We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay in a beautiful hotel, so peaceful, a great place to de stress” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wineport Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wineport Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful stay in a beautiful hotel, so peaceful, a great place to de stress”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

We stayed in the Wineport Lodge in December, and I was very impressed with the hotel all round. It is in a beautiful setting, and has a sense of peace surrounding it, maybe because the lake was so still. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean, well decorated, and had sliding doors onto a veranda overlooking the lake, I rarely sleep with the curtains open, but in this hotel I did, as the view was so wonderful. The bathroom had little shower gels, soap etc from L'Occitane, which were lovely, and a lovely big bath and shower. Dinner was delicious, with exactly perfectly sized portions. I would definitly stay here again, and recommend it to anybody, for a peaceful, "de- stress" break.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryann1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear maryann1980,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on trip adviser.

We are delighted to hear you had such a peaceful break & that you were impressed with
Wineport Lodge.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wineport in the not too distant future.

Wishing you & yours a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    153
    83
    31
    8
See reviews for
107
639
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

stayed here in December when the countryside was covered in snow and can honestly say that this was the nicest hotel I have EVER stayed in. So many personal touches just made the stay perfect. For example there were home made cookies in a jar beside the coffee and tea facilities in the room and not cheap coffee but a plunger and proper ground coffee with fresh milk in the fridge. News paper delievered to the door and our room was turned down before bed. Even when we arrived our bags were brought to our room for us while we had a drink in the lounge looking out over the beautiful christmas scene of the lake and snow covered shore.

Had a huge twin room and it consisted to 2 big beds with super thick memory foam matteress and loads of pillows and a little reading desk and couch. L'octaine bathroom products, fluffy bathrobes and slippers and super powerful shower... bliss.

Dinner was delicious, cooked perfectly and so good we stuffed ourselves and unfortunately couldnt managed desert.

Hottub on the roof and spa facilities. I treated myself to a massage and found the staff wonderful and professional.

When we were leaving the girl at reception kindly offered to get our cars ready and warmed up in advance.

Really can not recommend a better hotel. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyann82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear sallyann82,

Many thanks for your post on trip adviser.

We are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful time in Wineport Lodge & that the personal touches made your stay extra special.

I have passed your kind words on to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wineport Lodge in the future.

Wishing you & yours a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

I have just returned from a few days away at the Wineport Lodge. We had a wonderful stay, the place so so absolutely relaxing and the staff are wonderful. We had a lot of snow while we were there and were happy to rest and relax in the lounge. The lodge is finely appointed and breakfast is wonderful.
Had dinner in the restaurant two evenings, the atmosphere was great and the service perfect. The food, while good, was slightly disappointing. I have tended to consider the restaurant at Wineport as a step above the rest. I had the feeling on both evenings that I could've had a dinner just as good in any average hotel. From that point of view it was a bit disappointing, but, overall, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dubsthcentralboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear dubsthcentralboy,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on trip adviser, we are sorry to hear your experience was not as good as you remembered, we will take your feedback on board.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay & found the service & staff wonderful, I will pass your comments on to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wineport Lodge.

Wishing you & yours a Happy New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

Just back from 3 nights midweek at the Wineport Lodge, we stayed in room 306, great size of a room very comfortable, great views over the lough for the setting sun, morning paper delivered every day, the staff were excellent, the food was super, we had breakfasts in the restaurant which was great again overlooking the lough, dinner off the snack menu in the bar, which was A1, early bird dinner in the restaurant great and finally a three course in the restaurant which was just brillant. Overall the food quality was super. The full stay was so relaxing just what we needed, would go back tomorrow and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChasMcKaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, December 1, 2010
Dear ChasMcKaig

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor.

We are delighted to hear all your positive comments and will be sure to pass them on throughout the hotel.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Wineport Lodge again in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

just returned today after 4 nites in wineport lodge, what a fab place, loved the cosyness of it, stayed in room 302, very large room overlooking lake, nice to have "irish times" dropped to door each am, breakfast can be had in room at no extra charge which is nice touch but the high light was "the restaurant", menu, deliverence of food and wine and staff on sun night last was second to none, congrats to all,keep up the good work, met some lovely staff, thanks to susan for yonka facial and to tracy in bar, people like tracy make places like wineport a success, will be back

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank germul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, December 1, 2010
Dear Germul,

Thank your for your recent review on Trip Advisor.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to the Wineport Lodge. We are delighted to hear that your loved every minute of your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you both back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

Had heard about Wineport Lodge from from friends when in Ireland recently!!Its a beautiful peaceful hotel with great views over the lake!!The staff were very friendly and professional!!!The rooms were great but the real gem was the restaurant!!There are excellent options on both the food and wine menus and we had a great meal in a relaxing atmosphere. Definitely will visit again when back in Ireland!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedMancunian71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliviaanne, Owner at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Dear RedMancunian71

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Adviser.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Wineport Lodge recently.

We have passed on your great comments to our colleagues throughout the hotel.

We do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wineport Lodge again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Ray Byrne & Jane English
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

While making the reservations via email I indicated that we were celebrating our anniversary. Upon checking in, we were surprised with an upgraded room and a tray of cookies with "Happy Anniversary" spelled out in chocolate. All the staff was extremely friendly and helpful with directions and making reservations. Our room was very large, very modern, and right on the water and we had a family of swans come visit us.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garden4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
may64, Owner at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2010
Dear Garden4ever,

We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wineport Lodge Hotel. Thanks for taking the time to post your wonderful review on Trip Advisor.

On behalf of all the staff & the family of swans, we do look forward to welcoming you back to the Wineport Lodge in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Ray Byrne & Jane English.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
4.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Property: Wineport Lodge
Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wineport Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. That's why you won't find a sprawling spa with pool here. What you will find though is nothing short of perfect. Two intimate treatment suites are just waiting for you with a range of VOYA treatments and therapies guaranteed to help you relax, rejuvenate and renew. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing