We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab!”
Review of Wineport Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wineport Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Sligo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab!”
Reviewed October 31, 2008

Stayed at this hotel last year for our anniversary and loved everything about it. The staff were lovely, our room was so comfortable we didn't want to leave. There are fluffy white robes and slippers waiting for you, along with a complimentary bottle of wine. The view from the balcony is gorgeous and the beds are huge. The stand_alone bath, proper sized bottles of bubble bath (not hotel sized), underfloor heating and soft lighting in the bathroom meant I was completely blissed out before we went down for dinner! Food was lovely and we were given a complimentary dessert with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate around the plate!
Didn't sample the spa but was so chilled after our stay it didn't matter. There's an outdoor hottub which we didn't try out either.... next time!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curls74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    156
    86
    32
    9
See reviews for
115
661
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

wow wow, i really loved this place, so sad to leave it.
from the minute you arrive you know you are somewhere special, little touches like being shown to your room, every member of staff we encountered on way to room, made the effort to say hello and wish us a nice stay.

we were given a free upgrade which was a pleasant suprise, room was spectacular, beautiful big balcony which looked out over the lake, weather was really poor, but it didnt matter at all. great size room, huge bed, sprawl as much as you like.

cosy little bar down stairs, alcohol small bit expensive, but was worth every penny due to atmosphere. the real fire and comfy seats made it impossible to leave.

cant comment on food as did not eat there, the menu did appear to contain a lot of fish, but i suppose the hotel is situated on a lake!! looked appox 60 euro a head for dinner.

we went down to athlone towm, approx ten euro in a taxi to a Thai restuarand Kin Khao, absolutly beautiful. lively town full of bars and great shopping.

Complimentary breakfast in bed is also available, so nice to sit out on the balcony to relax with a cup of tea and the free newspaper. oh and also a complimentary half bottle of white wine on arriaval.

Really can not say a bad word about this hotel, could not recommend it highly enough. cannot wait to go back some day.

  • Liked — absolutly everything, one of my favourite hotels in Ireland
  • Disliked — hard to find anything, food on the expensive side
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dublingirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

My wife and I enjoyed a four night stay touring Northern Ireland, Donegal (checkout Sandhouse Hotel) and Athlone. We enjoyed the 3 hotels we stayed in but our final night at Wineport Lodge was the most enjoyable experience.

Everything has already been said about the rooms, ours was one overlooking the lake, and the meal was more than we usually we paid but worth every penny. The waiter could not do enough for us without being overbearing. Immense attention to making sure everything was in order throughout the meal and our stay.

There were some slight problems. We found a packet of opened crisps in the mini bar and there was a chocolate bar missing. This resulted in complimentary drinks at the bar and profuse apologies. Our main meal order was mixed up and again complimentary drinks were provided.

Minor problems do not really concern me it is the reaction of the staff to the problems that mean the most. I could not fault any of them - apart from the person who should have checked the mini bar!

I booked the room via the Hotel website which has genuine late offers.

This hotel is set in a wonderful location and ideal for that special occasion.

  • Liked — The location, the room and the food.
  • Disliked — The mini bar!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aintree9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHERN IRELAND
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband and a weekend away from the kids. Glad they were definitely not there because in the bar area couples huddled over their papers , avoiding conservation and we were scared to speak let alone laugh in case we broke the silence- some music would have been nice.

Mind you the rooms were ok-not the deluxe room i expected. THe bathroom sink leaked onto the floor and the toilet took 1/2 hour to refill. Shower just like ours back home-nothing fantastic.
The lodge is ideally situated right on the lough and the silence is wonderful. Have your breakfast delivered (free!) to your room-might be late!! and eat it on your patio. Class.

We would have liked to book a massage/ facial etc for us both but each treatment averaged a minimum of 80 euros, we felt was slightly excessive so skipped-we are not frugal by any means,but considering we spent over 150 euros for our meal, we felt like most things, every area is overpriced.

Other than this there isnt much else positive to write about it. The restaurant is massively overpriced for what it is and generally you can eat out in Athlone for cheaper and better quality. We tried the Olive Grove and had the best food ever, super service and saved loads, got a taxi back to the "party atmosphere" (NOT!) in the bar.
An early night was the best conclusion to our break.

  • Liked — The views over the lough and pier
  • Disliked — The lack of atmosphere in the bar area
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOPGUN71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

A party of 4 of us recently dined at Wineport. It was for a 40th birthday and we decided to treat ourselves to dinner there. From the moment we arrived we were very well looked after. It's extremely relaxing, great views of the lake inducing serenity all round! The wine was excellent, and the food was simply stunning. Each course immaculately presented and our party returned clean plates to the kitchen each time. They even did a cake for us which was wonderful. I would highly recommend dining here, the food is out of this world and the staff are attentive and friendly. Also it is not overpriced as you may expect in such places. Do yourself and favour and try it for yourself!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

My husband and I spent a night at the Wineport Lodge earlier this month and had a fabulous time. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon where we both had a Swedish massage from the onsite therapist, Eimear (who was fantastic by the way). We then spent some quality relaxation time in our room - my husband watching the football on the tellie and me in a bubblebath with a glass of wine and a magazine! A complimentary bottle of wine was waiting for us in our room, along with lovely fluffy robes and slippers for use while we were there. We booked in for the 9:15 dinner sitting and it was only fantastic - €69 each for a four course dinner that was one of the nicest meals I have ever had. The staff were all so helpful and friendly our entire stay and the grounds are beautiful - we were lucky enough to get a room on the ground floor that looked right out on to the lake. We would recommend the Wineport 100% for anyone looking for a very different hotel experience, a bit of relaxation and fine dining.

  • Liked — The location, the friendly staff, the quirky little extras
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
369 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 573 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Wineport lodge is nice. It's the kind of place you take to by yourself or as a couple, load up with reading material and if possible entrench yourself in this lakeside location for a few days R&R.

The good bits:
The location right on the shores of Lough Ree,
The enormous comfortable and well appointed bedroom. The lake view, The food in the restaurant and the maitre d'.
Breakfast in the bedroom was a luxury and the presentation nice but the food not spectacular.
The excellent shower.
Watching the sun go down and the cruisers quietly passing by.
The morning newspaper, complimentary slippers and dressing gowns.
The pillows. Flatscreen TV.

The bad bits: Among the 'higher' levels of staff there was a very unnecessary snootiness which was off putting and awkward. The reception staff could have been more helpful, they were not , after all terribly busy when we were there. The hotel was not very busy itself. I would say 25% occupancy at the time.
I did not like them phoning my room to ask if I was dining with them. I had previously gone to great pains by email to tell them what my dining requirements were.
I did not like been asked loudly by the bar man if we wanted a night cap before we went to bed. (I'm well able to ask for something when I want it)

The attention to detail in the bedroom could have been better there were cobwebs hanging from the ceiing (which I whisked away before my wife eyeballed them) and a very thick coating of dust on a timber beam above the bed. This fuzz threatend to topple on top of us at any moment.

There was a certain meanness about the quantity of toiletries. Yes it was expensive stuff (L'Occitane)but we ran out before we left and this was not noticed by housekeeping. The bath was chipped, toilet not great to flush and bath surround a bit worn.

There is a little lounge bar on the ground floor which is also a through way from some of the bedroooms so pretty constant traffic.
The mini bar in the bedroom(a source of great annoyance to me)
That irritating person on the Jet Ski, who buzzed up and down incessantly right up until it got dark. Why can they not put a time limit on that particular noisy craft?
Once outside the main gate of the hotel there is not anywhere very scenic to walk, as the lake cannot be seen from the road.

In summary. The bedrooms have everything that is provided by a good quality 4* hotel. The hotel surroundngs are very pretty. We had a very good meal there and the service was mixed.

Would I recommend to my best friend? I would.
Would I go back? Not for what I paid and not until some of the staff get over themselves. It's a hotel in a lovely location, just like so many others dotted all over the country where the welcome is more and the cost is less.
However, if you get a few days there at a reasonable rate, take the opportunity.

  • Liked — The view from the balcony.
  • Disliked — unnecessary snootiness from some members of staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Bryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
4.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Property: Wineport Lodge
Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wineport Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. That's why you won't find a sprawling spa with pool here. What you will find though is nothing short of perfect. Two intimate treatment suites are just waiting for you with a range of VOYA treatments and therapies guaranteed to help you relax, rejuvenate and renew. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing