We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of The Locke Restaurant - CLOSED

The Locke Restaurant
Price range: $18 - $43
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Locke Restaurant, Athlone is located in Athlone's historical quater and is set in an enchanting 150 year old church which stands proudly on the waterfront. The church was the original Anglican church in Athlone and dates back to the early 1800's. The church still retains most of its original fetures which now form part of the gorgeous restaurant that is The Locke. The Locke is situated beside the beer garden entrance to Sean's Bar, Ireland's Oldest Pub, Athlone Castle and is in the heart of the bustling nightlife of Athlone. The restaurant is one block away from the Dean Crowe theatre. It also also is within walking distance of some of Athlone's wonderful attractions, such as the Viking Boat Cruise and the Luain Gallery. The core of the restaurant, set in the captivating and magnificent church which dates back to 1858, now known as the Locke Restaurant is the second level with its high church beamed ceilings, warm, atmospheric lighting, panelling and rich carpet. The cosy snug bar located on the lower level has a dramatic feel about it. There is live piano and harp sessions every Saturday night in the bar area of the restaurant and all are welcome to come and enjoy it, even for a drink. The Locke Restaurant is a proud Irish Restaurant, specialising in fine Irish cuisine and seafood with a strong focus on local suppliers and produce. Our award winning Head Chef and his excellent team cook everything fresh to order and take great pride in the quality and standard of food they produce.The Locke Restaurant is open from Tuesday to Sunday served full evening, Al a Carte Menu from 5pm to 9.30Pm and There is also a great value Early Bird Menu available each day from 5pm to 7pm with 2 courses starting from €21.00 Per person. The Locke also has capacity for groups and parties with our private dining room options available for small or large groups and parties. We also have Group Menus and tailored packages for groups.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I dined here on Sunday evening with my family.

The restaurant is in an old church which overlooks the river shannon and has a lovely ambiance.

All staff were very friendly and courteous with the owner manager constantly going back and forth through the two storey dining room checking all was ok even though it was very busy.

There was an all day early bird offer which was very reasonable - I had the chowder, sirloin steak & ice cream for dessert while my companions both had the Lamb shank - all were cooked to perfection.

Portion sizes were good and you just got the impression that it was something they loved doing.

I'd recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Athlone

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Niall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Niallconn, all I can say is a huge "Thank You".

We do genuinely love what we do and we do love our gorgeous old church, so it is so nice when people pick up on it. we certainly stay fit here with all our stair cases but that adds to the charm of our building.

Seamus Jordan, our wonderful chef and his team are trilled that you found the food to be so good and cooked so well.

Most of all, we are delighted that you are happy to recommend us, that means the most.

Warmest thanks,

Ann "Mammy" O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 261 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

This place is a gem. The day we visited was sweltering, but we decided to sit inside (could have had a table by the river) because of the wonderful unique interior of the old Church. The food was really good and the host was charming. Well worth a visit. Book in advance.

Thank hedge81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear hedge81, thank you so so much for taking the time to review our wonderful restaurant.

Your headline has put such a smile on our brilliant team of chef's faces.
I am so happy you were so captivated by the interior and our staff and that the food matched up. we take such great pride in what we do so it means alot to us when it comes across.

I hope next time you are over from London, you will call again.

Kind regards,

Ann O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The food was solid and good quality fish and the wine was very drinkable. The portions were large so no starter was necessary. The service was good, the staff were happy to have your custom, and we had a lovely table beside the stained glass window.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Irskaisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Irskaisland, thank you so much for giving us your feedback.

I am delighted that you had such a pleasant evening with us at The Locke Restaurant. I am so happy that you found our staff so friendly and helpful and the food to be of such a good standard.

I am also so happy that you got to enjoy the ambiance of the tables up by our stunning stain glass window.

I very much hope that next time you are in Ireland, you will call again.

Kind regards,

Ann O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We just dropped in to the Locke Restaurant last sunday evening as we where in Athlone for the day, we didn't have a booking the lady that greeted us was so nice & friendly told us they run the early bird menu all day on a Sunday, we were seated up stair near the lovely window it was a little hot at first ( that's not their fault with this weather) but they the waitress brought us ice cold water & homemade brown bread which done the trick, we had the salmon tarte & fish chowder to both fantastic & the Haddock & chicken for our main again both amazing the waitress ever offered us more bread, such a nice place to eat very welcoming, relaxing & fabulous food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank holidaytime863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Holidaytime863, all we can say is a huge thank you.

Nora, who was the lady you met at the door is s o happy she could look after you. We know it was very hot because of the weather but we wont complain because its so rare that we have such amazing weather.

Seamus our Head Chef and his team are delighted with your feedback and are so happy you enjoyed the food. And of course, we are all delighted that the service matched up to our excellent food.

I really hope next time you are in Athlone, you will call again.

Kind regards,

Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Visited again on 14th July at 6.45pm. Our second visit and the food is as good as ever. The valve of the Early Bird is highly recommended.
We have family in Tullamore and it was a built into our trip to visit the Locke to see if it was as good as the first visit, it did not disappoint and will be an annual pilgrimage when we are in Offaly.
My only concern is staffing levels, a full restaurant would be a lot to cope with, with only two on floor.
Maybe a consideration as it gets more popular, as it will with such a great menu.
Keep up the great work

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WeeWheels0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

WeeWheels0702, our friends,

We were so delighted to have you back at The Locke Restaurant again and you have no idea how much of a smile you have put on our faces by saying that it was as good as the first time. To us, this means that we are maintaining the standards we have set ourselves and that is very important to us.

Its great that we are getting busier and we make sure we keep our standards high as we go on.
We very much look forward to seeing you on your next pilgrimage to Offaly.

All our thanks,

Ann "Mammy" O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Locke Restaurant also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing