We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great retreat”
Review of Wineport Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wineport Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed for special occasion and were not disappointed, staff excellent nothing too much trouble .
When staff were told when booking it was a special birthday we were upgraded to a suite on arrival (thanks Norma). Staff work away in the background making sure all is well. Food of a very high quality with excellent portion size. Lovely site nice to see the owner on board and speaking to visitors and happy to spend time getting feedback as well as socializing.
Hotel site in an excellent area for simple tours but also set up in such a way you do not need to leave the site if you just want a quite retreat. The hot tub and spa are well set up and the staff work in a very professional way.
Will return and have bought vouchers for daughter & son in law to let them have the same experience. Lovely sunsets over the lake .

Room Tip: Worth getting a suite if possible although all rooms have balconies and a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donard8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear donard8,

Thank you so much for your review of Wineport Lodge.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to speak to our owner while you were here.

Your positive feedback is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming your daughter & son in law for another great stay.

Kind Regards,

Norma Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

688 - 694 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

The Wineport lodge is fab! I chose this place to go with my Mum to celebrate her 60th birthday. It was class!!! Loved it. Mom and I had a wonderful time in this hotel. It's just heaven. A really relaxing place where one can pamper themselves. The rooms are extremely comfortable with beautiful views out over the lake. Night time is particularly pretty with tealights lit everywhere and beautiful jetty going out over the lake. Mom and I had a fantastic night here. Dinner was beautiful. The restaurant staff couldn't do enough for us - without being any bit intrusive. Lovely place. Lovely hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed this place. We'll be back.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank McCozzyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear NicDhomhnaill,

I was delighted to read your review of Wineport Lodge describing how much you and your Mum enjoyed your stay.

I am pleased you were both relaxed and our staff couldn't do enough for you.

We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Regards, Norma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Having heard so many positive things about the Wineport, my husband and I were delighted to have been given a voucher for the weekend prior to our first baby being born to relax as a couple before the mayhem starts. With high expectations, we set off on our romantic weekend away. Overall the experience was relaxing, however we were disappointed at the standards of the hotel and delighted that we hadn't paid for this ourselves. I will add the pros and cons in bullet points below:

Pros:

• Two members of staff made a huge effort with us - Mantas, a waiter in the restaurant and a lady in the Bollinger bar (girl with glasses, don't know her name)
• The food is good in the bar and the restaurant. The wine was also excellent - we would recommend 'The Whistling Thorn' shiraz wine, it's beautiful
• The view overlooking the lake is beautiful and every room has a balcony with this view
• Housekeeping girls were very nice and accommodated us when we asked for harder pillows (the pillows they give you are extremely soft) and extra bath gel for a bath

Cons:

• We booked and paid for two facials (one 'mom-to-be' and one 'quick fix'), totalling €125 - far too expensive considering the standard of the spa. Firstly, on arrival into the spa, we were surprised by the size of it - it's tiny. While waiting in the 'waiting area', the serene music was interrupted by a very loud female hotel manager walking past the door shouting instructions at a member of staff. This is supposed to be the relaxing area of the hotel.

• The relaxation room is the smallest one I have ever been in

• The hotel itself is very small with no grounds and no fitness facilities

• The restaurant was very disappointing with balloons left on tables immediately cheapening the room. The standard of food was good but the portions were very large. Again, while in the midst of conversation, we were interrupted by the same hotel manager raising her voice at a member of staff and asking them rudely 'WHY ISN'T THIS TABLE READY?' pointing at a table that looked perfect!

• While our bedroom was fine, the shower didn't work properly as the shower head had limescale all over it and needed a good clean.

• The hotel still feels like it's half finished, e.g. the conservatory still has felt hanging from the external roof

• Looking at the hotel website and on entering the hotel, you would expect that the toilets and toilet facilities would be of the highest standards almost sponsored by Voya, the natural seaweed company. However there is no nice hand soap/hand cream in the toilets - they are extremely basic with cheap soap and manual towel dispensers. This may sound fussy but when expectations are high, you expect the little luxuries to be there.

Overall, we're not entirely sure why this hotel is held in such high regard. Aside from the view, it is a very basic, average hotel and very expensive for what it offers. Unfortunately on check out, we were not asked how our stay was so we were unable to share our experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Kate S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay.

I am grateful for your feedback & appreciate the points you have made.

Best Regards, Norma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Had a fabulous night away for a 50th birthday. The room was very big with doors which opened on to a balcony overlooking a beautiful lake. The prosecco and hand made chocolates were a lovely touch. The meal in the restaurant that night was second to none. The atmosphere in the bar was very relaxing. I really enjoyed and would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thebeastalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Thebeastalways,

I really appreciate you taking the time to post this wonderful review.

I'm very glad you enjoyed this 50th birthday celebration at Wineport Lodge.

Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

Regards, Norma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My review is mixed so I've tried to include more detail.
We booked by phone with Aoife who was very helpful & friendly.
We stayed in a Lakeside 'Suite' on the ground floor, the room was very spacious and when you opened the curtains the floor to ceiling window exposed a beautiful view of the Lake which was only 3 meters away. Ensuite was very large, separate walk in wardrobe and large comfortable bed, strong WiFi reception, also the room was very quiet though I don't know if there were guests staying next door. Only negative was that the bed linen was old but it was clean.
The bar area was warm and welcoming (cobwebs around lighting). If it was peak season I think the shared space inside may feel a bit crowded as there is no large gardens outside but for an off-peak stay it was perfect, plus it had an outdoor hot tub overlooking the lake which was lovely though not very clean (you do have good signs up but perhaps a small shower area requesting that people rinse off before using might prevent make-up, fake tan marks around rim). The service throughout our stay was mixed - we scored it a 4 out of 5 mainly because the bartender Stephen was very efficient, knowledgable on the food menu & very friendly & made us feel at home. The receptionists & room service were also very friendly. For a 4 star the food was good but not amazing however the 3 course meal was €49 though the nicer options on the menu had €4 up to €7 supplements so expect to pay up to €119 for meal in the restaurant. They serve good breads and a little chef's starter which was lovely. Starters & Desserts were tasty and the mains were ok. The speed of service in the restaurant was slow even though the restaurant was very quiet & some staff were not as friendly others. Our initial impression the first evening was not great as we mentioned we were hungry & although we were shown to our table we were given a pre-dinner drinks menu rather than the dinner or full wine menu & it was over 20mintues before we got served. The breakfast was good, I would recommend having it in your room (no extra charge) over the restaurant - as you are seated at a small table with no linen tablecloths. Overall for 2 nights B&B mid-week with one meal included when we added extra dinner on first night and drinks over stay, cost was Euro500 for 2 people sharing, overall we had a nice relaxing break to celebrate a special occasion, it was easy to get to from the East coast and it felt like ok value for money for a 4 Star Blue Book property. Best wishes.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBMajella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear LBMajella,

Thank you for posting your review.

I appreciate you taking your time to share your feedback.

Best Regards, Norma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The ratings left by other users left me with high expectations before my visit. The place is simply overrated - both the hotel and the restaurant.
Pros:
- nice setting on the lake
- friendly staff
Cons:
- rooms are very basic and worn considering the price charged - for instance the toilet didn't flush properly (awkward)
- hotel venue is really small, there are no grounds to the hotel, which came as a surprise as it is advertised as a lakeside hotel in the countryside, it may as well be in the city centre
- restaurant: the food was bland, both for dinner and breakfast. I was expecting a lot more considering it is advertised as a destination restaurant
- hotel: the hotel itself is really small, it feels more like being in someone's house rather than a hotel
Summary: this is a nothing more than a B&B with a mediocre restaurant. Don't expect to be blown away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cpmmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear cpmmg,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Best Regards, Norma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed in this Hotel January, 2014. I cannot say how much we enjoyed the peaceful ambiance here. The room, staff, food and service are second to none. The balcony is great and although we had rain we could still sit out and enjoy watching the lake. I fed the swans and when they werent there the ducks were about. The sunset is unbelievable. We have stayed here a few times and it is the highlight of our Irish breaks

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony and lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 113Gillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear 113Gillian,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review.

We are pleased you enjoyed another visit to Wineport Lodge.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Regards, Norma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,021 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,238 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
3.6 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
5.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: $207 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wineport Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. That's why you won't find a sprawling spa with pool here. What you will find though is nothing short of perfect. Two intimate treatment suites are just waiting for you with a range of VOYA treatments and therapies guaranteed to help you relax, rejuvenate and renew. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing