We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved it !”
Review of Wineport Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wineport Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife is very adept at finding great hotels for our little breaks.
This time she really got it right. The Wineport Lodge is a little different to your run of the mill hotels. The location alone was worth every penny. We were welcomed and shown to our room by a lovely youg lady who was very chatty and efficient. The room (Burgundy) was just awesome. Very spacious, clean and a balcony overlooking the lake. We spent a lot of time looking out at the view and the peace and quiet was perfect.
We were staying for 2 nights and had dinner on the first night in the restaurant.
Words escape me to describe the food in the Wineport, I loved every morsel. We were very well looked after and the restaurant staff were attentive but not overly so. There is a very relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant which adds to the overall enjoyment. I have to mention the little cup of soup, I was considering cancelling the steak and just ordering a big bowl it.!

We had breakfast in our room on the first morning, arrived on time and was hot and tasty.

We visited Clonmacnoise and Athlone during the day and returned to the hotel that evening where we spent the evening relaxing. We went down for breakfast on the second morning and again were very well looked after and breakfast was lovely.
We loved this place and will definitely return.
The Wine is not a cheap hotel, if you want cheap then don't go here. What you get for your money however is well worth it if you are prepared to pay. This is a special place.
Thank you to all for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingCouple64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear TravellingCouple64,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review.

We are really thrilled with it.

We look forward to seeing you soon again!

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

We recently stayed in your hotel for one night for our anniversary. It was a last minute booking but I had always wanted to stay here, so it was a nice suprise when my boyfriend said he had booked it. Little did I know that it wouldn't be the only suprise of the night. We arrived to our beautiful lakeview suite which had a lovely chocolate treat wishing us a happy anniversary. The room was luxurious and plush, just what we were looking for. We had booked dinner in the restaurant which didn't disappoint. I am normally one for dessert but after eating such generous meal portions I couldn't fit any more food. The girl at the counter was nice and chatty, Sandra i think her name was. She noticed that we hadn't had dessert even though it was included and swopped this on the bill for the bottle of wine. That was a real nice touch, which we weren't expecting. We then went outside to the gazebo overlooking the lake for some fresh air, which is where by boyfriend got down on one knee and proposed. It was such a romantic location and we had had such a nice day that I couldn't have asked for anything more. The great thing is we will get to go back year after year for our anniversary.

Room Tip: We stayed in the st Julians room which is a lakeview room. I wish I had that view every morning,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MS1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear MS 1982,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review.

We are really thrilled with it.

Congratulations on your engagement!!

We look forward to seeing you soon again!

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed in Wineport Lodge a few weeks ago and am still raving about it! The hotel's location alone makes it almost impossible to rival. Even the fact that it was pouring rain when we arrived didn't take away from the gorgeous setting. The staff were all so friendly and made us feel very welcome, without being over the top. Our room was fab - spacious and beautifully decorated and I loved the music system, which I could even enjoy while taking a bath! It's the little luxury touches like this that make Wineport stand out for me.
The meal was definitely the highlight of my stay; I can honestly say it was one of the best I've ever had. Norma was lovely in recommending a beautiful wine which complimented our meal perfectly. The restaurant itself is such a lovely place to relax, with an amazing view of the lake. We also enjoyed some cocktails in the cosy bar after dinner - which I would definitely recommend - delicious! And best of all, we were able to enjoy a leisurely breakfast in the bed the following morning, the ultimate luxury for a night away! Can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bally V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Muiri,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review.

We are really thrilled with it.

We look forward to seeing you soon again!

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed in the Wineport Lodge for one night for a function. Having heard lots of great things from a colleague, I was looking forward to the stay. Unfortunately, the stay did not meet the expectations. On arrival, an elderly member of our party checked to see if there was a television in the bar where he was approached by a member of staff who sharply asked "are you lost". Following this, quite a few of the party went to order drinks at the bar. A bacardi and coke (the coke being 100ml bottle) cost one of the guests €9.50. This, in my opinion is extortion. Upon entering our room, it was beautifully clean and welcoming. We did not have any shower gel, only shampoo and a bar of soap. That night, my partner called reception to ask for a foam pillow as he is allergic to the feathered ones. We waited 30 minutes for these to arrive and called again. The night porter said he had came to the room and knocked but there was no answer but we were waiting patiently for the knock. A further 20 minutes passed and a knock came to the door and the night porter had two pillows. Breakfast was slim pickings. We arrived to the breakfast room at 9:45 and almost everything was empty. We asked for orange juice, sausages, bacon etc and eventually they were refreshed. Trying to find a member of the breakfast team to order a pot of tea proved difficult. The accommodation at €150 was quite expensive for what was provided considering that 5 star hotels are charging this per night. Overall it was a very expensive stay factoring in the price of drinks at the bar. I would like to recommend this hotel as I work in the hospitality industry myself but after my experience I would find it very difficult to do so. The staff were very nice, especially the dark haired young gentleman who worked in the bar.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eenymeenyjunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear eenymeenyjunior,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I appreciate your feedback & the points you have made.

How are customers are made feel is of the utmost importance to us.

I wish to apologise to you on behalf of my colleagues.

Your experience has been discussed at our team meeting to ensure this does not happen again.

Best Regards, Norma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had booked an upgraded room as a treat for the occasion. We were thrilled to find on our arrival that we had been upgraded to the captains suite!!! I suppose the fact it was a Tuesday night in February meant we got a little lucky! So we were escorted to the room by a member of staff and it was honestly the lovliest room I'd ever stayed in it had a downstairs sitting room area with couches table tea making facilities and a lovely gas fire then upstairs to a king size bed and bathroom the main feature is the floor to ceiling window with patios door and balcony looking out on the lake, just fabulous! We relaxed in the room for a whole then down to the bar for a pre dinner drink, an extensive cocktail menu and obviously great choice of wines had me in heaven! Dinner in the restaurant was gorgeous then back to the cosy bar the board games were a nice touch we quite enjoyed a game of scrabble. The staff just could not be more helpful and chatty they really add to the ambience. We had breakfast to
Our room again very tasty the only problem was we'd only booked one night can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMSC31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear AMSC31,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review.

We are really thrilled with it.

We look forward to seeing you soon again!

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a lovely hotel and setting is on Lough Ree. Beautiful view from our room which was nice and comfortable. It is out of town so keep that in mind if you have something on on the town. The bar is very small. If the weather isn't good we found there wasn't many places to relax in besides your room. We thought the food in restaurant was good but were not overly impressed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deisecailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear deisecailin,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I appreciate the points you have mentioned in your review & I will be discussing them with my colleagues.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Thank you to the wineport lodge we were there last Saturday nite for my sister's hen party and the meal was fabulous everyone enjoyed themselves and a big thank you to Norma and all the staff. An amazing place to go. Thank you for all your helf.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank aisling C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear aisling C,

Thank you for posting your review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your evening with us.

Enjoy the wedding & we look forward to forward to welcoming you to Wineport.

Best Regards,
Norma Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,973 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,189 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
5.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
952 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: $154 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wineport Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. That's why you won't find a sprawling spa with pool here. What you will find though is nothing short of perfect. Two intimate treatment suites are just waiting for you with a range of VOYA treatments and therapies guaranteed to help you relax, rejuvenate and renew. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing