We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic experience”
Review of Wineport Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wineport Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Romantic experience”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband got a voucher for his 40th birthday in 2012 but due to circumstances beyond our control we only managed to use it this August. We stayed for two nights. Sunday and Monday. We were quite surprised on driving up to the hotel as it was not at all what we imagined. Spectacularly set on the lake. We were shown to our room which we soon realised had been upgraded complimentarily or us. And what a view! We ate in the restaurant both nights. And both breakfasts were to die for. We took advantage of the fabulous outdoor hot tub which was amazing. A very special mention to the gorgeous Aoife in the bar that weekend. Such a friendly attentive young lady who never let us leave our seat to order and was amazing at remembering people's drinks orders. This weekend was so intimate for both my husband and I at a time we needed time out. Thank you for a fab time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhittFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear sharoncorban3,

Thank you posting your review.

I am delighted to read how you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure to bring your compliments to Aoife's attention.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    156
    86
    32
    9
See reviews for
115
661
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meath, Irelands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I was given a gift of a one night stay with dinner here and I have to say, I'm glad I had the opportunity to dine here. I hadn't heard of the place and it is quite remote, but easy to find and get to from Dublin. On arrival we had to park around the back where the service areas are, which looks quite shoddy on first impression. At reception, the receptionist was very friendly and showed us to our room and gave us a quick tour. The bar area is nice and the staff there were very good too, and the view of the bay is stunning. The lodge itself is all quite wooden and doesn't really have a hotel feel, not to my taste but that's just being picky. All rooms overlook the bay and was beautiful to wake up to.

The restaurant looks good but the food is off the chart. We had our order taken as we waited at the bar, and were seated on time with a dish in front of us straight away . The chef sent us out a sweet potato bahji with a sauce and it without doubt one of the best things I've ever tasted!

For starters I had crispy duck with a homemade brown sauce that would have to be tasted to even describe how good it was, and pork belly for mains that was literally melt in your mouth stuff, unbelievable. Desert was chocolate fondant which was always going to be good! I must point out I did steal a lot of my GFs food too which was also top drawer (Soup and Steak!)

Accommodation was 7/10, staff and location (as a retreat) were positives, but 10/10 for the restaurant, food was unbelievable and will be what I compare any meal to from now on!

E/B

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EatinBiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear EatinBiscuits,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us!

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Was in need of a break so went in search of somewhere peaceful with good food and great comfort.
We definitely found all of that and more at Wineport lodge.
Staff couldn't have been more attentive. Our room (Alsace) which overlooked that lake, as do all rooms I think, was more than spacious, walk in dressing area, balcony with chairs and table. And then the food! We ate in The Restaurant on both nights. I have to recommend the steak. Pricey but was worth every cent. Perfectly cooked (and one of us is very, very fussy when it comes to steak....). Good wine list to suit all price ranges and tastes.

I wouldn't think its a great place for kids as there isn't much to do at the hotel. The hottub was closed which was a bit disappointing but that's the only fault I can find with the place.

We were blessed with good weather so sat out overlooking the lake. I haven't relaxed so much in a long time.
Perfect for unwinding in a little bit of luxury. Definitely will be back!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Triona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Triona01,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you were so pleased with your stay.

Hopefully, we will see you again!

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made so welcome by the receptionist Lorraine and all I can say is the standard of attention and quality never wavered.We have been to many excellent hotels but this one was exceptional in terms of the accommodation,food and service.We had an extremely spacious room with a view overlooking the lake and the dining room also had a stunning view over the lake as well.The quality of the food and the service were first class and we enjoyed an excellent ,freshly cooked breakfast each morning as well as a number of evening meals.The apple and turnip soup on the first night was superb and so were the main courses.The 'little' extra touches were also welcomed and it isn't often that staff will sit down with you at the table to find out how you are enjoying the food.We had four lovely days there thanks to the staff and hopefully we will retuen some day as this is an exceptional place to stay in

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear HarryMurray,

Thank you for posting your review. I am delighted you enjoyed you break with us so thoroughly.

We look forward to seeing you soon again!

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have just returned from a 3 night midweek stay (16th - 20th September) and I have to say we a little bit disappointed. I travelled with elderly my mother & friends of ours (a married couple in their 80s). We had requested a wheechair accessible room on the ground floor and when we arrived there we were delighted to hear that we had been upgraded (complimentary) to a suite (Pauillac). The suite was gorgeous, huge room with lots of space and with a fabulous view over the lake. Our friends were next door to us in another suite named Margaux and they were very happy initially with theirs. The reason we received the upgrade was because as we had a wheelchair with us they assumed we would need plenty of room, however as my mum was not wheelchair bound (she could get up and walk around the place on a stick) we actually needed the bathroom to be adapted for her i.e. a raised toilet seat with grab rails for her to get up off the toilet and also grab rails in the shower! We complained to managment immediately and in fairness they went out and bought a riser for the toilet but this was actually of no use to her as she found it extremely difficult trying to get up off the toilet. She didn't even attempt to have a shower as it was actually very dangerous for any elderly person (our friends felt the same about their shower and toilet). There is a distinct lack of facilities for the elderly there (even the toilet in the wheelchair room was similar with no grab rails). I'm sure there are lots of elderly people who visit the hotel and I would suggest that you look at this as a matter of urgency. It was such a shame when everything else in the room was so good and couldn't be faulted.
The foyer area is very small and there is not much room for anyone to sit around there. However we were lucky to sit there one night with a roaring fire and it was pleasant.
The exterior of the hotel needs a bit of a facelift e.g. the grass area in front of the lake and also the doors and actual structure from the outside. The door from the bar into the corridor on the ground floor leading to the rooms in very worn looking and needs a bit of repair. The food and drink were very expensive in the Dining Room and the Bar so we only ate there on our first night. We found a very nice restaurant locally called The Village Restaurant in Glasson and the food was superb (a 3 course early bird menu for 27 euro and a glass of wine for 5 euro) so we ate there for the remaining two nights of our stay.

I am sorry to be so negative but I am telling it as it is. I will be writing a separate letter to Jane English re: the Health and Safety issue on disabled guests.

Having said that the staff were very friendly and accomodating and they made us feel very welcome.

I would appreciate your comments re: the above if you wish to reply.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IRISHGAL007Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear IRISHGAL007Dublin,

Thank you for posting your review.

I would be happy to chat to you.

Please feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel but it certainly will not be our last. Location is perfect as I would say is every aspect of this hotel. Management and staff have everything perfected. It is the first place I would have in mind if I wanted a lovely quiet break. Could not fault anything no matter how hard I tried.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinBreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear DublinBreda,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am really delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us & look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a fantastic location especially with nice weather however you are away from a town. Rooms were lovely and large with a nice view. It is very pricey however for what you are ultimately getting.
Food is fantastic and service was good. It is a nice retreat location however if you were looking for a bit more of a busy break it would probably not be suitable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Travel1020110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Luv2Travel1020110,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I appreciate your feedback & will consider your comments.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
4.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Property: Wineport Lodge
Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wineport Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. That's why you won't find a sprawling spa with pool here. What you will find though is nothing short of perfect. Two intimate treatment suites are just waiting for you with a range of VOYA treatments and therapies guaranteed to help you relax, rejuvenate and renew. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing