We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Church Ambience with Sinfully Delicious Food”
Review of The Locke Restaurant - CLOSED

The Locke Restaurant
Price range: $18 - $43
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Locke Restaurant, Athlone is located in Athlone's historical quater and is set in an enchanting 150 year old church which stands proudly on the waterfront. The church was the original Anglican church in Athlone and dates back to the early 1800's. The church still retains most of its original fetures which now form part of the gorgeous restaurant that is The Locke. The Locke is situated beside the beer garden entrance to Sean's Bar, Ireland's Oldest Pub, Athlone Castle and is in the heart of the bustling nightlife of Athlone. The restaurant is one block away from the Dean Crowe theatre. It also also is within walking distance of some of Athlone's wonderful attractions, such as the Viking Boat Cruise and the Luain Gallery. The core of the restaurant, set in the captivating and magnificent church which dates back to 1858, now known as the Locke Restaurant is the second level with its high church beamed ceilings, warm, atmospheric lighting, panelling and rich carpet. The cosy snug bar located on the lower level has a dramatic feel about it. There is live piano and harp sessions every Saturday night in the bar area of the restaurant and all are welcome to come and enjoy it, even for a drink. The Locke Restaurant is a proud Irish Restaurant, specialising in fine Irish cuisine and seafood with a strong focus on local suppliers and produce. Our award winning Head Chef and his excellent team cook everything fresh to order and take great pride in the quality and standard of food they produce.The Locke Restaurant is open from Tuesday to Sunday served full evening, Al a Carte Menu from 5pm to 9.30Pm and There is also a great value Early Bird Menu available each day from 5pm to 7pm with 2 courses starting from €21.00 Per person. The Locke also has capacity for groups and parties with our private dining room options available for small or large groups and parties. We also have Group Menus and tailored packages for groups.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

To start, the ambience of the old Presbyterian Church is intimate and beautiful. We made a reservation for 8:30 pm on a Friday evening while on vacation in Athlone. As a group of Americans from the south, we know how to appreciate food that feeds your soul.

Our group enjoyed the pork terrine, the seafood chowder, and the beef noodle salad appetizers, to start. The seafood chowder was the perfect portion and amazing! The pork terrine had a rich flavor, and the beef noodle salad was extremely fresh.

For the main courses, we had the pork belly, the salmon, and the sea trout special. Recommendation: definitely try anything that is on special for the evening! The pork belly was salty/sweet incredible.

For dessert, we had the carrot coconut cake, the Bailey's cheesecake, and the sticky toffee pudding. The sticky toffee pudding was clearly the winner!

Before our vacation, we had heard some negative things about Irish food, but we are happy to report that The Locke Restaurant is setting the bar for great Irish food in Athlone. Thanks Anna and Gavin for a fabulous evening!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Jennifer C and of course the whole family,

Thank you so much for coming to dine with us here at The Locke and we are simply over the moon by your compliments. To be said to be a bar setter is a hugely humbling comment and our team of chefs all have the BIGGEST smiles on their faces because of it. At the Locke, we take huge pride in scouring fresh produce everyday and this means, everytime you come to The Locke, there is always something different on but always Irish and local where possible.

It trully makes our day, even our week and maybe our month when people enjoy their evening with us as much as you all did and the fact that the Locke lived up to its reputation means so much.

I know you dont head home for a few more days so I very much hope you will call and see us again.

With kind regards,

Ann "Mammy" O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 261 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

Booked in here last weekend for my sisters hen party - 16 girls in total and every single one of the girls have talked about the food since! Excellent location and beautiful decor inside. Our orders were taken straight away & everyone's food arrived at the same time, waitress was absolutely brilliant & Gavin the owner - best service i have ever received in a restaurant. The food was exceptional!! Wasn't expecting much for the Caesar salad as every restaurant it is pretty plain but here was the best ive ever had - blue cheese dressing! The pork belly was the winner overall and the deserts are to die for! 3 course meal for €25 is outstanding value for what we received, my sister rang me the next day to make sure there wasn't a mistake as it was the best food she has tasted also! I will be back very soon with my partner as i'm sure the other girls will be too! Thank you so much for making my sisters hen an unforgettable experience! See ye all soon :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EmmaLou025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Emma and all the "wheres waldo" crowd, thank you, thank you, thank you!

We are all so blown away by your feedback and review, I honestly dont know what to say in reply. Gavin is so extatic that you all enjoyed it so much and for the Hen herself to be so happy makes it all the more special.

Your wonderful review and comments have been passed onto Louise who served you and is still laughing about you all pushing for a payrise for her and to the brilliant team of chefs we have (who all being guys - are just sorry they didnt get to meet all the lovely girls, just kidding of course).

The iceing on the cake is that for the service and food you recieved that you found it to be suh great value, now that really makes our day.

Your recomendation means so very much to us, we really appriciate the business, wish you all the best with the wedding and of course, hope you will all call again.

Ann "Mammy" O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Definitely go to this place if in Athlone. It is like going back in time as you enter this historic ex-church which has maintained it's character and has been converted into a lovely restaurant of which the owners are so proud and rightly so! My wife and I visited here following research on Tripadvisor and we loved it! It is different and family run - by a son and his mother and father. We met both mother and son and both were hospitable, friendly and professional. The building is amazing and anyone interested in history and architecture will love this place. The food is also excellent and great value. We had goat's cheese salad and asian beef noodles to start and both were excellent. For mains, we both had salmon and risotto and it was really good. Good wine list too. Lovely personal service, these guys deserve to do well.An Large family party were there the same evening and they clearly loved it and got a potted history which we overheard, they loved it and so did we. Try it for something different and special!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarkW413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

MarkW413, Thank you so much for coming to dine with us.

I am delighted we were able to host and impress you a few weeks ago and that the restaurant lived up to its recomendations. As a business, we take huge pride in all we do, from the building to the service, to the food to the ambiance and its always nice to hear that this comes across.

I have passed on your wonderful food compliments to our excellent Head Chef, Seamus Jordan and his team who all send a massive Thank You back to you.

Your compliments, recomendation and feedback are so welcoming and warmly recieved. I very much hope that you and your wife will let us host you again very soon.

With thanks,

Ann "Mammy" O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We visited the restaurant on the 4th May and found it amazing! The food was exquisite, staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful! We would definitely be back next time we are passing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChEklund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear ChEklund,

A huge "TACK SÅ MYCKET" from us to you. I am so happy that you came to visit us and that we could impress you so much. Gavin is delighted that you took his recomendations and advise on coming back.

I have passed on your lovely comments to all the team here at The Locke.
I very much hope next time you are in Ireland you will both call again.
Warm regards,

Ann O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

After reading all reviews we wanted to give it a go and the restaurant certainly lived to our expectations. The food was absolutely delicious and the portions were just perfect. The service was one of the best I've ever had. We ordered a bottle of prosecco but wwre advised that they run out. Normally you would have to look for something else but not at Locke! Gavin (the owner) apologised for not having Prosecco in stock and offered us a bottle of champagne instead for the same price! He then came back few times ensuring everything was perfect.The waitress (sorry didn't get the name) was really nice too. They food, atmosphere, and ambience is just perfect for either a quiet meal for two or an occasion larger party. Definitely worth visiting when you are in Athlone

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank karolpiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear karolpiet,

Gavin is still on cloud nine here after reading your review, I honestly dont know how we will get him down (jut kidding). It is so nice to know that The Locke stod up to its recomendations, that is so important to us. I have passed on your kind words to Joanne, your waitress on the night and to the entire kitchen team, who all deserve great praise for their continued hard work and dedication.

Gavin believes that hospitality is not just a nice word but is sher dedication to minding people and delievering on value and an experience. At the Locke we all work towards that and its great when it comes across.

Thank you so much for the compliments and recomendation.
As you are only in Dublin, I hope you will call again soon.

With thanks,

Ann "Mammy" O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Locke Restaurant also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing