We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food at a great price”

Corner House Bistro
Ranked #3 of 99 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Daytime fine dining with traditional table service.Reservations available.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food at a great price”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stopped here for lunch en route from Galway to Dublin. Food was delicious and such good value. The curried chichen skewers with couscous were so tasty. And staff were chatty and friendly. A great find!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pigletpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    68
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Trying too hard”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is one of those typical restaurants that is trying so hard to pretend it can compete in the michelin star field that it forgets how to actually make food that people will eat and not just plonk marshmallow sized pieces of food on a plate and drizzle oil over it like its art. I was saving my criticisms for after desert, because I will always have a change of mind if the desert is good. Unfortunately for the bistro the desert I ordered wouldn't even have stuffed a mouse it was so small. When people order food they expect food on their plate and not just the smallest cuts that can be managed. I left hungry. Staff weren't super either, we were sat 40mins waiting for someone to remember we were there to order and then we gave up after and just went straight to the til.

The whole place just needs to relax and stop pretending like Athlone is some upmarket elitist posh town. It's not. We're honest people who like honest food and like to leave a restaurant feeling like we've eaten more than a couple of mouthfuls of food.

Still, at least it was clean.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pepperonay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Excellent food, super friendly staff and great value. I have had several meals in the Corner House Bistro and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ral2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Five star quality *****”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have never left a comment on tripadvisor before but after my visit to the Corner House Bistro I felt it necessary. We had a fabulous lunch for exceptional value and the quality of the Homemade food and service was second to none. All the food tasted delicious and the price on the menus was surprisingly very cheap for the quality of food we received. Definitely the best place to eat in Athlone at the moment. 10 out of 10! :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leethebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Corner House Bistro, Athlone”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch at Corner House Bistro. We enjoyed very good service, excellent food...really good value for money

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corner House Bistro also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Corner House Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing