the owners who seem to be trying to produce something a bit above the average here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Petertheclaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely lovely lovely.....”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Went to Athlone for the weekend with hubby and 3yr old. The Corner House was recommended to me so off we all went. I'm fussy and I ate there everyday. What more can I say it was yummy....nice variety on the menu. They even have couches and a kiddies area,to keep kids entertained. Lovely kids options. The owner is a great host very nice staff. I sat, relaxed and ate there until I could eat no more and then we all left happy. I will go back there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Blasta_Bakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corner House Bistro also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Corner House Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing